Skip to main content

First Asia CyberCrime Summit

25 April 2001


Anti-Piracy Enforcement in Hong Kong

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am delighted to have been invited to attend the First Asia CyberCrime Summit to share with you how we have achieved the current level of success in anti-piracy enforcement in Hong Kong. I shall be covering our experience both in the hard copy world as well as cyberspace.

Retail Piracy Under Control

When I took up my job in March 1999, there were 1,000 or so outlets scattered in some 120 shopping centres around the territory selling pirated discs. Each outlet was carrying over 5,000 discs, mostly musical CDs and VCDs of Chinese and Western films, making the total circulation a stunning five million discs. The outlets were opened for 12 to 15 hours per day. Business was certainly brisk during this golden age of retail piracy.

It was clear to me then that we had to do something drastic. Short of declaring war, we had to send out the strongest possible signal that Customs would no longer tolerate the piracy situation. We mounted the largest ever operation against illegal outlets, taking the pirates by total surprise. We mobilized more than 300 investigators, and we raided 70 outlets each day for an entire week. That really dampened the pirates' enthusiasm for a while.

The result of the operation confirmed our belief that extending adequate resources to cover the entire territory for a sustained period of time is the most appropriate measure in suppressing the rampancy of piracy. Three months later, we formed the Special Task Force comprising 185 officers to do just that. Together with the 285 officers in the Intellectual Property Investigation Bureau, we have probably the largest dedicated enforcement unit of anti-piracy fighters in the world.

Repeated, sustained and vigorous regional enforcement action became the norm of the day. This strategy has proved to be effective as we witnessed a rapid shrinking in copyright piracy in Hong Kong. After two years of hard work, we have now broken the back of the pirates and the situation is firmly under control. A recent survey revealed that the number of shops selling pirated discs has reduced by 90%, dropping to fewer than 100 outlets which now include many itinerant hawkers. The number of pirated discs in circulation was reduced by 98%, falling from five million to fewer than 100,000 discs. Working hours have also dropped to a meagre couple of hours per day.

We still have about 100 outlets operating peripatetically around Hong Kong. They are not the same outlets in the same locations operated by the same people. They are highly mobile, but it seems that the current level of demand has been able to maintain the operation of about 100 outlets even in light of our tight enforcement. We have come to realize that increasing the resources would not produce proportionate results but if we were to loosen our grip, the piracy situation could mushroom again. It is similar to the problem that we face dealing with drugs, prostitution and illegal gambling. These problems have been with us for some time and there is also no sign of complete eradication. I am confident, however, that the unreliability and inferior quality of pirated products, coupled with sustained education of consumers and proper marketing strategy of the copyright owners will ultimately drive the pirates to their doom. Meanwhile we have to be patient, and with our recent decision to make permanent our Special Task Force, we are getting ourselves prepared for the long haul. We will continue until piracy has become history.

Illegal Manufacturing

As for the supply of pirated discs, we have been able to make extinct large scale underground plants using expensive replicating machines. Last year, we raided six underground factories, seizing HK$24 million worth of machinery. As we drive underground production plants out of Hong Kong, we have warned the next ports of call of their arrival so that we could keep a close watch over these rogue operators around the world.

As large scale production has been curtailed, we see illegal suppliers getting smaller in size. The new operators are now using CD writers instead of the large replicating machines. They have thrived because of the availability of inexpensive domestic type CD writers which make illegal copying as simple as a push of the button and because of the minimal technical skill required in setting up these machines. More than 90% of the pirated discs in our retail market now are produced by CD writers, but fortunately, we have been successful also in smashing a number of these small production operations by going in the reversed direction up the supply chain.

Control Of Disc Manufacturing

We have also been able to ensure that licensed factories are not producing any pirated copies by empowering Customs officers to inspect licensed disc manufacturers at any time of the day. In their inspections, they will make sure that a tiny code, unique to the factory where it is produced, is engraved onto each disc before it is allowed to leave the factory. With the identification codes, the source of production can be easily traced. The licensed factories have been kept honest.

