Skip to main content

Seminar hosted by the Hong Kong Association in New York, USA

3 October 2000


Intellectual Property Rights Protection in Hong Kong

Ladies and Gentlemen, 

It is my great pleasure to have the opportunity of sharing with you the latest situation concerning intellectual property rights protection in Hong Kong. I have been listening carefully to the presentations made by the other two speakers. They have raised a number of interesting points. I intend to add a few more based on the Hong Kong experience before we proceed to discussion.


Mission

Customs is the leading law enforcement agency in Hong Kong dealing with intellectual property rights protection, and we are ever conscious of our overbearing responsibility. Curbing the rampant piracy of intellectual property rights has been high on my agenda. It will continue until we have seen the very small backside of the pirate sailing away from Hong Kong. It will continue until Hong Kong has established a solid platform for innovation and creativity, not just in science and technology, but also in the arts and consumer products. It will continue until creators and innovators are confident that their exclusive designs would be cherished and protected here. It will continue until the time when consumers are totally assured that the products they buy in Hong Kong would go with them the guarantee of quality. 

Piracy under Control

I am very happy to tell you right off the bat that the piracy situation in Hong Kong is now fully under control. In fact, this illicit market has been shrinking rapidly under our tightened grip. We have done that with the largest dedicated professional enforcement unit in the world, comprising some 400 strong officers. That underlines our strongest possible commitment in eradicating piracy in Hong Kong. Our success is no fluke. It is the result of endless, tedious and hard work. And we would like to share this experience with you today. 

First I would like to present a couple of statistical snapshots which capture the essence of our success in Hong Kong to highlight the difference we have made in the past year. At the time when I assumed the post of Commissioner of Customs and Excise a year and a half ago, there were over 1,000 retail outlets of pirated CDs, each carrying on average some 5,000 CDs and operating over 12 hours a day. This translates into a market with the availability of some five million CDs at any one time. I am using CD here as a shorthand for all forms of intellectual property stored in the disc format. A snapshot today would reveal a market of fewer than 100 retail outlets, each carrying on average fewer than 1,000 CDs and operating fewer than three hours a day. This translates into a market with the availability of 100,000 pirated CDs. The reduction in CDs in circulation is an astonishing 98%.

I shall leave the interpretation of these figures for you to decipher, but clearly the shrinkage using whatever parameter is substantial. To achieve this, tactically, we have been taking a two pronged enforcement strategy directed at the supply side as well as the retail end of the pirated CD business in our community. 

Production

In a bid to clamp down on the core of the illicit business, priority is given to attacking piracy at the production and wholesale distribution level, which is, in fact, where we have reaped the bulk of our plentiful harvests. With the enactment of the Prevention of Copyright Piracy Ordinance in August 1998, we are well guarded against the manufacturing of pirated CDs in our local factories. CD factories can only operate under licence from Customs, and our officers are authorized to carry out inspections in these premises any time of the day and we have, indeed, carried out most of our inspections during off-business hours. This is an effective way for us to ensure that our licensed factories are not conducting any illicit business under the disguise of legitimate operation.

While ensuring the legitimacy of our licensed factories, our investigation teams concentrate their energy on underground production plants. We have, since September 1998, crushed 16 underground CD factories and seized 24 production lines worth over HK$120 millions. Without a local source, supply of pirated CDs to the Hong Kong market now comes mainly from the nearby area.

Retail

With the establishment of the 185 strong Special Task Force in June last year, we were able to employ repeated enforcement action in the notorious black spots and that strategy has proved its effectiveness. Applying the "Break Even Enforcement Theory", a formula which we devised to calculate the resources required in terms of the number of successful raids to make the pirates' business unprofitable, we have now broken the back of the pirates operating their illicit business in the popular areas. Vendors of pirated CDs have been forced out of their mainstream bases to operate, if at all, underground. 

