Skip to main content

Address to MBA Students in the Executive Development Series of the Chinese University of Hong Kong

6 April 2001


Public Policy Versus Business Decision Making:
Friends or Enemies?

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am delighted to have the opportunity of meeting with you, our business leaders of tomorrow. You have had an impressive succession of speakers from the public and private sectors taking part in the Executive Development Series, and I am honoured, and, indeed, humbled, to have been invited here this afternoon. 

Facilitation

The traditional role of Customs as an enforcement agency has expanded considerably in recent years. We are emerging prominently as a business partner to industry players. Today I will focus specifically on that partnership in the cargo processing chain. We in the Hong Kong Customs are fully committed to building and maintaining this strategic partnership with the industry so that we will be able to reinforce Hong Kong's status as an international cargo hub and to maintain the competitive edge of the local industry. Having said that, we remain mindful of our traditional role as the law enforcement agency with a specific control responsibility. The integrity of our system relies on that control and that is something which we will not sacrifice at any cost. We need to find win-win solutions for both partners.

A good example of the successful application of the facilitation principle is clearly demonstrated at our new airport. With new facilities housed in a cluster of stunning architecture, the new airport has actualized to a fuller extent Hong Kong's potential as an international transportation hub than ever before in our history as an entrepot for the region. 

We are handling more than two million tonnes of international air cargo annually, and the figure is steadily on the rise. We are only 200,000 tonnes short of catching up with Memphis which is currently the world's largest handler of air cargo. Overtaking Memphis is our immediate target, and meeting our ultimate potential has been the principal driver for Customs to seek to enhance even further our partnership with the cargo operators. We have found our way through the application of information technology and implementation of business friendly legislation. 

Air Cargo Clearance System

We decided at the planning stage of the new airport before its opening in 1998 to develop a dedicated computer system with the dual purpose of enhancing enforcement and facilitating the clearance of air cargo at the new airport. This resulted in the creation of the Air Cargo Clearance System or the ACCS, the system that we are now using for the efficient clearance of the large volume of air cargo. 

The ACCS has brought a great deal of convenience to the cargo industry in Hong Kong. It is basically a computer system equipped with state of the art technology, specifically designed by our experts to shadow the movement of each piece of consignment coming into and going out of Hong Kong. The ACCS provides a direct system interface and electronic communication between Customs and the cargo operators in the airport for the exchange of cargo data and Customs clearance instructions. The capability of the system covers all types of cargo, including perishable goods, general merchandize, consolidation shipments, express consignments and even packages handled by on-board couriers.

All cargo operators based in our airport have joined ACCS which now has blanket coverage of all cargo coming through the airport. With the support of the cargo operators who provide us with the cargo information in the first instance, we have been able to achieve shortened clearance time and gain enhanced enforcement capability. This has worked to the advantage of both the business sector and us, the enforcement agency.

The arrangement has worked well so far but we are not complacent. Before we reach the capacity limit of the existing system, we are already studying how we can upgrade the system to deal with the anticipated exponential growth of express cargo in the next few years as well as the extension of the coverage of this system to other control points as greater flexibility in intermodal transportation is realized. We have spent some HK$180 million in developing the original system, and we are now planning to spend another HK$30 million in the next year or so in upgrading the system to enable us to stay ahead of the game. 

Extensions of the ACCS

One of the extensions of the ACCS includes the newly inaugurated Marine Cargo Terminal, a new operation which is located on the eastern end of the airport island. This is a cargo terminal where goods coming by sea from the Pearl River Delta region could have direct access to the airport for quick export by air to other parts of the world, taking full advantage of the sophisticated air connection network in our first-class international airport, eliminating delays on the increasingly cluttered roads in the sub-optimal land transport infrastructure in the region and widening the opportunity for more cargo to be transshipped through Hong Kong. 