In the pursuit of a total piracy free territory, we are now attempting to prevent Hong Kong from turning into a spawning ground for the export of the mother of pirated discs - the stampers. This is also consistent with our international obligation to protect IPR and not to turn a blind eye to activities that are fueling piracy activities in other territories.

We see the need to extend licensing control to stamper factories as we have done for disc manufacturers. We are consulting the stakeholders now and we intend to move forward once this phase of the exercise has been completed.

Legislation

The effectiveness of our enforcement is derived from the strength of our legislative framework which is among the best in the world. Last year, we incorporated copyright offences into the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance (OSCO), adding more power to our arsenal of weapons. Under the new law, a court can impose more severe sentences for crimes committed by persons who are connected with organized criminal activities. OSCO also provides enforcement officers with special investigative powers, including the investigation of financial assets of suspects for the eventual purpose of confiscating the pirate's proceeds.

We have also brought into effect another piece of legislation which has really hogged the limelight in the last few weeks. This law broadens the definition of infringing activities to go beyond the remit of trade and business only. This is a powerful weapon which will help to reduce piracy in the corporate sector.

Internet Piracy

I turn now to the digital pirates who storm the cyberworld with Internet piracy.

Obstacles

I must admit that digital piracy brings serious challenges to law enforcement agencies both in terms of investigation and prosecution of these offences. In the physical world, running a copyright piracy business typically requires installation of expensive manufacturing equipment, renting storage facilities, establishing a distribution chain, including the recruitment of middlemen and retailers, and finding the clients. The number of people involved in the chain of the illegal business provides many crevices for criminal investigation. In contrast, illegal digital distribution of pirated works requires only a modest computer, a telephone line and an Internet account. That means that almost anyone so inclined can become a digital pirate without any significant investment of resources. What is more, the Internet pirate does not work in the open and is often a difficult target for criminal investigation. Besides, distribution at the speed of light makes our investigation a tad more difficult.

Approaches in curbing Internet piracy

Notwithstanding the many difficulties, we have taken on a number of measures in the Hong Kong Customs to deal with the challenges.

Expertise cultivation

We began with the cultivation of technical experts in our own organization. We fully recognize that Customs officers were not born with knowledge of computers and investigating digital copyright piracy requires not only experienced criminal investigators, but also investigators who possess special technical skills. Even though investigation into the criminal mind is technology neutral, enforcement officers must be properly equipped with the latest investigative tools to face the challenges of cybercrime.

Computer Forensic Special Interest Group

Using the lure of technological enhancement, we were able to enlist 75 officers of all ranks voluntarily to form a Computer Forensic Special Interest Group. We arrange seminars, trainings and workshops for these members during their free time to build up their skills and to keep the members posted of the new trends in cybercrime. In their spare time, they help also to monitor illegal websites and feed the information to the Anti-Internet Piracy Team for follow-up investigation.

Computer Analysis and Response Team

Amongst the 75 members of the group, we selected 20 highly technically capable officers and offered them generous but demanding professional courses in institutions of higher learning both here and overseas. They are now fully prepared and are ready to go into the nuts and bolts of cybercrime investigation. These 20 experts have been pooled to form the Computer Analysis and Response Team, rendering field officers with logistic support whenever cases involving digital evidence are detected. They are the cyber-investigators who appear at raided premises packed with interwoven stacks of computer servers, CD writers, modems and networks to help case officers take care of the digital evidence.

Anti-Internet Piracy Team

In parallel with the development of expertise throughout the Department, we have further established a team of professionals whose role is to delve proactively into the cyberworld to deter Internet piracy. The Anti-Internet Piracy Team started work early last year. These officers, who were selected amongst the most experienced investigators in the Intellectual Property Investigation Bureau, quickly took up their new role once they have acquired new investigation skills and tools for the virtual world. They have so far effected seven piracy cases covering different modes of application, resulting in the arrest of 16 persons.

Computer forensic support

To support the processing and prosecution of Internet-related cases, we have established our own Computer Forensic Laboratory. The laboratory, stocked with high-end equipment, is run by specially trained Customs officers from the Office of Information Technology. We have spent a sum of HK$2.6 million so far to procure equipment for the Laboratory. We will be spending another HK$4 million next year to enhance the equipment for the preservation, collection and analysis of computer evidence for future legal proceedings.

