Skip to main content

Luncheon organized by The Hong Kong Association of Southern California in Los Angeles, USA

26 September 2000


Ladies and Gentlemen,

Good afternoon. 

I am delighted to be here again in Los Angeles now that the air is clean and prosperity fills every breath I take. I am no stranger to LA, having been to Disneyland with my kids for at least a dozen times, but this is the first time for me to visit in the capacity of the Commissioner of Customs and Excise of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. 

I am actually on my way to Washington DC to speak in the Air Cargo Forum, and I thought it would be a good opportunity to share with some of the friends of Hong Kong here the latest developments in some of the issues falling under my portfolio. I am grateful to the colleagues of the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in San Francisco and friends of the Hong Kong Association of Southern California in organizing such a distinguished gathering. What I would like to do today is to talk briefly about the economic situation in Hong Kong, protection of intellectual property rights, enforcement against alien smuggling, and finally what we are doing on trade facilitation.

Hong Kong Economy

First, the economy.

There are encouraging signs of continued recovery three years after the outbreak of the Asian financial crisis, and the regional rebound is gathering momentum. I am pleased to note that, after a painful period of economic adjustment, the stage is set for Hong Kong to achieve stunning economic gains in the year 2000. In the first two quarters this year, Hong Kong registered spectacular GDP growth of 14.3% and 10.8%. According to the latest review, an overall growth rate of 8.5% has been projected for the full year, up from the 6% estimate made in May. Some economic forecasters have indicated that our projections rest heavily on the low side, and others have suggested that in view of the price hike in oil our projections are too optimistic. In any event, for an externally oriented economy like Hong Kong, I think it is a virtue to operate in a conservative and steady manner. 

The quick recovery of Hong Kong has much to do with the solid fundamentals of our economy. We have totally free trade in a textbook market setting, level playing field for all, a low and simple tax regime, and unfettered flow of information. We also have an accountable, clean and business-friendly civil service, buttressed by the rule of law and an independent judiciary.

The pains of the economic malady are now history. The Hong Kong business sector is busily diversifying into the "new economy" with a massive rush recently of dot-coms setting up in Hong Kong. There are many theories on the strengths and weaknesses of the new companies, and there is still no consensus on their state of health. However, it is certain that one of the most significant developments in reshaping our economy in this new century will be the power of innovation and technology, and high profile projects, such as the Cyberport and Science Park, will certainly add fuel to our future economic growth.

In building this new platform, we are seeking to encourage innovation and creativity in our community. An essential ingredient in fostering the construction of the technological architecture is assurance for investors that their intellectual property rights will be properly protected. In this connection, we have achieved highly encouraging results.

We are also expecting a boom of business opportunities with China's imminent accession to the World Trade Organization. The likely expansion of China's trade links and investment relations with the rest of the world would bring substantial economic gains to Hong Kong. All these recent developments suggest clearly that our economy is getting ready to take the next quantum jump.

Intellectual Property Rights Protection

Moving onto the next subject, intellectual property infringement has once attracted considerable international attention and it was a constant irritant with our major trading partners. This is perceived to be an important domestic issue as well. As the leading law enforcement agency in Hong Kong in intellectual property rights protection, it is our aim to eradicate such infringements as soon as possible, and to ensure that this is achieved, we have dedicated a large amount of resources to the fight against piracy.

I am pleased to tell you that the piracy situation in Hong Kong is now firmly under control. The extent of piracy in Hong Kong has reduced significantly since I assumed the position of Commissioner a year and a half ago. Over 90% of the 1,000 or so retail outlets selling pirated products have since closed, pushing the remaining few underground. We will continue to spare no effort in combating piracy in Hong Kong.

We have brought about this level of success with a two-pronged enforcement strategy - clamping down on both the supply side and the retail end simultaneously. Our record speaks for itself. Our effort has been recognized by prominent intellectual property organizations, such as the Motion Picture Association, the International Federation of Phonographic Industry and the Business Software Alliance.

