Skip to main content

Seminar on Intellectual Property (Miscellaneous Amendments) Ordinance 2000

23 November 2000


Ladies and Gentlemen,

I would like to welcome you all to the Seminar on Intellectual Property (Miscellaneous Amendments) Ordinance 2000, jointly organized by the Customs and Excise Department, the Intellectual Property Department and the Business Software Alliance.

The main purpose of this seminar is to explain the provisions of the new legislation and its implications for companies and organizations using pirated software.

I am very pleased to note that piracy activities in Hong Kong have already been kept under control. There are clear signs that such activities at the retail level have already been on the decline. Our achievements in this area are attributable to various factors, a highly important one of which is our sound intellectual property rights protection system.

Over the years, Hong Kong has been engaged in a continual process of amending and updating the legislation on the protection of intellectual property rights so that the relevant legislation can provide us, the law enforcement agencies, with adequate tools for combatting such illegal activities.

Citing an example, in order to prevent the manufacturing of pirated CDs, the Prevention of Copyright Piracy Ordinance was brought into effect in August 1998. Local CD manufacturers are required under this Ordinance to obtain licences from the Customs. Also, the CDs they produce are required to bear the manufacturer's IFPI codes, which will enable Customs officers to trace pirated CDs to their sources.

Earlier this year, we have also listed some acts of piracy and trade mark counterfeiting as offences under the Organised and Serious Crimes Ordinance to make possible heavier penalties and forfeiture of financial proceeds from such illegal activities.

Meanwhile, the recently enacted Intellectual Property (Miscellaneous Amendments) Ordinance not only provides the act of bringing video recording machines into such venues as cinemas without authorization constitutes a criminal offence, but also clarifies the provisions contained in the Copyright Ordinance, stating in explicit terms that it is a criminal offence for any person to use knowingly any infringing copies in the course of his business. This is a comparatively broad definition involving various commercial activities and has wide implications. Colleagues from my Department and the Intellectual Property Department will brief you on the details later in this session.

As the law enforcement agency for protection of intellectual property, we understand that it is impossible to root out the piracy problem solely by means of stringent enforcement of the law. The market demand on pirated and counterfeit goods has been conducive to the revival of these illegal activities, thus undermining the effect of our law enforcement and even dealing a great blow to the economy and reputation of Hong Kong.

Hence, to maintain the good reputation of Hong Kong as a responsible and reliable trading partner, on one hand, we need the support of the public in unanimously refusing to buy or use pirated goods and goods bearing false trade descriptions; on the other hand, we need the active involvement and cooperation of the industrial and business sector all the more. I wish that after attending this seminar, all of you would get the correct message and a more profound understanding of how to implement proper software management practice to meet the requirements of the new legislation.

In this regard, the representatives from the Business Software Alliance will take this opportunity to share their experience with you, and they will be most willing to answer any questions you raise.

Last, I would like to thank you all for taking part in and supporting this seminar which, I believe is a very good opportunity to further enhance the communication between the Government and the industrial and business sector

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

2000年知識產權(雜項修訂)條例講座

2000年11月23日


各位嘉賓 :

歡迎各位出席由香港海關、知識產權署及商業軟件聯盟合辦的<2000年知識產權(雜項修訂)條例>講 座。

是次講座的目的,主要是講解這個新條例的內容,以及根據這新條文,解釋一下使用盜版軟件的公司和 機構,將須承擔的後果。

我很高興盜版活動在香港已經受到控制,在零售層次這類活動已呈現式微的現象。我們在這方面的成效 是有賴不同的因素,而優良的保護知識產權制度是其中一個非常重要的條件。

多年來,香港不斷修訂及更新有關保護知識產權的法例,使有關的法例給我們執法的機關,有足夠的工 具來打擊這些非法的活動。

舉例而言,為了防止製造盜版光碟的活動,<防止盜用版權條例>於1998年8月實施。根據此項條例, 本地光碟製造商須向海關申領牌照。同時,他們所生產的光碟必須標上製造者代碼。此項要求有助海關追 查盜版光碟的源頭。

今年初,我們亦已把若干盜版及偽冒商標行為界定為<有組織及嚴重罪行條例>下的罪行,從而提高罰 則及充公從此等非法活動得來的金錢報酬。

與此同時,剛通過的<2000年知識產權(雜項修訂)條例>除了將未經授權,而攜帶攝錄儀器進入電影院 等場地,列為刑事罪行之外,條例亦澄清了<版權條例>中的條款,清楚列明任何人在業務過程中,如明知 而使用侵犯版權的複製品,即屬犯罪。這是一項比較廣闊的定義,而涉及不同的商業活動,影響範圍不 少。我的同事和知識產權署的同事會在稍後的時間,向各位講解有關的詳情。

作為保護知識產權法例的執法者,我們明瞭單靠嚴厲的執法,是無法使盜版問題根除。市場上對盜版及 偽冒商品的需求,是有利這些非法活動死灰復燃,從而削弱執法的成效,甚至乎打擊香港的經濟及信譽。

故此,要維持香港作為一個負責任及可靠貿易伙伴的美譽,我們一方面需要市民的支持,一起拒絕購買 和使用盜版及偽冒商標的產品。另一方面,我們更加需要工商界的積極參與及合作。我希望在座各位,在 參與講座之後,得到正確的訊息,更深入了解如何能夠實施適當的軟件管理,來符合新法例的要求。

藉著今次的機會,商業軟件聯盟的代表將和大家分享這方面的經驗。他們會樂意解答各位的疑問。

最後,多謝各位參與及支持是次的座談會,我相信這是一個很好的機會,讓政府與工商界進一步加彼 此的溝通。

多謝各位。

返回主要演辭目錄

關長主要演辭