Some pirates have resorted to very short term leases in vacated premises, and some have been driven to operate as mobile hawkers. Those few that still dare to run their business in shopping centres now only operate at intervals and display a very small selection of pirated CDs to minimize loss. They have further adopted new tactics of operating some sort of self help retail shops without any attendant, providing only a cash box at the entrance for the customers who have selected their items to drop in their money before leaving the premises. Some would take orders with cash paid in advance and send the CDs to customers through the mail. To these pirates, Hong Kong is no longer the haven that it was. 

Courts

Customs is not alone in the battle against piracy. Our courts also consider that the protection of intellectual property rights is critical to the advancement of our society, and they have handed down heavy sentences to underline their resolve. Record sentences reached as high as 39 months of imprisonment and HK$1.04 million of fine. The recent judgement of the Court of Appeal that immediate custodial sentences should be imposed for copyright offence has gone a long way in highlighting our seriousness in the enforcement of our law. As the enforcement Department, Customs is encouraged by the Court's judgement and hopes that this will continue to set a powerful deterrence against prospective offenders.

Legislation

We have done even more on the legislative side to enhance our enforcement as well. We have enacted earlier this year new amendments to the copyright law to make unauthorized recordings in cinemas an offence, and broaden the definition of infringing activities to go beyond the remit of trade and business only. Corporate piracy will be caught under the new provisions, and we are working together with the Business Software Alliance to draw out an education programme for the business sector before the amendment becomes operational. We have also successfully sought to incorporate copyright and counterfeiting offences into the Organized and Serious Crimes Ordinance for the purposes of attracting heavier penalties and forfeiture of the proceeds from such illegal activities. There are a few other more controversial amendments we are actively considering for enactment in the coming legislative sessions to help facilitate our enforcement efforts. 

Industry

We must not, of course, neglect the role played by the industry in the protection of intellectual property rights. Our success relies on the commitment of the industry. While we are the leading enforcement agency for the statutory offences, the primary responsibility for the protection of these rights rests invariably with the rights owners who can take civil action against unauthorized exploitation of their rights. We take our enforcement role seriously, but the owners themselves, must, too, exercise diligence in guarding their rights jealously against abuse and theft.

It is also obligatory for rights owners to render necessary support to our enforcement action. On that, we maintain a close working relationship with the industry. We have been running an Anti-Piracy Reward Scheme funded by the industry. Substantial amounts of reward money have been paid out for information leading to successful seizure and prosecution. The industry, with the exception of a few small firms, has been very supportive in helping us verify the authenticity of the seized CDs and providing the necessary evidential support in criminal prosecutions. 

Amidst our strenuous effort in tackling the problem, I am, however, a bit disappointed to see that some of the copyright associations have withdrawn their establishments from Hong Kong realizing that the piracy situation has been much improved. This is extremely short-sighted. We must join hands to fight this sustained war until the problem is completely eradicated.

Cyber Crimes

In the wake of the rapid technology advancement, I am sure you will agree that the biggest challenge to us ahead is the possibilities posed by the advent of the internet. The digital technology today has made it possible for a much wider range of copyright works, be it music, software or film, to reach a much wider user community in a much shorter period of time than ever before, but it has also provided a convenient avenue for piracy. While the internet world has greatly accelerated the development of information technology, it has also helped facilitate the exploitation of intellectual property rights. These are serious issues that do not come with a ready set of solutions, but it does not mean that we should simply abandon the technology just to avoid piracy. We must confront them with new initiatives and commitments.

In anticipation of the developments in the cyber environment, we set up in Hong Kong an Anti-Internet Piracy Team last year to deal with criminal activities in this area. To help us stay tuned to the latest technology, we have called upon the assistance of the industry, which is much closer to the leading edge of the business. This partnership is crucial not only in helping to raise our awareness of the piracy trend and the availability of the leading technology, but also to facilitate our investigation and prosecution. So far, the team has effected four piracy cases on the internet covering different modalities of application.