Legislation to tackle Internet crime

To ensure that we are prepared to tackle cybercrime properly, my government has undertaken a comprehensive review of the legal environment and the capability of the law enforcement agencies to deal with cybercrime. A dedicated Inter-departmental Working Group on Computer Related Crime has been formed to push forward reforms.

Serious consideration has been given to amending laws to better deal with cybercrime committed in territories outside Hong Kong since the great majority of the not actionable cases fall in this category. We are also beginning to address the role of Internet Service Providers (ISP) in making records available to assist investigations by law enforcement agencies.

Co-operation

Copyright Industry

Intellectual property is essentially a private economic right, the safekeeping of which rests with its owner. The industry has the ultimate responsibility for IPR protection, and setting out authorized websites where copyright products can be legally downloaded at reasonable prices will reduce the temptation of piracy. The industry must seek to establish new business models that would serve to protect on the one hand their intellectual property rights but also offer true value to consumers.

In the area of illegal distribution in cyberspace, it is encouraging that the industry has taken a proactive role as vigilant monitors of their own rights. We understand that IFPI, in conjunction with other rights holders, is embarking on a project to develop state of the art automated search and identification software aimed at vastly increasing the speed of detection and take-down of infringing sites.

IFPI in Hong Kong has also been issuing warning letters to Internet Service Providers to take down illegal MP3 websites. This is an effective measure to close down illegal sites within a short period.

Internet Service Providers

We have also been calling upon the Internet Service Providers to stay alert against any suspected piracy activities on their websites, and they have responded positively. In the piracy cases that we have effected so far, we have received excellent assistance from the ISPs concerned in tracking down the pirates, and if it were not for their assistance, our investigations would not have been so fruitful. The ISPs are the community's watchdogs.

Members of the public

The most crucial link in the anti-piracy drive rests with the public. Piracy cannot be uprooted by mere stringent enforcement alone. Incessant demand by the public will sustain the illicit trade, thereby nullifying the enforcement effort. The long term solution, therefore, rests with education in changing people's mentality, and in raising respect for intellectual property. Our colleagues in the Intellectual Property Department are helping us in organizing publicity and education campaigns, and we are beginning to see the fruits of their labour.

Conclusion

We have seen the golden age of retail piracy in Hong Kong. Many thought a few years ago that it was too big a problem for us to cope with, and we even detected a sense of hopelessness that has at one time threatened the fabric of our society. We have overcome that. We have made considerable headway in protecting intellectual property in Hong Kong. The music industry, the film industry and the software industry are seeing encouraging signs in their business, and they are busily planning to move forward from there.

We are happy with the developments too, but we are not complacent. We are constantly on guard against the erosion of our achievements so far. IPR violations are lucrative and we must continue to exert strong enforcement effort to avoid the rekindling of the piracy situation. At the same time, we are seeking to galvanize community resolve to fight the long battle.

Above all, we want to assure investors that their rights will be properly protected here and they should feel confident investing in Hong Kong. Our immediate goal is to build a platform of innovation where we will continue to thrive in the New Economy of the 21st Century.

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

首屆亞洲電腦罪行高峰會

2001年4月25日


香港如何執行反盜版法例

各位先生、女士﹕

承邀出席首屆亞洲電腦罪行高峰會,與各位談談本港在執行反盜版法例方面如何迭創佳績,本人深感欣 幸。香港海關在打擊硬複本盜版及網上盜版方面累積不少經驗,以下謹向各位一一講述。

零售層面的盜版活動已受遏制

本人於一九九九年三月接任海關關長,當時全港約有1,000間盜版光碟零售店舖,分布於各區約120個商 場,售賣盜版光碟。每間店舖售賣約5,000隻光碟,主要為音樂光碟,以及中西電影的視像光碟﹔市面上 供應的盜版光碟總數約有500萬隻,令人震驚。當時可謂零售盜版活動的黃金歲月,盜版光碟零售店舖每 天營業12至15小時,終日門庭若市,生意興隆。

