Skip to main content

Meeting with Australian Customs in Melbourne, Australia

14 April 2000


Ladies and Gentlemen,

Good morning.

I am delighted to be here this morning. I last visited Australia only in September last year for one of our regular bilateral meetings with your Customs Service. I am back again on this occasion to attend in Canberra the World Customs Organization's Asia Pacific Regional Conference of Heads of Customs Administrations which is kindly hosted by your Government. We have had fruitful discussions this week on a wide range of issues, setting the direction and focus of our work in the region for the next two years.

This breakfast meeting is a real bonus for me, and I am grateful to my colleagues in the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Sydney for organizing this august gathering. I would like to take this opportunity to share with you some of the recent developments in Hong Kong. In particular, I think you would be interested to hear about our economy, in general, how we are doing in the control of strategic commodities and intellectual property piracy, as well as what we have done to clamp down on smuggling of illegal immigrants.

Recent developments in Hong Kong's economy

First, the economy.

The contagion impact of the Asian financial turmoil which brought about Hong Kong's worst economic downturn ever is now history. We have suffered the pains of this economic malady, and our economy has gone through a difficult period of adjustment.
   
The economy of Hong Kong staged an export led recovery in 1999. This was driven by a resurgence of demand in the crisis-strickened Asian economies as well as sustained import absorption in the US and Europe. Positive growth returned in the second quarter of 1999 with a modest increase of 1.1 per cent in GDP growth, and we haven't looked back since. We achieved a 2.9 per cent growth for the year as compared to a 5.1 per cent contraction in 1998, and we are now forecasting a 5 per cent growth in GDP in the year 2000.

We are seeing a rebound of economic opportunities to our part of the world, and we in Hong Kong should stand to benefit from it. My confidence is based on the preparedness and the flexibility of our workers and entrepreneurs as well as the solid fundamentals of our economy. We have totally free trade in a textbook market setting, level playing field for all, a low and simple tax regime, and unfettered flow of information. We also have an accountable, clean and business-friendly civil service, buttressed by the rule of law and an independent judiciary.

On top of that, we have the benefit of geography. We are located in the centre of the Asia Pacific Region, and next to the world's largest and fastest growing market. With the impending accession of China to the World Trade Organization, the likely expansion of its trade links and investment relations with the rest of the world should bring substantial gains to Hong Kong.
   
Control of strategic goods

The relationship between Hong Kong and China is, indeed, deeply entwined. The defining principle of this special relationship, the "One Country, Two Systems" concept, has enabled Hong Kong to take the fullest advantage of its uniqueness and strength.
   
Hong Kong remains a separate Customs territory. We maintain a distinct physical boundary with the Mainland, policed by our own enforcement agencies, employing a set of transparent and well-established laws. Our system is best described as "legally colour blind and politically tone deaf". We would not have it any other way.

The Central People's Government of China is totally supportive of Hong Kong's special status, and has stated clearly that state organs in Hong Kong, including the People's Liberation Army Garrison, must abide by the Basic Law and all Hong Kong laws. So far, all of them have conducted their activities meticulously and in an exemplary manner.

As an active and responsible player in the global economy, my Government is fully committed to operating a law-based, transparent, stringent and internationally accepted system of controls on the trade of strategic commodities. Hong Kong has also maintained an excellent track record in enforcing our laws vigorously and objectively. There have been numerous examples of our success, and our control system has been commended by all the key players of strategic export control regimes, including your own administration.

The excellent system of control in Hong Kong is well recognized. In fact, in the Seventh Report of the Task Force on the Hong Kong Transition presented by US Congressman Doug Bereuter in February this year, it is stated that "Hong Kong has one of the finest systems of export controls in the world and the reversion to Chinese sovereignty appears to have no major impact on the exercise of export controls." It went on to state that "Hong Kong's record of enforcement of its export control regime is good." As to the groundless allegation contained in the highly politically charged Cox Report concerning the transshipment of technology by the PLA, Bereuter reported that "A recent visit to Hong Kong by staff members of the House International Relations Committee found that there is no evidence to suggest that the PLA is smuggling controlled items into China."

We are pleased to receive this clean bill of health, but for our part, we intend to upkeep the effectiveness of our control system, conform to the highest international standards and maintain the sharp transparency that is the key feature of the system.