Customs would undergo clearance checks on arrival of all in-coming cargo at the Marine Cargo Terminal which is equipped with all the necessary hi-tech hardware. The cargo information would be fed into the ACCS system for further examination by our officers at the airport control. Cargo would not normally need to be checked again when it enters the airport, thereby facilitating the movement of the cargo in reaching its destination on the next flight. Reversed movement of cargo the other way with the dissemination of goods from the airport to the Pearl River Delta region is also deemed to be full of great potential and that is being explored. Meanwhile, other operators have expressed interest in formulating similar arrangements using different modalities. We welcome these expressions of interest, and we would accommodate everyone who is willing to provide us with the necessary cargo information in exchange for our facilitation. 

We are also cognizant of the fact that the increasing use of logistics service and the growing popularity of e-commerce will pose unprecedented challenges to the air cargo industry. More and more cargo will be put on air transfers and the challenges will come from the increasing demand for a faster, more reliable and higher value-added transportation service. We are making full preparation now to meet these challenges head on.

We have labelled this facilitation concept our "bonded expressway" and we are seeking to expand it even further, while keeping to the principle of maintaining a secure monitoring system to ensure that transshipment cargo will not be illegally diverted during its passage from the point of entry to the point of exit. This concept, I believe, can be implemented successfully through the application of technology in both physical tracking and audit trail, resulting in the minimum need for Customs interference on the actual movement of cargo.

This is only the start. Our ultimate goal is to develop a one-stop Customs cargo clearance facility for all intermodal transshipment cargo. So far, we have not been able to include all the data into a single computer database, but that is something that we will be striving to achieve in the near future. 

Legislation

We have also been active on the legislative front in complementing our administrative measures in actualizing Hong Kong's potential as an international cargo hub. A good example of our commitment is the speedy enactment of the Air Cargo Transshipment (Facilitation) Ordinance 2000 to facilitate the movement of air transshipment cargo through Hong Kong. 

Before the enactment of the amendment, all transshipment cargo, regardless of nature, were subject to the same licensing control and customs clearance requirements as if they were actually imported into and then re-exported from Hong Kong. This means that import and export licences had to be obtained for all controlled items before the goods could be sent to Hong Kong for transshipment. The application process sometimes took as long as a few days to complete. These requirements were set in those days when transshipment cargo was not as popular as they are today, and cargo information was not readily available prior to the arrival of the shipment. 

With the new mode of operation and the advent of more user-friendly information technology, the situation has changed drastically over the last few years, laying the very foundation for transshipment cargo facilitation in Hong Kong. We removed the licensing requirements for transshipment by air of the commonly carried goods, including computer parts, pharmaceutical products and foodstuffs. The facilitation does not include, however, goods such as munitions, dangerous drugs, infectious materials and hazardous wastes which are sensitive items requiring higher level of control.

Following the enactment of the new law in May last year, we simplified correspondingly Customs clearance procedures at the airport to facilitate the movement of such air transshipment cargo. The new procedures have been well received by the industry and air transshipment cargo has seen a quantum jump in volume. We will continue to examine existing legal requirements and, where necessary, we will seek to enact legislation to bring our requirements up to date to meet the new business environment of today.

Public Policy

It is our practice that business facilitation should be included in every public policy consideration. As a small economy with no natural resources, the very fact that we remain in the roster of the top ten largest trading entities in the world is a clear testament on the effectiveness of our business friendly policy. We faithfully abide by the motto of "minimum intervention, maximum support" in guiding our decisions in building the necessary infrastructure to nurture a healthy business environment. 

Unlike our neighbour in Southeast Asia, we do not subsidize business intoxicating them with short-term elixir, but we are actually the true friend of the business sector. There is no place in the world where you can find such accessible officials at the highest level, such transparent governance, such wide-spread public involvement in key advisory bodies, such free flow of information and such conducive business environment than what you see here in Hong Kong. We have the rule of law, an independent judiciary and a clean and competent civil service. These factors and others help to engender an environment for healthy long-term development, and not the short-term gains that many governments pursue. 

We will be working closely with members of the industry in identifying the best possible solutions in achieving our long-term objectives. I believe the solution lies in the successful partnership between government and the industry. I trust you will agree with me that business decision making in Hong Kong is very much part of our public policy formulation, and the Hong Kong Government, in general, and Customs, in particular, is business' best friend.