Now that we have broken the back of the illicit business in the piracy of intellectual property in Hong Kong, we have even greater confidence in promoting technological innovation in our economy. Hong Kong has embarked upon a series of new strategic initiatives aimed at deepening and broadening our economic architecture. We are seeking to develop a more sophisticated technological base. We are working to be a leading centre for information technology in the form of the now well-known Cyberport. This facility, which has already had the support of leading international IT firms, will house a strategic cluster of major service companies specializing in the development and application of IT in electronic commerce and information service. It will also provide a huge boost to the businesses in the region. With the new technological infrastructure in sight, Hong Kong is now well placed to face the challenges of the new millennium. 

Smuggling of Illegal Immigrants

As we enter into the new millennium, we face also a new problem of smuggling of illegal immigrants, a problem which has featured in bold headlines a few months ago. This is a large international issue, and for our part, we have always taken vigorous actions to prevent Hong Kong from being used by human smugglers as a staging point for transit to other countries.

Given the geographical location and heavy marine traffic in the Hong Kong waters, vigilant enforcement action to combat the smuggling of illegal immigrants has always been a priority for us. We have adopted an inter-departmental approach to deal with the problem. Hong Kong Customs exercises a sound mechanism in checking cargoes to prevent smuggling. We use a risk assessment approach in selecting cargoes for examination, and the system has proved to be effective. Together with the Marine Police, we patrol the Hong Kong waters to intercept vessels suspected to be involved in smuggling operations. The Hong Kong Police also has a special team to collect intelligence and investigate suspected organizers of human smuggling. In addition, our Immigration Department maintains a Ship Search Unit to conduct searches on ships inside the Hong Kong harbour.

Apart from these enforcement actions, the Hong Kong law enforcement departments enjoy excellent cooperation with our overseas counterparts. We regularly exchange intelligence on these activities through designated local liaison officers and established channels. In fact, amongst the 11 cases of human smuggling detected in the US and Canada this year, six were the result of tip-offs from the Hong Kong Customs.

In order to curb the use of containers for the smuggling of human cargo, we have also sought enhanced cooperation from our trade, including major shipping companies and agents, container terminal operators and the major trade associations. As a result, a battery of measures has been adopted by the trade which include reporting to Customs prior to export intended shipments of soft-top and refrigerated containers; strengthening security measures to detect illegal immigrants hiding in containers; reporting to Customs through a special hotline any suspicious outbound shipments; checking new clients' particulars before accepting business; and more.

On our part, we have enhanced our examination of outgoing soft-top and refrigerated containers, and we are using carbon dioxide detectors to assist in our container examination. So far, the results are encouraging. We have not received any further report of human smuggling on vessels departing from Hong Kong since April. In the first eight months of this year, we arrested 110 would-be-illegal immigrants in our routine searches and foiled possibly many more in our enhanced enforcement. We will keep up our efforts by maintaining close cooperation with relevant local and overseas law enforcement authorities as well as the trade to ensure that Hong Kong will not be used as a transit base for human smuggling. I am confident that our contribution will help eradicate this obnoxious and immoral business worldwide.

Trade Facilitation

Under the heading of Trade Facilitation, I would like to share with you three examples of how we are getting ready in taking the quantum jump in economic development to make Hong Kong an attractive place for overseas investments and to take Hong Kong into a new era of prosperity.

Container Terminal No.9

First of all, we have begun the construction of Container Terminal No. 9. When completed in 2004, the new container terminal, which costs about HK$10 billion to build, will provide six additional berths with a design capacity of 2.6 million TEUs, bringing our total capacity to well over 20 million TEUs. This would help to meet forecast demand and maintain Hong Kong as the world's busiest container port for some time to come.

The first berth will come into operation in May 2002 and we in Customs will be ready to assist in the facilitation of the movement of the additional containers. We are streamlining our procedures with the use of technology while seeking to speed up cross boundary movement of container trucks as well as enhancing our water links with the Mainland to enable more cost effective transport of cargoes.

