Skip to main content

MTV-Billboard Asian Music Conference

2 June 2000


FACE THE MUSIC

Ladies and Gentlemen,

As a teenager living in the Big Apple, I used to follow the American Billboard charts like many of you follow the NASDAQ Index today. I had dreamed, like other kids, that I would get on the charts some day, but unfortunately, my musical adventure never took off. Therefore, I am extremely pleased today to have the opportunity finally of associating myself in some way with Billboard which, unlike me, has flourished into a worldwide music phenomenon dealing with all walks of the industry.

I would have enjoyed spending my allotted time today talking with you music experts and raving about some of my favourite artists. However, as the Commissioner of the Hong Kong Customs, I am limited by my portfolio. It is not my intention to be boring today, but I am afraid that my subject is not going to be as exciting as talking about Marvin Gaye and his music, but I hope, nevertheless, to capture your attention for the next few minutes.

I do not intend to recite ad nauseam the enforcement regime that has been so successfully practised in Hong Kong. It is certainly a good story, and we would like very much to share it with you. Instead of taking up your precious time here today, we have set out the key features of this story in a fact sheet which you could collect on your way out and read at your leisure.

To set the scene, I would like to present a couple of statistical snapshots, which capture the essence of our success here in Hong Kong, to highlight the difference we have made in the past year. A year ago, there were over 1,000 retail outlets of pirated CDs, each carrying on average some 5,000 CDs and operating over 12 hours a day. This translates into a market with the availability of some five million CDs at any one time. About a quarter of this quantity falls in the music category. A snapshot today would reveal a market of fewer than 100 retail outlets, each carrying on average some 1,000 CDs and operating fewer than three hours a day. This translates into a market with the availability of 100,000 pirated CDs.

I shall leave the interpretation of these figures for you to decipher, but clearly the shrinkage using whatever parameter is substantial. I have seen the industry's figures on the extent of piracy in Hong Kong. I know this is not the proper occasion to debate which calculation methodology is the more accurate. The only point that I would make is that it is just overly simplistic to equate piracy to the difference between a company's estimated business level and the actual business level for the year or the cumulative sum of suspected lost sales in the previous years. This gives no regard to the prevalent economic situation nor the quality of your products nor the effort the enforcement agencies have put into their work. Rather than dwelling on what could have been lost, why not concentrate on what is being achieved in a positive way? I am sure this is not the end of this debate but I thought I should set this out once and for all before turning to more important things, like what we are doing about copyright piracy in the digital era.

Looking ahead, I am sure you will agree that the biggest challenge to us all is no doubt the possibilities posed by the advent of the internet. You have poignantly set the scene by describing the internet age as a 'bittersweet' experience for the music industry. Indeed, the digital technology today has made it possible for a much wider range of music to reach a much wider audience in a much shorter period of time than ever before, but it has also provided a convenient avenue for piracy. While the internet world has greatly accelerated the development of information technology, it has also helped to facilitate the exploitation of intellectual property rights. These are serious issues that do not come with a ready set of solutions, but it does not mean that we should simply just abandon the technology and go back to vinyl 78s and the good old turntables. We must face the music together.

In anticipation of likely developments in the cyber environment, we in Hong Kong Customs have set up an Anti-Internet Piracy Team last year to deal with criminal activities in this sector. The internet language does not come naturally to Customs officers, nor I think the music industry, as the internet age dawns upon us, but we can certainly help each other on this score. To help us stay tuned to the latest technology, we called upon the assistance of the industry which is much closer to the leading edge of the business. This partnership is crucial not only in helping to raise our awareness of the principal trend and the availability of the leading technology, but also to facilitate our investigation and prosecution.

As for us enforcers, we need time and resources to equip ourselves with the necessary skills before we can do our job properly. We need to train our officers on the ground. We need to provide them with the proper hardware and software. We need to change the long-held modus operandi with the use of new tools. Only with all these modifications would we be able to begin to make an impact in the new environment. Indeed, after months of preparation, our team was able to score their first cyber hit with the help of the industry. In April this year, we arrested two men for supplying pirated computer software on an internet website, and we are now proceeding to prosecution. Meanwhile, working with the industry, we are seeking out other infringements.

