Skip to main content

How to lodge a claim for things seized by Customs under:


Import and Export Ordinance

Under Section 27(1), Import and Export Ordinance, Chapter 60, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , the article, vessel and vehicle seized by Customs and Excise Department are liable to forfeiture. The following FAQs clarify matters relating to claiming of such article, vessel and vehicle by the owner, his authorized agent etc. under Section 27(5) (Opens a new window) of the Ordinance.

Q.1Who is entitled to give a notice of claim for the return of seized article, vehicle and vessel?
A.1

The owner or the authorized agent of the owner of the article, vessel or vehicle or a person who was in possession of the article, vessel or vehicle at the time of seizure, or a person who has a legal or equitable interest in the article, vessel or vehicle, may give a notice in writing to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise claiming that the article, vessel or vehicle is not liable to forfeiture.

Q.2What information should be included in a notice of claim?
A.2

A notice of claim should include a claim that the goods or things seized are not liable to forfeiture and the claimant's full name and address for service in Hong Kong. Where a claimant does not have a permanent address in Hong Kong, he shall nominate a solicitor qualified to practise under the Legal Practitioners Ordinance, Chapter 159, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , by including the name and address of the solicitor, who is authorized to accept service on his behalf in relation to any forfeiture proceedings.

Q.3Is there any time limitation on giving a notice of claim for the return of seized article, vehicle and vessel?
A.3

A notice of claim may within 30 days beginning-

  1. on the date of the seizure; or
  2. where notice of seizure is-
    1. served by delivery to the person to be served, on the date of service;
    2. sent by registered post, 2 days after the date of posting; or
    3. exhibited at the notice boards of the 3rd floor, Customs Headquarters Building, on the first day it is so exhibited,

be given in writing to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise.

Q.4Can the claimant make claim for the return of forfeited article, vehicle and vessel?
A.4

Yes. A claimant may, within 6 weeks after-

  1. the article, vessel or vehicle has been forfeited to the Government by virtue of relevant provisions or has been forfeited to the Government by order of a court; or
  2. the determination of any appeal against an order for forfeiture of the article, vessel or vehicle made by a court,

give notice in writing to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise of his intention to submit to the Chief Executive a petition in respect of the forfeited article, vehicle and vessel. The claimant shall submit a petition to the Chief Executive by lodging it in triplicate with the Chief Secretary for Administration within 30 days of giving such notice.

Back to top


Dutiable Commodities Ordinance

Under Sections 48(1) and 48(2), Dutiable Commodities Ordinance, Chapter 109, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , the goods and things mentioned in Section 15(1)(a), (b), (c) and (d) (Opens a new window) seized by Customs and Excise Department are liable to forfeiture. The following FAQs clarify matters relating to claiming of such goods and things by the owner, his authorized agent etc. under Section 48(6) (Opens a new window) of the Ordinance.

Q.1Who is entitled to give a notice of claim for the return of goods or things seized?
A.1

A person who claims to be the owner of goods or things liable to forfeiture; who is the authorized agent of a person claiming to be the owner of goods or things liable to forfeiture; who is in possession of goods or things at the time of seizure of the goods or things liable to forfeiture; or who claims to have a legal or equitable interest in goods or things liable to forfeiture, may give notice in writing to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise claiming that the goods or things seized are not liable to forfeiture.

Q.2What information should be included in a notice of claim?
A.2

A notice of claim should include a claim that the goods or things seized are not liable to forfeiture and the claimant's full name and address for service in Hong Kong. Where a claimant does not have a permanent address in Hong Kong, the notice of claim to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise shall nominate a solicitor qualified to practise under the Legal Practitioners Ordinance, Chapter 159, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , by including the name and address of the solicitor, who is authorized to accept service on his behalf in relation to any forfeiture proceedings.

Q.3Is there any time limitation on giving a notice of claim for the return of seized goods or things?
A.3

A claimant may, within 30 days beginning-

  1. on the date of the seizure; or
  2. where notice of seizure is-
    1. served by delivery to the person to be served, on the date of service;
    2. sent by registered post, 2 days after the date of posting; or
    3. exhibited at the notice boards of the 3rd floor, Customs Headquarters Building, on the first day it is so exhibited,
give notice in writing to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise claiming that the goods or things are not liable to forfeiture.
Q.4Can the claimant make claim for the return of forfeited goods or things?
A.4

Yes. A claimant may within 6 weeks after-

  1. goods or things have been forfeited to the Government by virtue of relevant provisions; or
  2. the determination of an appeal against an order for forfeiture of goods or things made by a magistrate,
give notice in writing to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise of his intention to submit to the Chief Executive a petition in respect of the forfeited goods or things. The claimant shall submit a petition to the Chief Executive by lodging it in triplicate with the Chief Secretary for Administration within 1 month of giving such notice.

