Skip to main content
Q.1Does each and every toy or children's product need to bear the "identification marking"?
A.1

If a toy or children's product is to be sold locally, then it is required under the Toys and Children’s Products Safety (Additional Safety Standards or Requirements) Regulation, Chapter 424C, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) to bear the "identification marking". It should carry the name, trade or other identification mark and the local address of the manufacturer, importer or supplier in English, Chinese or both languages.

Q.2Does each and every toy or children's product need to bear the "bilingual safety warning or caution"?
A.2

According to the Toys and Children’s Products Safety (Additional Safety Standards or Requirements) Regulation, Chapter 424C, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , if a toy or children’s product is marked with a warning or caution with respect to its safe keeping, use, consumption or disposal, such warning or caution must be in both the English and Chinese languages.

Q.3Is there any need to affix the Chinese safety label next to the English one or vice versa?
A.3

It is advisable to affix the Chinese label alongside the English label or vice versa. If this is not possible, then it should be legibly and conspicuously placed on the goods, any package of the goods or a document enclosed in the package, or securely affixed to the package so that the consumers can easily read the messages.

Q.4Does the legislation specify the size of the letters in the "identification marking" and "bilingual safety warning or caution"?
A.4

According to the Toys and Children’s Products Safety (Additional Safety Standards or Requirements) Regulation, Chapter 424C, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , there is no specification on the size of the letters of the identification marking and safety warning or caution. However, the identification marking and the safety warning or caution must be clearly legible. Besides, under the safety standards for toys and specifications for children's products adopted by a standards institute specified under the Toys and Children's Products Safety Ordinance, Chapter 424, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , for certain toys and children's products (e.g. aquatic toys and child safety barriers for domestic use), the size of the letters of the warning or caution should be generally no less than 5 mm.

Q.5Are the suppliers, importers or manufacturers required to affix the following warning / caution phrases to each and every toy: "Warning: Small parts - Not suitable for children under 3 years old"?
A.5

No, it should only apply to toys which are not suitable for children under 3 years old. However, the application of such warning / caution on toys which are intended for children under 3 years old will not waive the liability of the suppliers if the toys contain small parts.

Q.6Does a "toy" need to comply with the 3 statutory safety standards under the Toys and Children's Products Safety Ordinance, Chapter 424, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) if it is given to consumers as a free gift or a souvenir?
A.6

The definition of "supply" under the Toys and Children's Products Safety Ordinance, Chapter 424, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) includes "for commercial purposes, to give goods as a prize or to make a gift of the goods." Therefore, if the toy is given out for commercial purposes, it is required to comply with the statutory safety standards for toys.

Q.7Where can I obtain the details of the 3 sets of statutory safety standards for toys (or safety specifications for the prescribed children's products)?
A.7

You can obtain the details from the Product Standards Information Bureau of the Innovation and Technology Commission on the 36th floor, Immigration Tower, 7 Gloucester Road, HK (Tel: (852) 2829 4820   Fax: (852) 2824 1302). Its website is http://www.itc.gov.hk/en/quality/psis/index.htm (Opens a new window) .

Q.8Where can I obtain the information about the accredited laboratories in HKSAR?
A.8

You can obtain the information from the Hong Kong Laboratory Accreditation Scheme Secretariat at the same address and fax number as the Product Standards Information Bureau (Tel: (852) 2829 4840   Fax: (852) 2824 1302).

Q.9How to determine a toy or children’s product that can be placed into mouth of child under 4 years of age?
A.9

Pursuant to the Toys and Children’s Products Safety (Additional Safety Standards or Requirements) Regulation, Chapter 424C, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , a toy or children’s product can be placed into the mouth of a child under 4 years of age if –

  • (a)each dimension of the toy or product is less than 5 cm; or
  • (b)the toy or product can, in a reasonably foreseeable manner, be brought to the mouth of such a child and kept in the mouth so that the toy or product can be sucked or chewed.

Q.10Is the term “can be placed into the mouth” regarded as if a toy, a children’s product or part of it can just be licked?
A.10

In general, a toy, a children’s product or a part of it will not be regarded as “can be placed into the mouth” if it can just be licked.

