Skip to main content

Trade Descriptions (Unfair Trade Practices)(Amendment) Ordinance 2012

Q.1What is the C&ED’s enforcement strategy after the enactment of the Amended Trade Descriptions Ordinance?
A.1

C&ED attaches great importance to the protection of consumer interests. In addition to routine patrol and inspections of business premises, undercover operations will also be mounted for the purpose of ascertaining traders’ compliance with the Trade Descriptions Ordinance (Opens a new window) (“TDO”). From time to time, C&ED will review its enforcement strategy and effectively redeploy its enforcement resources against TDO cases of significant public concerns, so as to ensure a level playing field for business. On the educational front, C&ED will conduct educational seminars / briefing sessions to enhance traders’ awareness of the legislative requirements. Besides, any successful prosecutions, accepted undertakings and injunction applied will be uploaded to our website for public scrutiny. By making this relevant information publicly available, it is hoped that consumers will be able to have a better understanding of the prevalent unfair trade practices and be a smart consumer.

Q.2How does C&ED set up its investigation priorities?
A.2

Given the wide range of traders in both goods and services that fall within the scope of the fair trading sections, in prioritizing its enforcement actions, C&ED will adopt a risk-based approach and adhere to the principle of effective use of enforcement resources. Generally speaking, C&ED will accord a higher priority to conduct involving significant public interests or concerns; traders lacking of remorse; repeated offenders; commercial practice that will result in significant monetary or financial detriment on the part of consumers; and conduct that indicates a significant, new or emerging market trend. By setting up investigation priorities, C&ED maximizes the effectiveness of enforcement actions for the protection of the interests of consumers and honest traders.

Trade Descriptions (Amendment) Ordinance 2008

Q.1What types of products are regulated under the amended Trade Descriptions Ordinance, Chapter 362, Laws of Hong Kong?
A.1

On top of the existing regulations governing gold, gold alloy and platinum products, the scope of the amended Trade Descriptions Ordinance, Chapter 362, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) has been extended to regulate diamond, natural Fei Cui and five types of electronic products, namely mobile phone, portable multimedia player, digital camera, digital audio player and digital camcorder.

Q.2According to the Trade Descriptions Ordinance, Chapter 362, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , retailers selling regulated products shall issue to the buyers invoices or receipts containing, among other information, "the full name and address of the retailer". If a retailer belongs to a group company operating under several registered names and addresses such as head office, main and branch shops, which one should be disclosed in the invoice or receipt?
A.2

The invoice or receipt shall contain the full name and address of the shop where the products are sold.

Q.3What is the penalty if a retailer of gold, platinum, diamond, natural fei cui or regulated electronic products fails to retain an invoice or receipt issued by him?
A.3

Penalty for failure to do so may be liable to a fine of $5,000 and imprisonment for one month.

Fei cui or natural fei cui

Q.1In the retail sale of natural fei cui or diamond, if an article comes with a certificate which has already contained the information required by the Trade Descriptions Ordinance, Chapter 362, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , can the retailer omit the information from the invoice or receipt?
A.1

No. The Trade Descriptions (Provision of Information on Natural Fei Cui) Order, Chapter 362M, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) and the Trade Descriptions (Provision of Information on Diamond) Order, Chapter 362N, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) specified that the prescribed information shall be contained in invoices or receipts issued by retailers at the time of supplying natural fei cui or diamond and not by a third party.

Q.2Retailers are used to describing "fei cui" products as "Type A jade". Is there any prohibition to use "Type A jade" to replace "fei cui" under the Trade Descriptions Ordinance, Chapter 362, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) ?
A.2

Only products conforming to the definition of "fei cui" or "natural fei cui" in the Trade Descriptions Ordinance, Chapter 362, Laws of Hong (Opens a new window) can be described as "fei cui" or "natural fei cui". The expression "natural fei cui" means that the fei cui has not undergone any treatment or process which altered its crystalline structure or original colour. The Ordinance has not dealt with the relationship between "jade" and "fei cui".