The basic investigative techniques we have employed in this case are technology neutral using our usual modes of operation and taking full account of societal interests, like privacy and protection of civil liberties, but the tools are state of the art stuff. The lessons that we have learned urge us to keep pace with the rapid movement of computer technology. We shall do so. At the same time, we are also in the process of disseminating the newly acquired knowledge to a wider segment of our Customs force so that everyone concerned would be sensitive to the potential of this new dimension in areas in which they are responsible. We are also sharing this knowledge with other interested administrations as well.

Intellectual property is essentially a private economic right, the safekeeping of which rests with its owner. It is encouraging that the music industry is taking a proactive role as vigilant monitors for their own rights. You are the keepers of your own future. If you do not take any security measure for your own property, it would be futile to call us when theft has already taken place. I am happy to see that since IFPI in Hong Kong has issued warning letters to unauthorized MP3 websites, most of them have already closed down. That is a clear signal that your effort is being recognized.

It is also gratifying to note that cooperation within the music industry is progressing. Technology wise, there have been talks of developing common electronic safety devices for encoding to guard against illegal downloading activities. No matter how technology can help guard against theft, the best way is still to eliminate the desire to steal. Setting out authorized websites where music can be legally downloaded at reasonable prices will, I believe, reduce the temptation of piracy. Record companies must establish new business models that would protect on the one hand the industry's own copyrights but also offer true value to consumers while allowing them to choose and organize their music on computers. A new price structure and a new distribution modality are but a couple of the critical issues facing the music industry today.

I would also call upon members of the information technology sector to stay alert against accepting suspicious patronage, and to report to us any suspected piracy activities on their websites. I appeal to them for their cooperation with us to provide information that would assist us in the investigation of internet piracy and on our request, in closing down websites that are connected with piracy offences. In the cyber world, the internet service providers are the community's watchdog.

We must also expand our vigilance to the regional as well as the international level. I understand that the G8 has been working for some time on a model of cooperation. This is positive indeed, but this will take time and will require a great deal of effort to reach down to the less developed countries narrowing the technology divide. Unfortunately, like all multilateral agreements, the G8 product will likely take on the lowest common denominator which might not be good enough. Moreover, in the real world, it would be unrealistic to assume that we can impose an international penal code tomorrow, while we need to secure today cooperation from our counterparts around the world so that we can trace the criminals and collect the evidence in real time.

Instead of waiting for a satisfactory, supranational solution, I would urge the industry to adopt a regional approach making use of your excellent worldwide sales network to facilitate the investigation and prosecution of internet piracy cases. Without your help, local enforcement agencies with well defined jurisdictions would be constrained in pursuing criminal activities which are committed across borders or in several countries at the same time. Cyber criminals can surf across customs boundaries unobstructed and undetected, hiding behind countless links and leaving no trace. They can easily conceal their evidence in 'data havens' where their acts are not considered to be criminal. They can also arbitrage between administrations exploiting those which are lacking in legislation, resources and expertise to track them down. What we need is a modernized framework for assistance and cooperation, and you, the industry, would be in the best position to spearhead this effort in facilitating the establishment of such a network.

In closing, I wish to reiterate the importance of the mutual cooperation between the copyright industry and Customs. We all realize that fighting piracy in the cyber world will be no easy task, but I urge you to join hands with us in progressing forward to meet these new challenges. In the forefront, our dedicated officers of the Intellectual Property Investigation Bureau are ever ready. To further augment our commitment to fight this battle, the Customs Special Task Force will be extended for another six months until the end of the year 2000 at which time we shall reassess the situation.

We have achieved a great deal so far, but much work still needs to be done. Keep up the vigilance and give us your continuing support so that we can give the pirates their final shove off the gang-plank.