It is also gratifying to note that cooperation within the industry is progressing. Technology-wise there have been talks of developing common electronic safety devices for encoding to guard against illegal activities. No matter how technology can help guard against theft, the best way is still to eliminate the desire to steal. Setting out authorized websites where copyright products can be legally downloaded at reasonable prices will, I believe, reduce the temptation of piracy. The industries must seek to establish new business models that would serve to protect on the one hand their intellectual property rights but also offer true value to consumers while allowing them to choose and use copyright products on the computer to a reasonable extent.

I have also called upon the members of the information technology sector to stay alert against accepting suspicious patronage, and to report to us any suspected piracy activities on their websites. I appeal to them for their cooperation with us to provide information that would assist us in the investigation of internet piracy and on our request, close down websites that are connected with piracy offences. In the cyber world, the Internet Service Providers are the community's watchdogs. 

To combat cyber piracy, we must also expand our vigilance to the regional as well as the international level. I understand that the G8 has been working for some time on a model of cooperation. This is positive indeed, but this will take time and will require a great deal of effort to reach down to the less developed countries narrowing the technology divide. Unfortunately, like all multilateral agreements, the G8 product will likely take on the lowest common denominator, which might not be good enough. Moreover, in the real world, it would be unrealistic to assume that we can impose an international penal code tomorrow, while we need to secure today cooperation from our counterparts around the world so that we can trace criminals and collect the evidence in real time. 

Instead of waiting for a satisfactory, supranational solution, I have urged the industry to adopt a regional approach making use of their excellent worldwide sales network to facilitate the investigation and prosecution of internet piracy cases. Cyber criminals can surf across customs boundaries unobstructed and undetected, hiding behind countless links and leaving no trace. They can easily conceal their evidence in "data havens" where their acts are not considered to be criminal. They can also arbitrage between administrations exploiting those, which are lacking in legislation, resources and expertise to track them down. What we need is a modernized framework for assistance and cooperation, and the industry would be in the best position to spearhead their effort in facilitating the establishment of such a network. 

Conclusion

Undeniably, the piracy problem cannot be uprooted by mere stringent enforcement alone. Incessant demand from the public will sustain the illicit trade, thereby nullifying the enforcement effort. The long-term solution, therefore, rests with education in changing people's mentality, and in raising respect for intellectual property. The Intellectual Property Department in Hong Kong is helping us in this regard, and we are hopeful of the success of their publicity and education campaigns targeting the general public.

Having been assured that we are operating in a near pirate-free zone, we now have even greater confidence in promoting the setting up of high-tech platforms for innovation and creativity in Hong Kong. The Cyberport is one idea, which will come to fruition before long. The Science Park is another. We are committed to intellectual property rights protection in Hong Kong. We will take a pro-active strategy and do everything we can to distinguish ourselves as the beacon for the safeguard of intellectual property rights.


Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

紐約香港協會主辦研討會

2000年10月3日


香港如何保護知識產權

各位先生、女士:

承邀出席,與各位談談香港如何保護知識產權的最新情況,本人感到十分高興。剛才已經細心聽過另外 兩位講者的演說,他們兩位都提出了一些值得關注的論點;在我們進行討論之前,我打算根據香港的經 驗,稍作補充。

使命

在保護知識產權方面,海關是香港的主要執法機構,責無旁貸,對這一點,我們向來緊記於心。遏制猖 獗的盜版活動,一直是我極為重視的工作。香港海關將會堅持執法,絕不鬆懈,誓令盜版活動絕跡於香 港,確保不僅在科技的領域,還有文學及消費品方面,香港均能憑藉穩健的機制,成為有志者創新和創作 的沃土,讓他們深信匠心獨運的設計或構思在香港會受重視和保護。我們亦期望有朝一日,在香港購物, 品質必有保證,消費者可以絕對放心。

盜版活動已受遏制

可幸香港的盜版情況已全面受到遏制,這一點,各位想必喜見樂聞。我們擁有全球最大的一支專責執法 隊伍,由四百多位專業精英組成,經過他們加緊打擊,非法盜版的市場不斷迅速收縮。這全賴我們努力不 懈,全力根絕盜版活動所致,並非一時僥倖。以下謹向各位講述我們在這方面的經驗。