Pre-clearance at the Land Boundary

At the land boundary checkpoints, we have about 30,000 goods vehicles going to and from Hong Kong and the Mainland everyday. Traffic jams are usually seen as a sign of prosperity, but to the truck drivers it is a nuisance and to the businessmen it is a loss of opportunity. We have attempted different measures to remedy this problem. We have sought to build more clearance kiosks, but due to the limitation of land, we have reached the limit for this option. We have implemented a special "empty container" scheme and this has helped to some extent to alleviate some of the congestion but the limit will also be reached in a couple of years. We are now attempting to establish a scheme of clearance under which transport companies would let us have information of their cargoes ahead of time, and we would provide them in return with the necessary clearance prior to their arrival. This should help facilitate movement of cargoes at the very busy boundary between Hong Kong and the Mainland. We are still at a preliminary stage and we see this as a medium term solution to a big problem.

As a forerunner of our effort to facilitate transshipment cargo as a whole, we have worked out recently with individual cargo operators streamlined clearance procedures for air cargo to be transshipped to the Mainland by land transportation through our boundary checkpoints or by taking the sea route. Under the new procedures, the transshipment cargo needs only subject to customs clearance once at our airport under normal circumstances, saving the trouble for a second clearance at the land border or at sea during the outbound trip. We are able to do that because of the cooperative arrangements we have obtained from the operators in ensuring that full cargo data are provided to customs in advance for pre-clearance and the cargo is transported during transshipment under proper security safeguards. These arrangements have opened up new business potentials for the industry and may serve as a pilot for further extension of customs facilitation to all forms of intermodal transshipment cargo.

Air Cargo Hub


Separately, we are working to establish the Hong Kong International Airport as the air cargo transshipment hub in the region. To make that possible, we have amended our laws to simplify formalities and procedures in order to minimize bureaucracy. We are now able to facilitate the movement of goods without sacrificing our enforcement role. In fact, our role has been enhanced as a result. We have been able to achieve this with the help of advanced technology. Supported by the powerful customs air cargo clearance computer system which cost about HK$175 million, we have been able to clear cargoes prior to their arrival in Hong Kong and move cargoes according to the new standards required in the "new economy" setting.

Conclusion

This is only the start. Our ultimate aim is to develop a one-stop customs cargo clearance for all transport modes - air, land and sea. We are working hard on this, and we are aiming to meet the needs of our business partners before long. And I do hope you will come join us on this platform of opportunity in creating a new prosperity in Hong Kong.

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

洛杉矶南加洲香港协会举办的午餐会上

2000年9月26日


各位先生/女士:

午安。

洛杉矶空气清新,洋溢繁华都会的气氛,重临这个可爱的城市,实在乐趣无穷。我对于洛杉矶并不感到陌生,因为我曾多次带同子女前来畅遊迪士尼乐园;不过,以香港特别行政区海关关长的身份到来,则是首次。

事实上,我将会前往首府华盛顿,出席空运货物研讨会,顺道拜访洛杉矶,希望藉这个大好机会,与关心香港的朋友谈谈我的职权范围内某些问题的最新发展。香港驻三藩市经济贸易办事处的同事及南加州香港协会的朋友举办这次午餐聚会,承邀出席,我感到非常荣幸,谨致谢意。我会扼要讲述香港的经济情况、保护知识产权的工作、打击偷运人蛇活动的执法行动,以及我们如何便利贸易等事项。

香港的经济

首先谈谈香港的经济。

亚洲金融风暴爆发三年之后,香港经济渐渐复甦,令人鼓舞。亚洲区内经济反弹,并正逐渐凝聚力量,稳步发展。香港经历了一段艰辛的经济调整期后,在二OOO年,经济可望大幅增长。本年度首两季的本地生产总值升幅,分别高达14.3%及10.8%。在最近的经济评估中,我们已经把全年整体经济增长的预测,由五月时所预测的6%,调升至8.5%。一些经济评述员曾指出,我们对香港经济增长的评估偏于保守,却又有一些认为现时油价高企,我们的预测未免过于乐观。但我认为,香港的经济主要由外贸带动,我们采取谨慎稳当的态度,亦有可取之处。

