Skip to main content

Seminar on IPR Protection for the WCO Asia Pacific Region

17 July 2001


Ladies and Gentlemen,

Welcome to the WCO Regional Seminar on Intellectual Property Rights. First of all, I wish to thank the World Customs Organization for choosing Hong Kong again to organize this event for the Asia and Pacific Region. In the next few days, we will share with you our experience in developing effective legal tools, in the use of intelligence and risk assessment techniques and in the formulation of appropriate anti-piracy strategies.

We are particularly grateful to have the opportunity to stage the achievements we have made since the last seminar. Our collective memory can still recall with a great deal of agony and embarrassment the rampant state of piracy facing Hong Kong when we held the first WCO Seminar in 1996. The situation at that time seemed rather out of control. We saw the extent of piracy outstripping the capability of our enforcement units, lending a sense of great frustration.

The situation has been drastically altered in the last few years. I am pleased to tell you that the piracy situation in Hong Kong is now fully under control. The sales figures of the music, film and software industries are the best indicators attesting to the current state of affairs. Our remarkable rebound has attracted many believers to endorse our system of enforcement and our steady success has won the high regards of many enforcement colleagues around the world.

I would like to set out for you today the two essential elements that have helped make Hong Kong the centre of excellence in intellectual property rights protection.

Strategy

The key element of our success is an effective enforcement strategy that is backed not just by adequate resources but also by the highest authority in Hong Kong. Our enforcement strategy in combating IPR offences is straightforward. We take a two-pronged approach, directing vigorous, sustained enforcement action at both the supply side as well as the retail end of the piracy business. My colleagues from the Intellectual Property Investigation Bureau will provide you with greater details on our approach in the next few days.

To make our strategy a success, we have allocated a good portion of our precious, limited resources to enforce the protection of intellectual property rights. We have an establishment of 285 officers in the Intellectual Property Investigation Bureau. They are engaged in the overall coordination of enforcement against piracy activities in Hong Kong. We have a Special Task Force established in June 1999 with 185 officers. Their role is to enhance even further our enforcement action in cracking down on piracy activities at the retail level. We have also selected seven officers from the core of our most computer literate personnel to form the Anti-Internet Piracy Team, which is supported by a Computer Forensic Laboratory, to tackle copyright piracy in cyber space. Putting them together, we probably have the largest enforcement team in the world dedicated solely to the fight against piracy.

We see our allocation in manpower and equipment as long term investments in the future of Hong Kong. We wish to build in Hong Kong a platform of innovation where original ideas can become commercial realities, where creativity will be rewarded with recognition and success and where copyrights will be properly protected. We see the eradication of the piracy trade as a necessary first step. This is a government wide mission which has been endorsed at the highest level and accepted throughout the administration. Our readiness to accord high priority to tackling this issue reflects the importance we attach to it. Our willingness to provide this level of dedicated resources is a clear indication of our long term commitment to eradicate piracy in Hong Kong.

We are fortunate to have the benefit of a sound and open legal system. Over the years, Hong Kong has been continuously engaged in a painstaking process of improving our arsenal of legislations on the protection of intellectual property rights. We have now a first class comprehensive legal framework for the protection of IPR that is the envy of developed economies. There is still more to do, and we are continuing with our effort, but we are pleased to be able to provide our officers with the necessary tools to do their job.

Our courts are also taking the issue very seriously, handing out sentences that would serve as a ready deterrent anywhere in the world. The average sentence for an IPR offence is nine months, with the heaviest sentence so far recorded at 48 months in jail and $1.04 million in fine. This level of punishment should make pirates think twice before they do something stupid in Hong Kong.

Partnership

The other essential element is our effective partnership with the industry.

It is clear to us that our enforcement success relies on the full support of the industry. Intellectual property is primarily a private economic right, and it is in the best interest of the rights owners to defend it themselves. While we are the lead agency in enforcement, rights owners must share the responsibility in supporting Customs in protecting their own rights.

We demand a full range of support from the rights owners in Hong Kong and they deliver their share of the bargain. On a day to day basis, they help us identify the authenticity of the pirated goods, provide expert witnesses to testify in criminal proceedings and furnish us with the needed documentations.

To facilitate participation by the industry side, we have made our enforcement system and procedures transparent. This enables the rights owners to know exactly how we work. This transparent system actually helps build up mutual trust between the government and the industry allowing both sides to understand how best we can achieve our common goal.

A strategic partnership between the public and the private sector is central to successful protection of intellectual property rights. The industry and the enforcement agency must join hands if we want to win the war against pirates.

Conclusion

Today we have brought together professional Customs officers in the region who serve in the field of IPR enforcement and representatives of the industry in the largest seminar of its kind ever organized in our region. This is an excellent opportunity for all of us here to understand our common problems, to share our experiences, and to work out our own solutions. I am confident that this seminar will not only update enforcement officers on their practical knowledge, but also enhance cooperation between the industry and Customs authorities. Only through our concerted effort will we be able to truly blind the pirate in the remaining eye.