Back to top


Copyright Ordinance

Under Section 131(1), Copyright Ordinance, Chapter 528, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) , the article, vessel, aircraft, vehicle or thing seized or detained by Customs and Excise Department are liable to forfeiture. The following FAQs clarify matters relating to claiming of such article, vessel, aircraft, vehicle or thing by the owner, his representative etc. under Section 131(5) (Opens a new window) of the Ordinance.

Q.1Who is entitled to give a notice of claim for the return of article, vessel, aircraft, vehicle or thing seized or detained?
A.1

If an article, vessel, aircraft, vehicle or thing is liable to forfeiture, the owner or the authorized agent of the owner thereof, or a person who was in possession thereof at the time of seizure or detention, or a person who has a legal or equitable interest in it, may give notice in writing to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise and claim that the article, vessel, aircraft, vehicle or thing is not liable to forfeiture.

Q.2What information should be included in a notice of claim?
A.2

A notice of claim should include the claimant's full name and address for service in Hong Kong and a claim that the article, vessel, aircraft, vehicle or thing is not liable to forfeiture. The claimant may also nominate a solicitor to accept service of the summons or notice of the hearing on his behalf.

Q.3Is there any time limitation on giving a notice of claim for the return of seized goods, vehicle and vessel?
A.3

The claimant may within 30 days beginning-

  1. on the date of the seizure or detention; or
  2. where the notice of claim is-
    1. served by delivery to the person to be served, on the date of service; or
    2. sent by registered post, 2 days after the date of posting; or
    3. exhibited at the notice boards of the 3rd floor, Customs Headquarters Building, on the first day it is so exhibited,
give notice in writing to the Commissioner of Customs and Excise of his full name and address for service in Hong Kong and claim that the article, vessel, aircraft, vehicle or thing is not liable to forfeiture.

Others

跳至主要内容

如何就被海關檢取的物品提出聲請:


進出口條例

根據香港法例第60章《進出口條例》第27(1)條 (在新視窗開啟) ,被海關檢取的物品、船隻或車輛均可予以沒收。下述常見問題對有關物品、船隻或車輛的擁有人、及該擁有人的指定代理人等,根據第27(5)條 (在新視窗開啟) 作出聲稱之事宜,作出澄清。

問.1誰可向海關關長發出書面通知,聲請可予沒收之物品、船隻或車輛不應予以沒收?
答.1

該可予沒收物品、船隻或車輛的擁有人或該擁有人的指定代理人,或在作出檢取時管有該物品、船隻或車輛的人,或對該物品、船隻或車輛享有法律或衡平法上的權益的人可向海關關長發出書面通知,聲請可予沒收之物品、船隻或車輛不應予以沒收。

問.2聲請通知書應包括哪些資料?
答.2

聲請通知書應包括聲請人之全名和用作接收送達文件的香港地址。如聲請人在香港並無永久地址,則通知書須藉包括一位根據香港法例第159章《法律執業者條例》 (在新視窗開啟) 合資格執業的律師的姓名或名稱及地址在內而指定該律師獲授權就任何沒收法律程序代表聲請人接收送達文件。

問.3遞交聲請通知書是否有期限?
答.3

聲請通知書必須由下列日期起計的30天內-

  1. 在檢取當日;或
  2. 如檢取通知書 -
    1. 是以交付方式送達須予送達的人,則在送達當日;
    2. 是以掛號郵遞方式寄送的,則在郵寄當日起2天之後;或
    3. 是展示於海關總部大樓 3 樓的佈告板,則指如此展示該通知書的首日,