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

于视像音乐流行榜亚洲音乐会议上

2000年6月2日


各位先生/女士:

我少年时在纽约生活。那时我经常留意美国音乐流行榜,正如今天各位当中有不少人留意纳斯达克指 数。像其他年轻人一样,我曾经梦想能够榜上有名,但可惜我一直都没有机会在音乐方面闯出名堂。相反 地,美国音乐流行榜已成为世界各地的潮流指标,涉及业界所有人士,我今天终于能够有机会在某些方面 与流行榜拉上关系,我感到非常高兴。

如能在此畅谈着名的音乐专才和我喜爱的歌手,当然最合我意。但作为香港海关的关长,我不得不选择 与公职身分有关的话题。今天我不希望令大家感到沉闷,但我以下的话题,恐怕比不上谈Marvin Gaye和他 的音乐有趣。不过,我亦希望各位耐心聆听几分钟。

我不打算在这里详细讲述香港执法工作的成绩。尽管那是我乐于与各位分享的话题,为免佔用各位的宝 贵时间,我们已印备一份单张作重点介绍,各位可于散会时取阅。

首先抽出一些数据,并与过去一年比较,突显今年的执法成效。一年前,香港有超过1,000个盗版光碟 零售黑点,每个黑点平均每日运作超过12小时,售卖约5,000只光碟。这表示不论何时,市场上供应的光 碟约有500万只,当中有四分之一是音乐光碟;而这类市场零售黑点至今已减至不足100个,平均每日经营 少于3小时,售卖约1,000只盗版光碟,市场供应共10万只。

大家可以自行理解这些数字,我毋须多言。但无论根据甚么准则,盗版市场大大萎缩,却是有目共睹的 事实。我也看过业界关于香港盗版的资料数字,而我亦知道不宜在这场合辩论谁的计算方法更为准确。我 只想指出一点,若一间公司年内的估计营业额与实际营业额之间的差距,或过往多年来怀疑损失的累积营 业额当作盗版活动的影响,未免将问题过于简化,没有将当前的经济情况、产品质素或执法机构所作的努 力等因素计算在内。与其老是想失去的营业额,倒不如从积极的角度看看我们的努力成果。我相信大家 对这个问题仍有很多不同意见,但我希望在这里一次过阐明我的看法,然后转谈一些更为重要的问题,例 如在这个数码时代我们如何对付盗版活动。

展望未来,我相信各位都会同意,我们面对的最大挑战,是互联网时代所带来的种种发展。你们把互联 网时代说成是音乐界一种「苦乐参半」的经验。毫无疑问,今日数码科技能够将更多音乐在更短时间内传 送给更多听众,但也为盗版活动大开方便之门。互联网世界令资讯科技发展一日千里,但同时也令知识产 权更易受到侵犯。这些都是非常严重的问题,没有既定的解决方法,但我们不能就此放弃科技而倒退到旧 唱片和唱机时代。我们必须面对这些问题,共同承担责任。

为了防患未然,香港海关于去年成立了一支反互联网盗版活动特遣队,对付这方面的不法活动。随互 联网时代来临,海关人员或音乐界并不是天生能够掌握网络科技。不过,在这方面我们定可互相帮助。为 了与时并进,掌握最新科技,我呼籲业界大力协助,因为你们最熟悉业内的最新发展。携手合作,不但能 够加深我们对潮流趋势及领先科技的了解,亦有助我们进行调查及检控工作。

作为执法人员,我们需要时间及资源,掌握所需的技术知识,进而有效执行职务。我们需要加强海关人 员的训练,为他们提供适当的硬件及软件。我们需要改变传统的方法,引进新的工具。只有透过更新改 革,我们才能在新环境中有效执行职务。事实上,经过多个月的准备,本署的反互联网盗版活动特遣队在 业界协助下,侦破了首宗这一类的案件:今年四月,我们逮捕了两名透过网站供应盗版电脑软件的男子, 现正进行检控工作。与此同时,我们继续与业界合作,侦查其他盗版活动。