Toys and Children's Products Safety

跳至主要内容
问.1是否每件玩具或儿童产品都需要附加「识别标记」呢?
答.1

根据香港法例第424C章《玩具及儿童产品安全(附加安全标准或规定)规例》 (在新视窗开启) 的规定,倘若有关玩具或儿童产品打算在本港销售,便必须附加「识别标记」。「识别标记」必须以中文或英文或中英文列明制造商、进口商或供应商的全名、商标或其他识别标记,以及香港的地址。

问.2是否每件玩具或儿童产品均须附加「双语安全警告或警诫」?
答.2

根据香港法例第424C章《玩具及儿童产品安全(附加安全标准或规定)规例》 (在新窗口开启) 的规定,倘若玩具或儿童产品或其包装上标示着有关于其安全存放、使用、耗用或处置的任何警示或警告,必须兼用中文及英文标示。

问.3是否需要把中文安全标签与英文标签并列一起?
答.3

我们建议中文标签与英文标签并列。如不可行,标签亦应载于货品、货品的任何包装、附于包装内或稳固地加于包装上的文件的显眼位置,并且是清楚可读的,以便消费者易于阅读标签上的资料。

问.4法例有没有规定「识别标记」及「双语安全警告或警诫」上的字体大小?
答.4

按照香港法例第424C章《玩具及儿童产品安全(附加安全标准或规定)规例》 (在新视窗开启) ,识别标记及安全警告或警诫并无字体大小的限制。不过,识别标记及安全警告或警诫必须清晰可读。此外,根据香港法例第424章《玩具及儿童产品安全条例》 (在新视窗开启) 所指定的标准检定机构所采纳的玩具安全标准及儿童产品安全规格,某些玩具及儿童产品(如水泡类玩具及家用儿童安全栏栅)的安全警告或警诫字体大小,通常不应小于5毫米。

问.5玩具供应商、进口商或制造商是否须在每件玩具附加以下警告语句: 「警告: 内有小配件,不适合三岁以下儿童使用」?
答.5

不一定,该警告语句只适用于不适合三岁以下儿童的玩具。不过,如某些玩具是以三岁以下儿童为供应对象,即使附加了警告或警诫字句,并不能免除有关供应商因玩具的细小配件而招致的法律责任。

问.6如「玩具」以礼品或纪念品形式免费派发给消费者,是否需要符合香港法例第424章《玩具及儿童产品安全条例》 (在新视窗开启) 所指定的安全标准?
答.6

根据香港法例第424章《玩具及儿童产品安全条例》 (在新视窗开启) 所载的定义,「供应」包括「为商业目的将货物作为奖品或礼品送出」。因此,倘若有关玩具是作商业用途,便须符合玩具的法定安全标准。

问.7可在哪儿查阅上述三套规管玩具的法定安全标准(或规管指定儿童产品的安全规格)?
答.7

你可向创新科技署产品标准资料组索取详情,地址是香港湾仔告士打道7号入境事务大楼36楼,电话号码是(852) 2829 4820,传真号码是(852) 2824 1302,网址是http://www.itc.gov.hk/gb/quality/psis/index.htm (在新视窗开启)

问.8可在哪儿索取本港认可实验所的资料?
答.8

你可向创新科技署香港实验所认可计划秘书处索取,地址是香港湾仔告士打道7号入境事务大楼36楼,电话号码是(852) 2829 4840,传真号码是(852) 2824 1302。

问.9如何厘定玩具或儿童产品能够放进未满4岁儿童口中?
答.9

根据香港法例第424C章《玩具及儿童产品安全(附加安全标准或规定)规例》 (在新视窗开启) ,如玩具或儿童产品符合以下条件,则属能够放进未满4岁儿童口中 -

  • (一)玩具或儿童产品长阔高的尺寸均为5厘米以下;或
  • (二)玩具或儿童产品能够以可合理预见的方式,放进未满4岁儿童口中,并留在其口中,令该玩具或产品得以被吮吸或咬嚼。

问.10玩具、儿童产品或其部分如只能被舔,是否可以视作“能够放进口中”?
答.10

一般而言,玩具、儿童产品或其部分如只能被舔,则不视作“能够放进口中”。

玩具及儿童产品安全