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

向香港中文大学商界领袖与高阶管理培训系列的工商管理学硕士学生致辞

2001年4月6日


公共政策对商业决策:是友是敌?

各位先生、女士:

在商界领袖与高阶管理培训系列中,分别来自公营或私营机构的多位精英应邀主讲,珠玉在前,我今天下 午有幸参与其盛,既感雀跃,亦感汗颜。各位同学是明日的商界领袖,与你们聚首一堂,更属难能可贵。

利便贸易

近年,海关已不再局限于扮演传统的角色,除了克尽执法机构的职责之外,更逐渐发展成为业界的重要业 务伙伴。今天,我会重阐述货物处理过程中的伙伴关系。香港海关全力建立及维持与香港货运业的策略 性伙伴关系,以巩固香港作为国际空运枢纽的地位,以及帮助本地工业在竞争中保持优势。尽管如此,我 们仍然牢记执法机构的传统责任,尽力履行特定的管制职责。本港的制度稳健可靠,信誉昭着,实在有赖 妥善的管制措施,我们绝不会放弃。为求两全其美,我们要为双方达致双赢局面。

我们的新机场,明显体现了利便贸易的原则。新机场由令人惊叹的建筑群组成,备有种种崭新设施,为本 港创造前所未有的优势,在作为区内转口港的传统基础上,再进一步,全面发挥国际货运枢纽的潜力。

现在,我们每年处理超过二百万公吨国际空运货物,这个数量还在稳定增长。孟菲斯是现今全球最大的空 运货物处理地点,而我们的货物处理量与孟菲斯只相差二十万公吨,极盼有一日,本港可以从后赶上。完 全发挥潜能是我们的首要目标,一直推动海关致力加强与货运商之间的伙伴关系。藉应用资讯科技和落 实利便贸易的法例,我们已经找出未来路向。

空运货物清关系统

新机场于一九九八年启用以前,我们便已决定发展一个专用的新电脑系统,这个系统必须既能加强执法能 力,亦可利便新机场的空运货物清关工作,空运货物清关系统因而诞生,现时在我们的机场有效处理大量 货物清关工作。

空运货物清关系统启用后,香港货运业大为称便。这个系统由我们的专家采用尖端科技特别设计,用以紧 密追所有寄运进出香港货物的去向。海关部门与机场内的货运商,均可分别透过这系统所提供的直接介 面和电子联系,提供货物资料及发出清关手续指示。所有种类的货物,包括湿货、一般货物、综合货物、 快递讬运,甚至专差快递员所携带的包裹,这个系统均能处理。

香港机场的所有驻场货运商,都已加入空运货物清关系统,所有途经香港机场的货物现时均由这个系统处 理。得到货运商大力支持,第一时间为我们提供货物资料,我们既可缩短空运货物清关时间,亦能提高执 法能力,商界和负责执法的海关同样受惠。

现行安排一直行之有效,但是,我们并没有因而满足于现状。由于预期未来数年内快递货运会以倍计增 长,而多元运输需要更为灵活处理,我们在现有系统的处理能力达到饱和前,便已研究如何提升系统,并 将系统的复盖范围扩展至其他管制站。建立原来的系统,耗资一亿八千万港元,而在未来一年,我们计划 再斥资三千万港元,以保持这方面的领先地位。

扩展空运货物清关系统

空运货物清关系统扩展范围的其中一部分,包括新落成的「香港国际机场海运码头」。这个新货运码头位 于机场岛东端,从珠江三角洲区域经海路来港的货物,可经此直达机场,并借助本港顶级国际机场的精密 空中联系网络,迅速空运出口至世界各地,无须倚仗地区内尚待完善的陆路运输基建,避免因道路交通日 趋繁忙以致延误。海运码头启用后,经香港的货物转运量可望增加。