眼見當時盜版活動猖獗,本人深明必須嚴厲執法,鐵腕對付。除向盜版之徒宣戰外,我們更要發出最強不 過的信息,表明香港海關對於日趨嚴重的盜版活動不再容忍。因此,海關採取規模空前龐大的掃蕩行動, 出其不意,痛擊非法零售盜版光碟的店舖。我們動員超過300名調查人員,在整整一個星期內,每天突擊 掃蕩70間店舖,盜版之徒確實一時聞風喪膽,偃旗息鼓。

這項行動成績斐然,足以證明,調撥足夠的資源,持續在全港各區採取掃蕩行動一段長時期,才是遏止猖 獗盜版活動的絕妙良方,這正是我們的信念。三個月後,本署成立一支特遣隊,由185名海關人員組成, 專責執行掃蕩任務;此外,版權及商標調查科已有285名執法人員,合計起來,我們的反盜版專責執法隊 伍規模很可能是全球最大。

連番出擊,持之而恆,在各區採取嚴厲執法行動,成為當前的常規職務。本港盜版市場已見不斷萎縮,證 明這項策略奏效。經過兩年以來努力不懈,我們已狠狠給予從事盜版勾當之徒致命一擊,有效遏制盜版活 動。根據最近的調查結果,售賣盜版光碟的店舖數目已銳減90%,目前少於100間,當中包括不少流動小 販﹔市面供應的盜版光碟數目,則下跌98%,由500萬隻銳減至10萬隻。店舖的營業時間亦縮短至每天僅 數小時。

目前,本港仍有大約100間售賣盜版光碟的店舖,在各區以流動方式經營,再不是由同一經營者在同一地 點開設同一店舖。這些店舖的流動性甚高,而市面上對於盜版光碟仍有需求,雖然我們嚴厲執法,這近百 間店舖仍可苟存。我們明白,即使再增加資源來打擊盜版活動,亦未必能夠相應取得更佳成效。不過,如 果我們稍為鬆懈,讓盜版者有機可乘,本港的盜版活動又會再度猖獗。正如處理黃、賭、毒問題一樣,我 們未能安寢;這些問題困擾我們多時,而且並無根除的象。

不過,本人相信,由於盜版產品通常品質差劣,毫無保障,加上當局不斷加強消費者的守法意識,版權擁 有人亦妥善運用市場策略,盜版者最終將無立足之地。與此同時,我們必須堅忍不拔。最近,本署決定將 特遣隊改為常設隊伍,準備長期作戰。我們絕不鬆懈,定會繼續嚴打盜版,直至這類非法活動成為歷史陳?

生產非法光碟的活動

為要斷絕盜版光碟的供應,我們曾搗破多間大型地下工場,它們利用昂貴複製機器生產盜版光碟。去年, 我們成功掃蕩6間地下工廠,檢獲總值2,400萬港元的機器。我們除了迫使地下生產工場撤離香港外,更向 它們可能妄圖登陸的地區示警,以便當局早作防範,確保無論這些不法經營者移師何處,都在我們密切監 視之下。

隨著大規模生產盜版光碟的活動減少,非法供應者的規模亦漸見收縮。新近從事盜版勾當之徒,以光碟燒 錄機取代大型複製機器,生產盜版光碟。這些小規模的生產方式得以大行其道,主要因為廉宜的家庭式光 碟燒錄機唾手可得,不法分子只須按鈕,便可進行非法的複製活動﹔而且這些光碟燒錄機安裝簡便,毋須 具備甚高專門技能。目前,零售市場上售賣的盜版光碟,逾九成都由光碟燒錄機製作出來。可幸我們反過 來從光碟的供應脈胳追溯來源,亦已偵破不少這類小規模的生產活動。

管制光碟生產

海關人員亦有權隨時巡查持牌光碟生產廠,以防持牌工廠暗中生產盜版光碟。在巡查期間,海關人員會確 保每隻光碟在出廠前均刻上生產工廠的獨有細小代碼。由於光碟刻有識別代碼,我們可以容易追查光碟的 生產來源﹔亦可防止持牌工廠從事非法勾當。