香港的经济能够迅速复元,经济根基稳固是主要原因之一。我们的贸易制度既符合规范且完全自由,营商环境公平无私,采用低税率及简单税制,资讯流通自由。再者,我们的公务员队伍具问责性,廉洁守正,利便营商;政府奉行法治,而且司法独立。

经济下调的苦楚已成过去。香港商界正忙于拓展多元化业务,以配合「新经济」模式。最近多间网站公司相继成立,至于这些新公司的优点和缺点,众说纷纭,对于它们是否稳健,至今未有定论。然而,跨进新世纪后,创新科技定必是其中最重要的动力之一,带动香港经济转型,而数码港及科学园等大型计划必然推动香港未来的经济发展。

为了建设良好的基础,发展新经济,我们尽力鼓励创新与创作。我们必须令投资者相信他们的知识产权会受妥善保护,才可推动科技发展。在这方面,我们已取得骄人成绩。

中国即将加入世界贸易组织,预期会为我们带来大量商机。随中国扩展与其他国家的贸易联系和投资关系,香港经济将会受惠。以上种种均显示香港经济正作好准备,乘时飞跃。

保护知识产权

接谈到另一个题目,就是侵犯知识产权问题,这个问题在国际间备受关注,并且一直在我们与主要贸易伙伴之间引致磨擦;也构成香港内部的重要问题。作为香港保护知识产权的主要执法机关,我们致力尽快杜绝这类侵权活动;为求达到这个目标,我们已经调配大量资源,打击侵犯版权活动。

可幸香港的盗版情况已经完全受到控制。自从我在一年半前接任海关关长,一度猖獗的盗版活动已大为收歛,盗版货品零售店铺原先约有一千多间,现时超过90%已经结束营业,仅存的店舖已经转作地下经营。我们将会继续不遗余力,打击香港的盗版活动。

我们能够取得这项骄人成绩,端赖采取双管齐下的策略,同时针对供应和零售两方面,纪录可以証明这一点。着名的保护知识产权机构,例如美国电影协会、国际唱片业协会及商业软件联盟,均讚许我们在这方面的工作。

现在,香港的盗版行业既受重创,我们推动科技创新的信心自然倍增。香港特区政府已开展一连串新的策略性措施,旨在深化及扩展香港的经济结构。我们推出众所周知的「数码港」计划,致力发展更先进的科技基础,务求成为处于领先地位的资讯科技中心。数码港计划旨在吸引专门发展及应用电子商贸与资讯服务科技的行业,期望业内各大公司汇聚其中。这项大型建设计划,已获数间顶尖的国际资讯科技公司鼎力支持,落实之后当可大大推动地区内各行业的发展,刺激亚洲经济。具备这个新的科技基础建设,香港如虎添翼,面对新世纪的各项挑战,亦当应付裕如。

偷运非法入境者

迈进新纪元之际,我们亦同时面对新的难题,就是偷运非法入境者。这个问题在几个月前成为头条新闻。事实上,这是复杂的重大国际问题。香港海关一直采取严厉的措施,堵截人蛇,全力防止香港成为走私人蛇往其他国家的中转站。

鑑于香港的地理位置和频繁的海上交通,采取严密的执法行动,打击偷运非法入境者的活动,一直是我们的重要任务,执法行动从未松懈。香港处理这个问题,是由各有关部门合作对付。海关检查货运的机制十分有效,足以严防偷运人蛇。我们在抽查货物时,采用“风险评估”的手法,事实证明十分有效。香港海关与水警一同在香港水域巡逻,截查怀疑走私的船只。香港警务处并已成立一支特别职务队,专责收集情报和调查涉嫌偷运人蛇的集团及策划人物。此外,香港入境事务处辖下,亦设有船只搜查小组,负责搜查海港内的船只。

除了以上执法行动外,香港各执法部门亦与海外执法机构合作无间。我们透过专责的香港联络员及既定渠道,就这些活动定期交换情报。事实上,今年在美国及加拿大发现非法入境者的11宗案件中,6宗是根据香港海关提供的情报破获。