「香港国际机场海运码头」备有种种必要的高科技器材,遇有来港货物运抵码头,便会由海关进行清关检 查,而货物资料亦会输入空运货物清关系统,以备机场管制组的海关人员进一步检查。当货物进入机场 后,通常毋须再受检查,便可直接运上飞机,空运往目的地,于是便可加快空转货运。反过来说,由机场 运往珠江三角洲区域的货物,相信亦大有机会以同样方式处理,我们现正探讨这项构思。与此同时,其他 货运商已表示有意制订类似安排,而采用的模式则会有所不同,本署无任欢迎。货运商只要愿意向我们提 供所需的货物资料,我们都乐意尽量配合,为他们提供更为便捷的清关服务。

此外,鑑于对后勤服务的需求日益增加,电子商贸日渐普及,航空货运业将会面对前所未有的挑战。愈来 愈多货物将会采取空运方式转运;运输服务必须倍加快捷可靠,不断增值,以应付日趋殷切的需求,有关 各方都会备受考验。我们已作好准备,迎接未来种种挑战。

这个利便货运的概念,我们称为「受监管快速通道」,现正致力进一步扩展,但我们亦会坚守执法原则, 维持稳健的监察系统,确保转运货物在入境至出境的过程中不会非法转移到其他地方。相信只要善用科 技,于货物在港期间可以追查货物去向,货物离港之后可以稽核纪录,这个概念当可顺利落实,海关可以 尽量减省对货运的不必要干预。

这只是一个开始,我们的最终目标,是发展一站式货物清关设施,处理所有以混合方式联运的转运货物。 迄今,我们尚未能够将全部资料输入同一个电脑资料库内,但我们已朝着这个方向努力,务求在短期内达 到目标。

法律

我们一直不遗余力,积极制订有关法例,配合行政措施,发挥香港作为国际货运枢纽的潜能。迅速制定 《2000年航空货物转运(促进)条例》,利便本港的空转货运,便是极佳例证。

在这项修订条例草案通过前,转运货物不论性质,一律犹如先输入香港然后转口的货物,必须遵守同样的 牌照管制及清关规定。换句话说,所有受管制物品均须先行申领入口及出口的许可证,然后才可送往香港 转运。申领的过程有时长达数日。这些规定是早年定下,当时货物转运不像今天普遍,往往在货物抵港 后,才可取得有关资料。

过去几年以来,空运经营方式推陈出新,便捷的资讯科技陆续面世,带来重大的转变,为利便货物转运的 工作奠定稳固的基础。牌照规定放宽之后,常见转运货物,如电脑零件、药品及食品等,再不需要申领许 可证,但这项便利措施并不适用于必须严加管制的高度敏感物品,例如军火、危险药物、传染性物质及有 害废物。

新法例在去年五月通过后,机场的清关手续已相应简化,以加快空转货运。新程序不但深受业界欢迎,更 大大提高了本港的空转货运量。我们会继续研究现行的法例规定,如有必要,更会采取立法措施,务求法 例规定配合现今最新的营商环境。

公共政策

根据本署的一贯做法,制订任何一项公共决策时,均会顾及「利便营商」的目标。香港虽属小规模经济体 系,缺乏天然资源,但能一直名列世界十大贸易实体,足证本港利便营商的政策行之有效。我们在作出任 何有关决策时,均会继续恪遵「最少干预、最大支持」的座右铭,提供必需的基建设施,缔造理想的营商 环境。

不比东南亚地区内的其他地方,本港并不资助商界;资助虽可取悦商界,但往往只具短暂效用。事实上, 我们是商界的真正朋友。世界上再没有其他地方像香港一样,高层官员平易亲民,政府管治开放透明,设 有各主要谘询组织,让社会各界广泛参与决策过程,资讯自由流通,营商环境理想。此外,我们奉行法 治,司法独立,公务员队伍廉洁能干。凡此种种,以及其他不能尽录的因素,均有助营造有利长远发展的 理想环境,而非追求短期利益,在这方面与很多地方的政府有所不同。

我们会与业界人士紧密合作,为达成我们长远的目标,制订良方妙法。依我看来,对症良方莫如政府与业 界携手合作。相信各位也同意,在本港,商业决策是政府制订公共政策的一大考虑因素,整个香港政府, 特别是香港海关,确实是商界的最佳朋友。

谢谢。

返回主要演辞目录

关长主要演辞