我們渴望盜版活動絕香港,因此,我們不遺餘力,嚴防香港成為生產盜版母的主要出口地。這亦有助我 們履行國際義務,保護知識產權,並採取有效措施,打擊足以助長其他地區盜版活動的勾當。

我們認為,發牌管制範圍必須擴展,母碟製造工場亦應包括在內,猶如已受監管的光碟製造廠一樣。現階 段,我們正徵詢利益相關各方,這諮詢階段過後,我們便會繼續朝向目標邁進。

立法

香港的法律架構在全球最佳之列,我們的執法行動成效卓著,有賴法制健全。去年,我們已將盜版罪行納 入《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》,令我們打擊這類罪案時如虎添翼。根據新修訂的法例,凡屬有組織犯罪活 動相關的罪案,法庭可對罪犯判處更重刑罰。《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》更賦予執法人員特殊的調查權 力,包括調查疑犯的財產,以便最終充公盜版者從事違法活動所得的利益。

我們亦已正式實施另一項新法例。在過去數星期,新例確實備受關注。這項新法例擴闊侵權行為的定義, 不再局限於為貿易和商業目的,確是強而有力的武器,有助消減企業界的盜版活動。

互聯網盜版

現在,轉過來談談數碼盜版者的問題,這些不法之徒從事網上盜版活動,沖擊電腦互聯網世界。

障礙

不得不承認,在調查及檢控數碼盜版罪行方面,各執法機關備受嚴峻考驗。若在現實世界經營盜版生意, 必須置備昂貴的生產器材、租用貯存設施及建立分銷網絡,包括物色中間人和零售商,還要找尋客路。由 於這門非法生意的網絡牽涉人數眾多,偵查罪案時往往有隙可尋,可以從中找到破案線索。

相反地,以數碼科技方式非法發放盜版作品,只需使用一部簡單的電腦、一條電話線及一個互聯網帳戶。 換言之,幾乎不論何人,只要有意參與這類非法活動,即可從事數碼盜版,毋須動用大量人力物力。再 者,由於互聯網盜版者並非公開行事,調查這類罪案時,往往無從手,而發放之快有如光速,亦令調查 工作倍加困難。

遏制互聯網盜版活動的手法

儘管困難重重,但香港海關已採用多種有效措施,以應付這些來勢洶洶的考驗。

培養專才

我們先以培養本身的技術專才作為起步點。我們深明,海關關員並非天生通曉電腦知識,而調查數碼盜版 案件不能單靠調查人員的查案經驗,調查人員亦須具備特別專門技能。儘管我們毋須利用高科技剖析犯罪 者心理,但執法人員亦須借助先進科技,才可迎戰電腦罪行。

電腦法證興趣小組

以加強科技知識作號召,我們徵得75名來自各個職級的人員,自願組成電腦法證興趣小組。我們為組員安 排各類型的講座、培訓課程及研習班,讓他們得以在工餘提升本身的電腦技術水平及隨時得悉電腦罪行的 最新趨勢。在工餘時,他們亦會協助監察非法網址,以及提供資料給互聯網反盜版隊,以便該隊跟進調 查。

電腦分析及回應小組

在75名組員當中,我們選出20名精於電腦的人員,並安排他們在本地及海外高等教育院校,修讀內容豐富 而艱深的專業課程。現在,他們已作好準備,掌握電腦罪行犯案手法的基本要點,可以應付調查工作。這 20名專才已組編為電腦分析及回應小組。每當偵破任何涉及數碼證據的案件,他們便會為前線執法人員提 供後勤支援。他們是網上調查員,在佈滿大量電腦伺服器、光碟燒錄機、調解器和網絡系統的案發現場 內,協助案件負責人員處理數碼證據。