为了遏止利用货柜偷运人蛇,我们已加强与业界人士合作,其中包括主要的船务公司及其代理、货柜码头经营者及主要的商会。因此,业界已经实施一系列措施,包括船务公司在打算利用“软顶”货柜及“冻柜”出口货物前报知海关,加强保安措施以侦测藏匿在货柜内的非法入境者,并设立一条特别电话热线,向海关举报任何可疑的出口货运;以及船务公司在接受任何新的订单前,查核新顾客的背景资料等。

另一方面,我们亦已加强检查运载出口货物的“软顶”货柜及“冻柜”,并在检查货柜时使用二氧化碳探测器,至今屡创佳绩,令人鼓舞。自从四月以来,我们再没有接获离港船只偷运人蛇的报告。今年头八个月内,我们在例行搜查中,已成功拘捕110名涉嫌非法入境者,并在加强执法行动时防止更多这类案件发生。我们定必努力不懈,与本地、海外的执法机关,以及业界人士保持紧密合作,确保香港不会成为偷运人蛇的中转站。我深信,香港海关全力以赴,必定有助根绝这种为患全球、有违道德的非法勾当。

利便贸易

谈到利便贸易的课题,我向大家举出三个例子,说明香港如何作好准备,促进经济发展,吸引外资,等待时机,乘时飞跃,并且昂首迈进繁盛的新纪元。

九号货柜码头

首先,我们已动工兴建九号货柜码头。新码头耗资一百亿港元,预计于二OO四年落成,提供六个停泊处,容量达二百六十万标准货柜单位,总容量超过二千万标准货柜单位,足可应付预期需求,香港在未来多年将可保持全球最繁忙货柜港的地位。

首个停泊处将于二OO二年五月启用,香港海关已作好准备,利便新增的货柜运送,借助高科技精简程序。为求提高货运的成本效益,我们已加快货柜车过境检查,并加强与中国大陆的水路连系。

陆路边境的预先清关服务

每日约有三万辆货车经陆路边境检查站进出香港与中国大陆。交通挤塞象征繁荣,却令货柜车司机感到困扰;对于分秒必争的商人,是减少了他们的机会。我们曾采取多项措施,设法解决问题,例如已经增加清关亭数量,但鑑于土地不足,未能再进一步。此外,我们实行「空柜」计划,纾缓挤塞情况,但几年后亦会饱和。有见及此,我们有意推出一项新清关服务,由运输公司事先提供货物资料,我们会于货物运抵前完成主要清关程序,相信可以利便中港货运。我们正处于起步阶段,我们认为,这不失为解决大问题的中期对策。

为求整体上利便货物转运,我们先于最近与个别转运商磋商,议定凡属空运货物,无论由陆路经边境检查站或海路转运往中国大陆,清关程序都会力求精简,在正常情况下,转运货物只需于香港机场办理一次清关手续,省却于海路或陆路离境时再次清关。新程序可以实行,有赖转运商合作,确保海关尽早掌握货物的详尽资料,以便预先清关,货物在转运过程中亦有妥善的保安措施。以上各项安排为业界开拓新的商机,也为海关日后利便一切货物转运的措施铺路。

货物空运枢纽

另外,我们致力确立香港国际机场作为地区内空转货运枢纽的地位,为此已修订有关法例,简化手续和程序,减少不必要的繁文褥节。我们未因利便货运而牺性执法。事实上,先进科技大大提高我们的执法能力。耗资港币一亿七千五百万的空运货物电脑清关系统,处理功能极高,我们能于货物抵港前进行清关,货物转运也因而符合「新经济」模式的要求。

总结

以上各项措施,只是起步点。我们最终的目标,是为海、陆、空三种运输模式发展一站式的货物清关系统。我们全力迈向目标,冀能尽快满足业务伙伴的需要。盼望各位与我们一同把握机会,为香港共创美好将来,促进香港繁荣。

谢谢。

返回主要演辞目录

关长主要演辞