Skip to main content

Liquor

Q.1How is duty on liquor assessed?
A.1

Duty on liquor is assessed and calculated according to the value of the goods. According to the Dutiable Commodities Ordinance, Chapter 109, Laws of Hong Kong, the value of the goods for assessment of duty shall be the normal price which the goods would fetch, at the relevant time, on their sale in the open market between a buyer and seller independent of each other.

'Relevant time' means in the case of imported goods, the time when such goods are removed from the seller's premises for the purpose of export, or in the case of goods manufactured in Hong Kong, the time when such goods are removed from the premises on which they were manufactured.

Please refer to the Dutiable Commodities Ordinance (Opens a new window) for details.

Q.2What are the documents required for duty assessment of liquors?
A.2

C&ED may accept the value of liquors stated in the contract of sale, invoice, book of account, etc., if the date of such documents precedes the date on which the duty is assessed by not more than 12 months.

If
(i) the aforesaid documents cannot be produced,
(ii) the information stated in the aforesaid documents is insufficient or inaccurate as to the value of the goods, or
(iii) the value of the goods stated in the aforesaid documents is not the normal price which the goods would fetch, at the relevant time, on their sale in the open market between a buyer and seller independent of each other,

C&ED may fix a value which shall be deemed to be the value of the goods for the purpose of assessing and calculating duty.

Q.3How to calculate the duty for liquor if a foreign currency is stated in a document submitted for duty assessment?
A.3

If in any contract of sale, invoice or other document, the value of the liquor is stated in a currency other than Hong Kong dollars, the Hong Kong dollars equivalent of the other currency will be calculated at the opening indicative counter exchange selling (ICES) rate published by the Hong Kong Association of Banks (HKAoB) on the 15th day of the month immediately preceding the month in which the goods are imported. If the rate is not published on the aforesaid day, C&ED shall calculate the Hong Kong dollars equivalent at the ICES rate published by the HKAoB on the immediately preceding working day.

Q.4According to the Dutiable Commodities Ordinance, Chapter 109, Laws of Hong Kong, what are the labelling requirements of liquors for local consumption?
A.4

According to the Dutiable Commodities Regulations, Chapter 109A, Laws of Hong Kong, every container containing liquor that is imported into or manufactured in Hong Kong for local consumption shall bear a label on which is printed the alcoholic strength, or the range of alcoholic strength, of the liquor. The label shall include the information needed which is printed legibly in English letters, Chinese characters, Arabic numerals or the symbol "%", or any combination of them. The label shall be securely affixed to or be part of the container and so placed as to be clearly visible.

Tobacco

Q.1How does the length of a cigarette affect the calculation of its duty?
A.1

According to the Dutiable Commodities Ordinance, Chapter 109, Laws of Hong Kong, a cigarette more than 90 mm long, excluding any filter or mouthpiece, shall be treated as if each additional 90 mm or portion of 90 mm were a separate cigarette.

Hydrocarbon Oil

Q.1Is marked oil exempt from duty?
A.1

Marked oil is referred to as light diesel oil to which a marker and a colouring substance have been added in the manner and proportion specified by the Dutiable Commodities (Marking and Colouring of Hydrocarbon Oil) Regulations, Chapter 109C, Laws of Hong Kong. According to Dutiable Commodities Regulations, Chapter 109A, Laws of Hong Kong, marked oil is exempt from duty.

According to the Dutiable Commodities (Marking and Colouring of Hydrocarbon Oil) Regulations, Chapter 109C, Laws of Hong Kong, no person shall use or permit the use of marked oil as a fuel in any motor vehicle (except the motor vehicle specified in the Regulations) or pleasure vessel.

Q.2Are disabled drivers eligible for exemption of duty using hydrocarbon oil in their private cars?
A.2

Yes. According to the Dutiable Commodities Ordinance, Chapter 109, Laws of Hong Kong, duty payable on hydrocarbon oil for use by a disabled person within the meaning of the Road Traffic Ordinance, Chapter 374, Laws of Hong Kong, in a private car, invalid carriage, motor cycle or motor tricycle owned and driven by him shall be waived, such waiver to be subject— (a) in the case of a private car or an invalid carriage, to a limit of 200 litres per month; and (b) in the case of a motor cycle or motor tricycle, to a limit of 100 litres per month, for each such person.