互聯網反盜版隊

除在整個部門內培訓專才之外,我們更集合一批專業人才,組成互聯網反盜版隊,專責主動深入電腦世界 探索,先發制人,阻嚇不法之徒,防止網上盜版。這隊專業人員去年初投入服務,隊員是從版權及商標調 查科精選的調查員,經驗豐富,一經掌握調查虛擬世界犯罪活動的新技術及方法後,便立即承擔這項新職 務。直至目前為止,他們已偵破七宗電腦盜版案件,拘捕16名涉案人物,罪犯的作案手法各有不同。

電腦法證支援

我們設立本身的電腦法證所,備有各種高效能器材,運作人員來自資訊科技科,都是受過特別訓練的海關 人員,負責為互聯網相關案件提供法證服務,以支援案件處理和檢控工作。電腦法證所至今已動用260萬 港元購置器材,預計於明年再斥資400萬港元提升器材,務求從保存、收集及分析訴訟程序所需電腦證據 時,發揮更高效率。

立法打擊互聯網罪行

為要妥善對付電腦罪行,香港政府已全面檢討法律環境,以及各執法機構應付電腦罪行的能力。另外,我 們已成立電腦罪行跨部門工作小組,推動各項改革。 當局已慎重考慮修訂法例,加強對付在香港境外干犯的電腦罪行,因為大部分無從辦理的案件正屬此類。 我們亦開始重邀請互聯網服務供應商(ISP)提供紀錄,以協助執行機構調查案件。

手撲滅電腦罪行

版權業

知識產權基本上是私有的經濟權利,要保護知識產權,有賴產權擁有者,業界責無旁貸,必須保護知識產 權,並應授權合法網址,容許用戶只要支付合理收費,即可合法下載版權產品,這樣盜版的意欲便會減 低。因此,業界必須建立新的營業模式,既可保障知識產權,亦能為消費者提供物有所值的服務。

在對付網上非法發放版權產品方面,喜見業界已提高警覺,採取主動,積極保障自身的權利。據悉國際唱 片業協會現正聯同其他版權持有人開展一項計劃,發展先進的自動搜索及識別軟件,旨在大大加速偵破及 記下侵犯版權的網址。

另外,國際唱片業協會已在香港陸續發出警告信,勒令互聯網服務供應商記下非法MP3網站。這項措施能 在短期內有效關閉非法網站。

互聯網服務供應商

我們亦已籲請互聯網服務供應商對網站內任何懷疑盜版活動提高警覺,他們已積極回應。在各宗已偵破的 盜版案件中,我們一直得到有關互聯網服務供應商鼎力協助追查盜版者,否則亦無法順利偵查,屢建奇 功。互聯網服務供應商發揮監察作用,維護公眾利益。

公眾

反盜版運動是否成功,關鍵在於公眾能否合作。要根除盜版問題,不能單靠嚴厲執法。如果市場對盜版物 品的需求持續不斷,這些違法行業將會繼續存在,執法行動只會徒勞無功。因此,長遠的解決辦法是教育 公眾,糾正他們愛用盜版複製品的心態,並提倡尊重知識產權。在這方面,香港的知識產權署正全力相 助,該署舉辦的宣傳及教育運動,開始漸見成果。

總結

在香港,盜版活動曾有一段黃金歲月。數年前,不少人認為盜版問題極其嚴重,難以應付。我們甚至察覺 到一種絕望的心態,整個社會的信心亦一度為之動搖。但是,我們已克服困難,在保護知識產權方面,不 斷取得重大進展。音樂業、電影業及電腦軟件業喜見受惠,業績轉佳;業界正在積極籌劃,準備再接再 勵,乘勝追擊。

對於上述種種良好進展,我們深感欣慰,但不自滿,至今我們仍然常加警惕,枕戈待旦,確保不致前功盡 廢。盜版活動獲利甚豐,所以,我們務須不斷採取強有力的執法行動,避免盜版問題死灰復燃。同時,我 們將喚起社會各界的關注,務求萬眾一心,矢志長期與盜版活動作戰。

我們希望令投資者安心在香港投資,相信他們的權益在此得到充分保障,這一點至為重要。我們當前的目 標,是建立創新的沃土,在二十一世紀的新經濟內繼續得享繁榮。

謝謝。

返回主要演辭目錄

關長主要演辭