The fight against IPR infringement

As to our enforcement against intellectual property piracy, I am happy to tell you that the situation in Hong Kong is now fully under control. The extent of piracy in Hong Kong has reduced significantly in the last twelve months. About 90 per cent of the retail outlets selling pirated products in Hong Kong have closed. We will continue to spare no effort in combating piracy in Hong Kong.

We have brought about this level of success with a two pronged enforcement strategy, clamping down on both the supply side and the retail end simultaneously. Our record speaks for itself. In 1999, we seized a total of some 16.5 million pirated CDs and 14 production lines, and arrested some 2,700 persons in our anti-piracy operations. In fact, Doug Bereuter said in his Report that there has been a marked improvement in IPR enforcement in Hong Kong, and he noted that we are now off the Special 301 Watch List. We actually never gave much attention to this unilateral American measure. Our effort to make improvements in our IPR enforcement is to build for ourselves a solid platform for innovation and creativity. 
   
Now that we have broken the back of the illicit business in the piracy of intellectual property in Hong Kong, we have even greater confidence in promoting technological innovation in our economy. My Government has embarked upon a series of new strategic initiatives aimed at deepening and broadening our economic architecture. We are seeking to develop a more sophisticated technological base. We are working to be a leading centre for information technology in the form of the now well-known Cyberport. This facility, which already has the support of leading international IT firms, will house a strategic cluster of major service companies specializing in the development and application of IT in electronic commerce and information services. This facility will provide a huge boost to the businesses in the region. With the new technological infrastructure, Hong Kong is now well placed to face the challenges of the new millennium.

Smuggling of illegal immigrants

As we enter into the new millennium, we face also a new problem of smuggling of illegal immigrants, a problem which, I think, you know well. We have always taken vigorous actions to prevent Hong Kong from being used by human smugglers as a staging point for transit to other countries. Unfortunately, in early January, enforcement authorities in the US and Canada found over a hundred illegal immigrants hidden in cargo containers on board vessels which had transited through Hong Kong. This caught the attention of the media, and we were given all kinds of labels.

Given the geographic location and heavy marine traffic in the Hong Kong waters, vigilant enforcement action to combat the smuggling of illegal immigrants has always been a priority for us. We have adopted an inter-departmental approach to deal with the problem.

The Hong Kong Customs exercises a sound mechanism in checking cargoes to prevent smuggling. We use a "risk assessment" approach in selecting cargoes for examination, and the system has proved to be effective. Together with the Marine Police, we patrol Hong Kong waters to intercept vessels suspected to be involved in smuggling operations. The Hong Kong Police Force also has a special team under the Organized Crime and Triad Bureau to collect intelligence and investigate suspect organizers of human smuggling. In addition, our Immigration Department maintains a Ship Search Unit to conduct searches on ships inside the Hong Kong harbour.

Apart from these enforcement actions, the Hong Kong law enforcement departments enjoy excellent cooperation with our overseas counterparts. We regularly exchange intelligence on these activities through designated local liaison officers and established channels. In fact, the detection of the illegal immigrants in Seattle and Vancouver in early January this year was the result of tip-offs from the Hong Kong Customs.

In response to recent discovery of illegal immigrants travelling by containers and to curb the smugglers from using Hong Kong as a transit base for human smuggling, we sought enhanced cooperation from our trade including major shipping companies and agents, container terminal operators and the major associations.

They recognized immediately the gravity of the issue, and we were able to reach very quickly a consensus to adopt a battery of measures, including shipping companies to report to Customs intended shipments of "soft-top" containers prior to export; shipping companies and container terminal operators to strengthen their security measures and to explore the employment of modern technology to detect illegal immigrants hiding in their containers; shipping companies and container terminal operators to report to Customs through a special hotline any suspicious outbound shipments; shipping companies to check new clients' business particulars before accepting business; and more.

On our part, we have enhanced our examination of outgoing "soft-top" and refrigerated containers and we are using CO2 detectors to assist in our container examination. So far, the results are encouraging. We will keep up our efforts by maintaining close cooperation with relevant local and overseas law enforcement authorities as well as the trade to ensure that Hong Kong will not be used as a transit base for human smuggling.