Calculation / Assessment of Duty

跳至主要内容

酒类

问.1如何评定酒类货品的税款?
答.1

酒类货品的税款是根据货品的价值来评定和计算。根据香港法例第109章《应课税品条例》,用以评定税款的货品价值须为该货品于有关时间在公开市场上由独立于对方的买卖双方在售卖中所能取得的正常价格。

就进口货品而言,“有关时间”是指为出口而从卖方处所移走货品的时间;至于就在香港制造的货品而言,“有关时间”则指从制造货品的处所移走货品的时间。

如欲得到更多相关信息,请参阅《应课税品条例》 (在新窗口开启)

问.2进口商或制造商需提供甚么文件作酒类货品税款评定和计算之用?
答.2

进口商或制造商需提交文件予海关,例如售卖合约、发票、账簿等,以供评定和计算酒类货品税款之用。如有关文件的日期早于评税日期不多于12个月,海关可接受该文件所注明的该酒类货品价值。

如─

  1. 未能提供上述文件;或
  2. 上述文件所载关于货品价值的数据并不足够或并不准确;或
  3. 上述文件所载的货品价值不是该货品于有关时间在公开市场上由独立于对方的买卖双方在售卖中所能取得的正常价格,

则海关可定出一个价值,用以评定和计算税款。

问.3如提交作酒类货品评税的文件中所显示的货值是外币,税款会如何计算?
答.3

如在任何售卖合约、发票或其他文件中,酒类货品价值是以港元以外的货币述明的,则与该货币等值的港元按香港银行公会于货品进口的月份之前的月份的第15天所公布的外汇卖出参考开市牌价计算。如在上述日期并无公布牌价,海关须按香港银行公会在紧接该日期之前的工作日所公布的外汇卖出参考牌价作出计算。)

问.4香港法例第109章《应课税品条例》对于本地饮用酒类的标签有甚么规定?
答.4

根据香港法例第109A章《应课税品规例》,每个盛载进口香港或在香港制造以供本地饮用的酒类的容器须附有印上该酒类的酒精浓度或酒精浓度幅度的卷标。而卷标须载有用英文字母、中文字样、亚拉伯数字或“%”符号,或其任何组合以清晰可读方式印上所需的数据。另外,该标签须稳固地加于容器上或属容器的一部分以及置于清楚可见的位置。

烟草

问.1香烟的长度怎样影响税额的计算?
答.1

根据香港法例第109章《应课税品条例》,任何长逾90毫米(不包括任何滤嘴或烟嘴口)的香烟,每增加90毫米或不足90毫米即视作另一支香烟计算。

碳氢油

问.1有标记油类是否获豁免缴付税款?
答.1

有标记油类是指按《应课税品(碳氢油的标记及染色)规例》(第109章,附属法例C)所指明的方式及比例而加上标记及染色物质的轻质柴油。根据香港法例第109A章《应课税品规例》,有标记油类可获豁免缴付税款。

根据香港法例第109C章 《应课税品(碳氢油的标记及染色)规例》,任何人不得使用或准许使用有标记油类作为任何汽车(根据规例所订明的汽车除外)或游乐船只的燃料。

问.2伤残人士在其私家车使用的碳氢油是否获豁免缴付税款?
答.2

是。根据香港法例第109章《应课税品条例》,由《道路交通条例》(第374章)第2条所指的伤残人士拥有和驾驶的私家车、伤残者车辆、电单车或机动三轮车所使用的碳氢油的须缴税款,须予宽免,每名伤残人士的宽免额如下—

(a) 就私家车或伤残者车辆而言,以每月200升为限;及
(b) 就电单车或机动三轮车而言,以每月100升为限。

税额的计算/评定