Gold and gold alloy

Q.1What are the amendments to the standard of fineness and supply of Chuk Kam (足金) under the Trade Descriptions (Marking)(Gold and Gold Alloy) Order, Chapter 362A, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) ?
A.1

The standard of fineness for "Chuk Kam" is raised from 990 to 999 parts by weight of gold in 1000 parts by weight of alloy. A retailer supplying "Chuk Kam" product shall state the weight of the article (if the whole article is "Chuk Kam") in the invoice or receipt issued to the buyer.

Platinum

Q.1What are the amendments made to the existing Trade Descriptions (Definition of Platinum) Regulation, Chapter 362B, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) ?
A.1

The Trade Descriptions (Definition of Platinum) Regulation, Chapter 362B, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) provides that "鉑金" or "白金" is the Chinese rendition for "platinum". An article shall not be described as "platinum" ("白金" or "鉑金") or "platinum alloy" ("白金合金" or "鉑金合金") if its fineness is less than 850 parts of platinum in 1000 parts by weight of alloy. The expression "Chuk Pak Kam" ("足白金" or "足鉑金") in the course of trade means platinum or platinum alloy of fineness by weight of not less than 990 parts in 1000 parts by weight of alloy.

Regulated Electronic products

Q.1Under the Trade Descriptions (Provision of Information on Regulated Electronic Products) Order, Chapter 362O, Laws of Hong Kong retailers shall issue to a buyer an invoice or receipt containing the prescribed information. If the product comes with a manual or warranty card containing the prescribed information, can the retailer omit such information from the invoice or receipt?
A.1

No. The Trade Descriptions (Provision of Information on Regulated Electronic Products) Order, Chapter 362O, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) specifies that the prescribed information shall be contained in invoices or receipts issued by retailers themselves at the time of supplying regulated electronic products and not by a third party.

Q.2Under the Trade Descriptions (Provision of Information on Regulated Electronic Products) Order, Chapter 362O, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , retailers shall issue to a buyer an invoice or receipt containing information regarding service for the inspection, repair or maintenance. If such service is available in more than one place, which one should be stated in the invoice or receipt?
A.2

If a retailer has made a representation to a buyer that such service is available in one of those places, information on that particular place shall be stated in the invoice or receipt. If the retailer has not made any representation to the buyer, having regard to all the information available to the retailer and information on the place that the buyer will be most likely to avail himself of such service, the information of that place shall be stated in the invoice or receipt.

Trade Descriptions

跳至主要内容

《2012年商品說明(不良營商手法)(修訂)條例》

問.1新修訂法例生效之後,海關將採用什麼執法策略?
答.1

海關非常重視保障消費者的權益,除了會到不同商舖進行例行巡查,亦會採用「放蛇」的手法,喬裝成顧客進行視察及偵查,確保商舖遵守法例規定。並會不時檢討最新的執法策略及靈活調配人手,打擊引起社會高度關注而有關《商品說明條例》 (在新視窗開啟) 的案件,維護公平的營商環境。此外,海關亦會舉辦講座/研討會,讓商戶得以加强對《修訂條例》的認識。另外,為了教育消費者,亦會把成功檢控個案/承諾及强制令上載至海關網頁讓消費者查閱。希望消費者透過有關資訊,了解市面上的不良營商手法,做個精明消費者。

問.2海關會怎樣處理調查的優先次序?
答.2

由於受公平營商條文管轄的貨品及服務商户範圍廣泛,海關會以風險為本及有效地運用執法資源的原則,訂立調查的優先次序。一般會優先處理涉及重大公眾利益或受到廣大公眾關注的營商行為;缺乏悔意或故意屢犯的個別行業 / 商戶;營商行為引致消費者蒙受重大金錢或財務上的損失;及該行為顯示出在市場上有顯著的或新興的趨勢。透過處理調查的優先次序,使執法行動發揮最大效力,從而保障消費者及殷實商戶的權益。

《2008年商品說明(修訂)條例》

問.1經修訂的香港法例第362章《商品說明條例》對哪類產品作出規管?
答.1

經修訂的香港法例第362章《商品說明條例》 (在新視窗開啟) 在原先規管黃金、黃金合金及白金產品的基礎上,將鑽石、天然翡翠、以及五類電子產品,即手提電話、便攜式多媒體播放器、數碼相機、數碼音響播放器和數碼攝錄機,也列為受規管產品。