在上述案件中,我们采用惯常的调查模式,同时充分考虑到保障私隐权及公民自由等社会利益因素。不 过,我们所使用的工具极为先进。从这宗案件中汲取经验,我们知道必须与时并进,不能落后于电脑科技 的迅速发展。我们一定会朝这个方向努力。与此同时,我们现正把取得的新知识传授给更多海关人员,使 所有人员知道新发展对他们的工作有何影响。我们亦正与有关机构分享这些知识经验。

知识产权基本上是一种私人经济权利,有赖其拥有人加以保护。音乐界积极参与,致力保护业界权利, 情况令人鼓舞。业界的未来掌握在各位手中。如果门户大开,让盗版活动之徒有机可乘,出事后才向我们 求助,实在于事无补。我很高兴知悉,国际唱片业协会向未获授权的MP3网站发出警告信之后,这类网站 有很多已停止运作。由此可见,各位的努力并没有白费。

我也很高兴知道,音乐界正加强合作。在技术方面,业界曾商讨发展共同的电子安全编码工具,藉以防 止非法的下载活动。但无论科技如何有效防止盗用版权,最终仍然是要纠正公众使用盗版资料的心态。我 相信,开设合法网站,让公众以合理价格下载音乐,将可遏止购买盗版物品的风气。唱片公司必须建立新 的经营模式,一方面保护业界的知识产权,另一方面让消费者透过电脑选择,取得真正物有所值的音乐产 品。新的价格及分销模式,只是音乐界今天所面对的一些重要问题而已。

我呼籲资讯科技界提高警觉,不要接受可疑的顾客,以及向海关举报任何怀疑进行盗版活动的网站。希 望他们能与海关合作,提供资料,协助我们调查网上盗版活动,以及应我们的要求关闭进行盗版活动的网 站。互联网服务供应商必须扮演网络世界监守者的角色。 此外,我们亦必须在地区及国际层面提高警觉。我知道八国集团已开始研究相互合作的模式。这是积极 的做法,但要收窄与发展较慢国家之间的科技水平差距,尚须付出很多时间和努力。

与其他多边协议一 样,八国集团协议只集中研究解决最基本的问题,未必能够提供全面的解决办法。此外,在现实生活中, 我们不可奢望能立即施行一套国际性罚则,但我们需要立即与世界各国合作,同心协力追查罪犯及收集实 时证据。

与其一直等待跨国性的完善解决办法,倒不如让我在此呼籲业界人士采取地区性的策略,利用你们的全 球广泛销售网络,协助我们调查互联网上盗版活动及提出检控。鑑于本地执法机构有明确的权限分界,因 此若没有你们的协助,在侦查跨境罪行或同时在多个国家进行的犯罪活动时,将会受到种种限制。这样, 网上罪犯便可恣意横行,暗中进行跨境非法活动。他们可轻易地把犯罪证据埋藏在「资讯天堂」内,因为 在那里,他们的行为并非当作刑事罪行。他们亦可利用那些没有法例、资源或专业知识对付网上罪犯的地 区,进行违法活动。因此,我们实须制定现代化的相互协助及合作架构,而你们作为业界的一分子,更应 带头协助建立这样的联系网络。

最后,我再一次重申,版权业与海关相互合作,对打击盗版罪行至为重要。大家都知道,打击网上盗版 罪行绝非易事,但我谨此呼籲各位与我们携手合作,共同应付这种种新挑战。本署的版权及商标调查科人 员已枕戈待旦,全力对付网上盗版活动。为进一步加强我们在这方面的承担,海关特遣队的工作再延长六 个月,直至二OOO年年底,届时我们会再重新评核有关情况。

虽然我们在这方面已经取得不少成果,但我们仍须继续努力。各位必须提高警觉,并继续鼎力支持及协 助我们,只有这样,我们才能把从事盗版活动的不法分子一网打尽。

多谢各位。

返回主要演辞目录

关长主要演辞