Conclusion

Ladies and Gentlemen, I hope I have given you an informative snap shot of some of the relevant issues that we are facing. I hope you will agree that Hong Kong is a vibrant modern city that is on the leading edge of business, that is confronting difficult problems heads on and that is building a platform of innovation to launch into the new millennium. And I hope you will come join us on this platform of opportunity in scaling new heights in Hong Kong.

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

在澳洲墨尔本与澳洲海关会面

2000年4月14日


各位先生/女士:

早安。

今天在这里与大家见面,我感到非常高兴。我上一次来澳洲是在去年九月,当时我与贵方海关部门举行 其中一次定期的双边会议。今次我再来澳洲,目的是到坎培拉出席由澳洲政府主办的世界海关组织亚太区 海关当局主管会议。在这个星期,我们就多项议题进行了有建设性的讨论,定下我们未来两年的地区工作 方向和目标。

出席这个早餐会,我实在感到格外高兴。多蒙香港驻悉尼经济贸易办事处的同事为我筹备这次聚会,谨 致谢意。我希望在此与各位谈谈香港近期的发展,我相信你们会特别有兴趣知道香港经济的一般情况、香 港对战略物品的管制、打击侵犯知识产权的工作,以及我们如何杜绝偷运非法入境者的活动。

香港经济的近期发展

先来谈谈香港的经济。

亚洲金融风暴使香港经济进入前所未有的困境,但这已成过去。我们饱受其苦,而香港经济亦经历了一 段艰辛的调整期。

一九九九年,香港经济在出口带动下渐渐复甦。受金融危机打击的亚洲国家的需求重现,加上美国及欧 洲持续吸纳进口货物,都有助香港经济复甦。香港经济在一九九九年第二季出现正增长,本地生产总值微 升1.1%,其后经济增长一直未有减退。一九九九年全年的增长为2.9%,而一九九八年则减缩了5.1%。我 们预测二OOO年的本地生产总值会有5%的增长。

本区再次湧现许多经济机会,相信香港亦能从中获益。我有信心,因为香港的劳动人口及企业家都准备 充足,能够灵活应变,而且香港的经济根基稳固。我们在一个符合规范的市场环境下,推行完全自由贸易 制度、促进公平竞争、实施低税率及简单的税制,而且资讯自由流通;我们的公务员队伍具问责性、廉洁 守正及利便营商,政府奉行法治,而且司法独立。

在地理上,香港亦佔优势,地处亚太区中心,毗邻世界上最大及发展最快的市场。中国可能不久便加入 世界贸易组织,预料将会扩展与其他国家的贸易联系及投资关系,香港当可受惠。

管制战略物品

香港与中国关系密切。这种特别的关系建基于"一国两制"的概念,香港亦据此而得以完全发挥其特质和 实力。

香港仍然是一个单独的关税地区,往返中国内地,必须经过明确的边界。我们有本身的执法机构,按照 一套透明度高及行之有效的既有法例执行职务。我们的制度可以说是在法律上及政治上都"一视同仁",我 们坚守这个原则。

中央人民政府完全支持香港的特别地位,并清楚表明国家的驻港机构,包括解放军,均须遵守基本法及 香港的法例。这些机构一直都谨慎行事,堪作典范。

作为全球经济中一个积极和负责的参与者,香港特区政府全力推行一套以法律为本、具透明度、严谨及 国际接受的战略贸易管制制度。香港一直积极及客观地执行法律,一直记录优异。我们在这方面屡创佳 绩,所有实施战略物品出口管制的主要国家及地区,包括贵国在内,都称许我们的管制制度。

香港的管制制度公认极为有效;事实上,美国国会议员Doug Bereuter于本年二月提交的香港过渡专责 小组第7份报告中指出,"香港拥有世界上其中一个最完善的出口管制制度,而回归中国对所实施的出口管 制看来并无重大影响。"报告亦指"香港执行出口管制制度的纪录良好。"至于充满政治色彩的考克斯报告, 无理指控解放军转运科技,Bereuter在报告中表示"最近到访香港的众议院国际关系委员会人员发现,并无 证据显示解放军偷运受管制物品往中国。"

还我清白,我们固然非常高兴,但我们仍须自勉,矢志维持有效的管制制度,遵行国际最高标准,并维 持整个制度中最重要的特点--透明度。

打击侵犯知识产权活动 在打击侵犯知识产权活动方面,我很高兴告诉大家,香港的侵权情况已完全受到控制。在过去12个月, 香港的盗版活动已大为收歛,约90%的盗版货品零售店舖已结束营业。不过,我们仍会继续全力打击盗版 活动。