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

世界海关组织亚太地区在香港举行的“保护知识产权”研讨会

2001年7月17日


各位嘉宾:

欢迎各位出席世界海关组织亚太地区"知识产权"研讨会。首先多谢世界海关组织再次选择由香港举办这项亚太地区活动。往后数日,我们会与各位分享香港海关在保护知识产权方面的经验,包括发展有效的法律工具,借助情报及风险评估技巧,以及制订合适的反盗版策略等。

自上次研讨会以来,香港海关的工作续见成效,今次得与各位谈谈这段期间的工作成果,倍感欣幸。我们在一九九六年代表世界海关组织举办首次研讨会时,香港正深受盗版问题困扰,相信大家记忆犹新,现在回想起来仍不免感到难受和尴尬。当时盗版活动猖獗,情况看似难以遏制,眼见问题极度严重,超越我们的执法单位所能应付,我们实在大感沮丧。

过去数年来,情况已大为改观,香港的盗版活动现已全面受到遏制,实在令人欣慰。在这方面,音乐、电影及软件工业的销售数字,正正足以反映现况。形势已经大大扭转过来,我们的执法制度获得多方认同,我们续创佳绩,在全球执法界中备受称许。

今天,香港在保护知识产权方面,荟萃卓越成就,实有赖两项要素,现谨向大家讲述。


策略

我们第一项成功要素,是采用一套有效的执法策略;这套执法策略不独有充分资源配合,更获本港最高权力当局全力支持。在打击侵犯知识产权罪行方面,我们的执法策略直截了当,就是采取"双管齐下"的方针,在供应及零售层面严打盗版,持续不懈,详情由本署版权及商标调查科的同事在往后几天向各位阐述。

为求策略奏效,我们已从有限的宝贵资源中,拨出不少人力物力,专责执行保护知识产权的法例。版权及商标调查科的人手编制共285名,负责统筹打击本港盗版活动的执法工作。我们又于一九九九年六月成立特遣队,辖下共有185名人员,职责是再进一步加强执法行动,以扫荡零售层面的盗版活动。此外,我们亦在本署内部的电脑精英中,选出七人,组成互联网反盗版队,对付网上盗版活动,由电脑法证所提供支援。互联网反盗版队和电脑法证所成立后,香港海关在对付盗版活动方面,大概已拥有世上最庞大的一支专责执法部队。

我们拨出大量人手和设备,是为香港的未来作出长远投资,期盼在香港开拓创新的沃土,让原创意念得以体现,用于商业;让创意活动得以换来表扬和成果;而版权则受到适当保护。剷除盗版行业,是我们必须踏出的第一步,亦是整个政府公认的使命,深获最高领导层的认同。我们毫不犹疑,把对付盗版问题列为优先处理的项目,可见我们对这个问题极为重视。我们乐意动用庞大的人力物力,显见我们矢志长期打击盗版活动,务求这类活动绝香港。

香港幸有健全开放的法制,过去多年来,更一直悉力改进本身的保护知识产权法例。目前,我们保护知识产权的法律架构已臻周全,堪称一流,先进国家称羨不已。不过,可以改进的地方还有不少,我们仍须继续努力。可喜的是,我们已为执法人员提供法律工具,有助他们执行职务。

本港的法院亦非常重视这个问题,判处严刑重罚,以儆效尤,对世界各地的不法之徒均足以收阻吓之效。干犯侵犯知识产权罪行,平均判刑达九个月;至今为止,当局曾判处的最重刑罚,是监禁48个月,罚款104万元。这样的刑罚绝对不轻,足以令香港的盗版之徒却步,不敢动辄以身试法。


伙伴关系

海关与业界之间建立良好伙伴关系,正是我们另一成功要素。

我们深知,海关执法成绩斐然,实有赖业界鼎力支持。知识产权基本上是一项私人经济权利,为本身利益想,产权拥有人理当挺身维护本身的权利。作为对付这类侵权活动的主要执法机构,海关自当维护法纪,但产权拥有人亦须克尽己任,协助海关保护本身的权利。

在执法行动中,我们往往需要本地版权或商标拥有人在各方面多加协助,在这方面,他们亦全力协助我们打击盗版及伪冒活动,例如在我们的日常工作方面,他们常协助我们辨别检获货品是否侵权物品,以专家证人身分在刑事诉讼程序中作证,又为我们提供所需文件。

我们力求执法制度及程序高度透明,方便业界参与保护知识产权工作,确保产权拥有人可以确切了解我们的运作,政府与业界之间亦可更易建立互信,让双方明白只要通力合作,定可达到共同目标。

要有效保护知识产权,公营与私营机构之间的策略性伙伴关系至为重要。业界与执法机构必须并肩作战,才能稳操胜券,痛击侵权、盗版之徒。


总结

有幸邀得亚太区负责保护知识产权执法工作的专业海关人员及业界代表今天聚首一堂,参加本区海关机构在这方面历来最大型的研讨会。出席各位有机会了解共同的问题、分享经验及共商解决方法,实在难能可贵。我深信,这次研讨会不仅有助执法人员学得最新的实务知识,更可加强业界与海关机构之间的合作。只有手协力,我们才可将侵权、盗版之徒彻底击溃。

谢谢!

返回主要演辞目录

关长主要演辞