問.2香港法例第362章《商品說明條例》 (在新視窗開啟) 規定售賣受規管產品的零售商須在發票或收據上列明的資料,當中包括「零售商的全名及地址」一項。如零售商是集團成員,有多個商業登記名稱及地址,例如總寫字樓、總店及多間分店,應在發票或收據上填寫那一個名稱及地址?
答.2

發票或收據上只須寫上售賣該產品的店舖的全名及地址。

問.3售賣黃金、白金、鑽石、天然翡翠或受規管電子產品的零售商,如沒有保留所供應產品的發票或收據的文本,罰則如何?
答.3

零售商必須保留有關發票或收據的文本不少於三年(由發出日期起計),供海關人員查驗。違例者一經定罪,可處罰款$5,000及監禁1個月。

翡翠或天然翡翠

問.1零售天然翡翠或鑽石時,若產品已附有證書,載列香港法例第362章《商品說明條例》規定的資料,零售商可否在發票或收據上省去有關資料?
答.1

不可以。香港法例第362M章《商品說明(提供關於天然翡翠的資料)令》 (在新視窗開啟) 香港法例第362N章《商品說明(提供關於鑽石的資料)令》 (在新視窗開啟) 中訂明零售商本身於售出天然翡翠或鑽石時,必須在所發出的發票或收據上列明該等資料,而不是由第三者提供。

問.2零售商一般都用「A玉」來稱呼「翡翠」,香港法例第362章《商品說明條例》有否禁止以「A玉」這名稱來代替「翡翠」?
答.2

只有符合香港法例第362章《商品說明條例》 (在新視窗開啟) 中翡翠或天然翡翠定義的產品,才可稱為「翡翠」或「天然翡翠。「天然翡翠」必須沒有經過任何改變其晶體結構或原色的處理或工序。條例沒有釐定「玉」與「翡翠」的關係。

黃金及黃金合金

問.1香港法例第362A章《商品說明(標記)(黃金及黃金合金)令》對足金的純度標準及銷售作出甚麼修訂?
答.1

香港法例第362A章《商品說明(標記)(黃金及黃金合金)令》 (在新視窗開啟) 將足金的純度標準由990提高至999(按重量計算黃金在1000份合金中所佔的份數)。零售商在供應「足金」製品時,必須在發出的發票或收據上,列明該足金製品的重量。

白金

問.1香港法例第362B章《商品說明(白金的定義)規例》- 對原有規例作出甚麼修訂?
答.1

香港法例第362B章《商品說明(白金的定義)規例》 (在新視窗開啟) 規定「鉑金」及「白金」為「platinum」一字的中文用語。使用這些名稱的「白金」或「鉑金」或「白金合金」或「鉑金合金」製品,當中的白金純度以合金的重量計,不可低於1000等份之850。如果製品在交易中標示為「足白金」或「足鉑金」,則當中的白金純度以合金的重量計,不可低於1000等份之990。

受規管電子產品

問.1香港法例第362O章《商品說明(提供關於受規管電子產品的資料)令》訂明零售商必須在所發出的發票或收據上詳細列出有關產品的資料,若該等訂明資料已載於說明書或保養書上,零售商可否在發票或收據上省去該等資料?
答.1

不可以。香港法例第362O章《商品說明(提供關於受規管電子產品的資料)令》 (在新視窗開啟) 中訂明零售商本身於售出受規管電子產品時,必須在所發出的發票或收據上列明該等資料,而不是由第三者提供。

問.2香港法例第362O章《商品說明(提供關於受規管電子產品的資料)令》 (在新視窗開啟) 規定零售商必須在所發出的發票或收據上,列明產品的售後檢查、維修或保養服務的資料,若提供該等服務的地方多於一個,應填寫哪一個?
答.2

若零售商曾向購買者作出陳述,說明在其中一處地方提供該等服務,所發出的發票或收據上便須載有關於該地方的資料;若零售商沒有向購買者作出任何陳述,在顧及零售商掌握的所有資料,以及購買者最有可能於該地方使用該等服務後,零售商應在發票或收據上記載有關地方的資料。

商品說明