我们能够取得这样的成绩,是因为我们采取双管齐下的策略,同时从供应和零售两方面打击盗版活动, 从我们的反盗版行动记录可以看出这一点。在一九九九年,我们检获约1,650万只盗版光碟及14条生产 线,并且在反盗版行动中,拘捕约2,700人。事实上,Doug Bereuter亦在报告中表示,香港在打击侵犯知 识产权活动方面已有显着改善,而他亦知悉香港已从《美国特别301法案》的一般监察名单中除名。我们 其实一直都没有特别留意美国这项单方面的措施。我们致力加强打击侵犯知识产权活动,目的是为本身创 造一个有利于创新发展的环境。

香港的盗版活动既受严重打击,我们推广科技创新的信心自然倍增。香港特区政府已开展一连串新的策 略性措施,旨在深化和扩展香港的经济结构。我们希望发展一个更加先进的科技基础,务求成为一个主要 的资讯科技中心,即现时众所周知的数码港。这项建设已得到国际主要的资讯科技公司支持,专门在电子 贸易及资讯服务方面发展及应用资讯科技的各大公司,将会汇聚于此。这项建设将会大大推动地区内的业 务。有了这个新的科技基础设施,香港定可应付新世纪中的种种挑战。

偷运非法入境者

踏入新世纪,香港亦须面对一个新的问题,这就是偷运非法入境者。我相信大家对这个问题都不会陌 生。我们一直采取严厉的措施,防止本港成为走私人蛇往其他国家的中转站。可惜在一月初,美国及加拿 大执法当局发现超过100名藏匿在船上货柜的非法入境者,而该等船只均是途经香港前往目的地。这引起 了传媒的注意,而香港亦因此而被加上种种标籤。

鑑于香港的地理位置,水路交通频繁,采取严密的执法行动,打击偷运非法入境者的活动,一直是我们 的要务。我们一直与各有关部门合作对付这个问题。 在检查货物以打击走私活动方面,香港海关的机制稳健周全。我们在抽查货物时,采用"风险评估"的手 法,而事实证明这个机制十分有效。香港海关与水警一同在香港水域巡逻,截查怀疑涉及走私活动的船 只。香港警务处辖下的有组织及三合会调查科亦特别设有一队人员,负责收集情报及向涉嫌偷运人蛇的策 划人物进行调查。此外,香港入境事务处辖下亦设有船只搜查小组,在海港内搜查船只。

除以上执法行动外,香港的执法部门亦与海外的执法机关合作无间。我们透过专责的本地联络员及既定 渠道,就这些活动定期交换情报。其实,本年一月初在西雅图及温哥华发现的非法入境者,亦是根据香港 海关提供的情报而缉获。

鑑于最近发现非法入境者利用货柜偷渡,并为防止走私者利用香港作为偷运人蛇的中转站,我们致力加 强与业界的合作,其中包括主要的船务公司及代理、货柜码头经营人及主要的商会。

业界立即明白这个问题非常严重,并迅速与我们达成共识,采取一系列措施,包括船务公司在打算利用 "软顶"货柜出口货物前报知海关、船务公司及货柜码头经营人加强保安措施,以及研究使用先进科技以侦 测藏匿于货柜的非法入境者,并由船务公司及货柜码头经营人透过一条特别热线向海关举报任何可疑的出 口货运,以及船务公司在接生意前查核新顾客的资料等。

我们亦已加强检查运载出口货物的"软顶"货柜及"冻柜",并在检查货柜时使用二氧化碳探测器。我们这 方面的成绩一直令人鼓舞。我们会继续努力不懈,与有关的本地及海外执法机构及业界紧密合作,确保不 法之徒不能利用香港作为走私人蛇的中转站。

总结

各位,刚才我已简介了一些我们现正面对的问题,希望你们会同意,香港是一个充满朝气的先进城市, 商贸活动处于领先地位,勇于面对困难,并正创造有利创新发展的环境,昂然迈进新世纪。希望各位与我 们一起把握机会,百尺竿头,更进一步。

多谢各位。

返回主要演辞目录

关长主要演辞