向海關關長發出書面通知,聲請該物品、船隻或車輛不應予以沒收,並且述明其全名和用作接收送達文件的香港地址。

問.4聲請人可否要求發還沒收的物品、船隻或車輛?
答.4

可以。聲請人可於下列事情發生之後6星期內-

  1. 在該物品、船隻或車輛已根據相關條例沒收歸政府所有,或已藉法庭的命令沒收歸政府所有之後;或
  2. 在反對法庭命令沒收該物品、船隻或車輛的上訴作出裁定之後,以書面通知海關關長,表明其擬就沒收的物品、船隻或車輛向行政長官呈交呈請書。聲請人須於發出該通知書後30天內藉向政務司司長提交一式三份的呈請書而向行政長官呈交呈請書。

頁首


應課稅品條例

根據香港法例第109章《應課稅品條例》第48(1)及48(2)條 (在新視窗開啟) ,被海關檢取的貨品或於第15(1)(a)、(b)、(c)及(d)條 (在新視窗開啟) 所述的東西均可予以沒收。下述常見問題是澄清有關該貨品或東西的擁有人、及該擁有人授權的代理人等,根據第48(6)條 (在新視窗開啟) 作出聲稱之事宜。

問.1誰可向海關關長發出書面通知,聲請可予沒收之貨品或東西不應予以沒收?
答.1

任何人聲稱為可予沒收的貨品或東西的擁有人;或是聲稱為可予沒收的貨品或東西擁有人的授權代理人;或在可予沒收的貨品或東西被檢取時管有該貨品或東西;或聲稱對可予沒收的貨品或東西有法律上或衡平法上的權益,都可向海關關長發出書面通知,聲稱該等貨品或東西不可予以沒收。

問.2申索通知書應包括哪些資料?
答.2

申索通知書應述明申索人全名及供送達文件的香港地址。如申索人在香港並無永久地址,則須藉將一名根據香港法例第159章《法律執業者條例》 (在新視窗開啟) 合資格執業的律師的姓名及地址包括在內而指定該律師,使其獲授權代表申索人接受關於任何沒收法律程序的文件的送達。

問.3遞交申索通知書是否有期限?
答.3

申索人可由下列日期起計的30天內-

  1. 檢取當日;或
  2. 如檢取通知書-
    1. 以交付方式送達須予送達的人,則為交付當日;
    2. 以掛號郵遞方式寄送,則為郵寄當日後2天;或
    3. 是展示於海關總部大樓 3 樓的佈告板,則指如此展示該通知書的首日,
向海關關長發出書面通知,聲稱該等貨品或東西不可予以沒收。
問.4聲請人可否申索要求交還被沒收的貨品或東西?
答.4

可以。申索人可於-

  1. 貨品或東西根據相關條例沒收歸政府所有後的6星期內;或
  2. 針對裁判官所作出的沒收貨品或東西的命令而提出的上訴獲得裁定後的6星期內,
向海關關長發出書面通知,表明其擬就被沒收的貨品或東西向行政長官呈交呈請書。申索人須於發出該通知後的1個月內,藉向政務司司長提交一式三份的書面呈請而向行政長官提出呈請。

頁首


版權條例

根據香港法例第528章《版權條例》第131(1)條 (在新視窗開啟) ,被海關檢取或扣留的物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西均可予以沒收。下述常見問題是澄清有關該物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西的擁有人或該擁有人授權的代理人,根據第131(5)條 (在新視窗開啟) 作出聲稱之事宜。

問.1誰可向海關關長發出書面通知,就可予沒收之物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西聲請不可沒收?
答.1

如任何物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西可予沒收,則該物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西的擁有人或該擁有人的獲授權代理人,或在作出檢取或扣留時管有該物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西的人,或對該物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西享有法律或衡平法上的權益的人,可向海關關長發出書面通知,聲請該物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西不可沒收。

問.2申索通知書應包括哪些資料?
答.2

申索通知書應述明申索人其全名及接收送達文件的香港地址,並聲請該物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西不可沒收。申索人亦可提名律師就任何沒收法律程序代他接收傳票或聆訊通知書。

問.3遞交申索通知書是否有期限?
答.3

申索人可在自以下日期起計的30天內-

  1. 檢取或扣留當日;或
  2. 如通知書-
    1. 是以交付方式送達須予送達的人的,則指送達當日;或
    2. 是以掛號郵遞方式寄送的,則指郵寄當日後第2天;或
    3. 是展示於海關總部大樓 3 樓的佈告板,則指如此展示該通知書的首日,
向海關關長發出書面通知,聲請該物品、船隻、航空器、車輛或東西不可沒收。

其他事項