Skip to main content

Opening Ceremony of the Kwai Chung Customhouse

12 January 2001


Chief Secretary for Administration, 
Ladies and Gentlemen, colleagues,

Welcome you all to the opening ceremony of Kwai Chung Customhouse today! We are greatly honoured with the presence of Mrs. CHAN, Chief Secretary for Administration, our officiating guest at the opening ceremony.

The commissioning of the Customhouse has ushered the Department into a modern era. Apart from providing office accommodation for different operational units of Customs, the complex houses a comprehensive range of work-related facilities, including cargo examination platforms, warehouses, training rooms, dog kennels and vehicle detention places. The construction of the dangerous goods store, which is the final phase of the project, is still underway and will be completed in June 2001. Kwai Chung Customhouse, a self-contained and purpose-built facility for Customs operation, will then be completed as the first of its kind in Hong Kong.

The shipping industry of Hong Kong is well known for its remarkable achievements, especially the continuous leading position of Kwai Chung Container Terminals in terms of operational efficiency and cargo throughput. It is the responsibility of the Customs and Excise department to foster development in the sectors of shipping and container terminal operation. With the completion of the Customhouse, we will be able to deliver on our performance pledge to the public, upgrade the capacity of cargo clearance, thus making a long step forward in modernization.

In order to cater for future developments and upgrade the quality and efficiency of our service to the public, we have not only introduced an IT system for electronic submission of cargo manifests, but have also committed ourselves to a study on sea cargoes clearance procedures in pursuit of greater efficiency in Customs clearance. We seek to save the manual efforts now required by the industry to lodge cargo manifests with Government departments concerned. We also look for means to monitor more effectively the clearance procedures as well as the accurate dissemination of cargo data, which will facilitate Customs officers' selection of high risk goods for inspection. In this way, the traders will benefit from our better and faster clearance services while our law enforcement capabilities will also be greatly enhanced. 

With the ongoing development of the container terminals, we shall take Kwai Chung Customhouse as or new base and strive for maintaining Hong Kong' s status as the busiest and one of the most efficient container ports in the world joining hands with the industry, and aided by advanced technology and streamlined customs clearance procedures. 

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

葵涌海关大楼开幕典礼

2001年1月12日


政务司司长、各位来宾、各位同事:

多谢各位的光临。今天,我们很荣幸能够邀请政务司司长陈太为葵涌海关大楼举行开幕典礼。

海关大楼的启用,引领我们的部门进入一个现代化的新纪元。大楼除了为我们海关不同的工作单位提供环 境整洁的办公室之外,亦提供了健全的辅助设施,包括验货台、仓库、培训室、狗舍及车辆扣留场。而最 后一期工程的危险物品储藏仓库正在兴建中,并将会在本年六月完成。到时葵涌海关大楼将是一座式式俱 全和专为海关工作而设的大。 香港航运事业的卓越成绩,是众所周知的,其中葵涌货柜码头的操作效率和货柜处理量更长期维持在领先 的地位。

香港海关是有责任促进航运业及货柜码头业之发展。海关大楼的落成,实现我们对广大市民的服 务承诺,加强货物的清关能力,向现代化跨进一大步。

为了配合未来的发展和提高对市民的服务质素及效率,我们除了引进以电子方式提交货物舱单的科技系统 之外,我们亦致力研究海运的清关程序,以提高清关的效率。我们希望可以为有关行业减省以人手向各政 府部门提交货物舱单的需要,亦期望更有效地监察报关程序及更准确地掌握货物资料,以方便海关人员抽 选高危货物检查。这样,业界可以获得更优良,更快速的清关服务,而我们亦可以提高海关执法的效力。

随着货柜码头不断的发展,我们将以葵涌海关大楼为基地,积极工作,借助高科技及精简清关程序,与业 界携手合作,保持香港作为全球最繁忙及最有效率货柜港的地位。

多谢各位。

返回主要演辞目录

关长主要演辞