首先向各位講述一些統計數字,與過去一年比較,以突顯我們今年打擊盜版活動的成績。一年半前,我 剛接任海關關長,當時香港有盜版光碟零售店舖超過一千間,每間平均每日營業超過十二小時,售賣約五 千隻光碟。換句話說,市面經常有約五百萬隻盜版光碟供應。時至今日,這類零售黑點已減至不足一百 間,平均每日營業少於三小時,售賣盜版光碟不足一千隻,這反映市場供應量只有約十萬隻。短短一年半 間,市面上的盜版光碟數量已大跌百分之九十八。

這些數據,留待各位自行理解。但無論根據甚麼準則,香港的盜版活動大幅減少,卻是有目共睹的事 實。為求達到這個目標,我們雙管齊下,不單在零售層面嚴厲打擊盜版活動,亦針對盜版光碟的供應來 源。

生產層面

為針對這些不法行業的禍害,打擊盜版活動的工作,重掃蕩盜版光碟生產商及批發商。事實上,我們 在這方面迭創佳績,收穫最為豐富。自1998年8月通過《防止盜用版權條例》以來,香港境內製造盜版光 碟的非法活動大為收歛。按照新的規定,所有光碟製造廠均須向海關申領牌照,才可營業,而海關人員亦 有權隨時巡查這類廠房。巡查工作大多安排於下班後,以便有效防止持牌工廠借合法經營之名暗中從事非 法勾當。

我們一方面設法確保持牌工廠確實從事合法生產,另一方面派遣調查隊伍集中對付地下製造光碟工場。 自1998年9月起計,我們已搗破16間地下盜版光碟製造廠,檢獲24條光碟生產線,總值超過1億2千萬港 元。由於境內的盜版光碟供應已遭截斷,香港現時售賣的盜版光碟主要來自鄰近地區。

零售層面

去年6月成立185名成員的特遣隊,海關自此遂有專責隊伍,多次到臭名遠播的黑點大舉掃蕩,這項策略 顯然奏效。此外,我們設計出一條方程式,名為「損益平衡執法理論」,用以計算足以迫使盜版行業無利 可圖的掃蕩行動次數共計所需資源,活用這條方程式後,我們已狠狠給予售賣盜版光碟之徒致命打擊,迫 使他們無法再在銷售熱點經營,唯有離開原來的主要根據地,即使繼續經營,亦須轉往地下。

為了逃避海關的嚴厲掃蕩,從事盜版勾當之徒有些改以短期形式租借空置場所,販賣盜版光碟;另一些 則唯有以流動小販的方式經營。至於仍然明目張膽在購物商場內經營的店鋪,現在亦只是間歇作業,店內 只陳列小量盜版光碟,以免因海關掃蕩而蒙受太大損失。此外,他們還採取新的策略,經營自助性質的零 售店鋪,店內無人看管,顧客選購貨品之後,只需將金錢放入門外的錢箱,便可取走貨品。另一些盜版者 則事先收取款項,然後以郵遞方式將盜版光碟郵寄給顧客。這些盜版者的活動空間已經大減,香港不再是 他們的樂園。

法庭

打擊盜版活動,海關並非孤軍作戰。本港法庭亦同樣認為,保護知識產權,對促進社會進步非常重要, 為表明打擊盜版活動的決心,法庭一向重罰違法之徒,至今最重的判罰是入獄39個月及罰款港幣一百零四 萬元。另外,上訴法庭最近宣判,侵犯版權的罪行應判以即時監禁,大大突顯本港認真執法的決心。作為 執法機構,海關深受法庭的裁判鼓舞,希望嚴刑重罰能夠繼續發揮以儆效尤的作用。

立法

海關在立法方面,亦倍加積,務求加強執法。本年初,我們通過修訂版權法例,將未經授權而在戲院內 錄影列為罪行,又擴闊侵權行為的定義,不再局限於為貿易和商業目的。新規定將會禁制公司盜版;而在 新規定實施前,我們現正聯同香港商業軟件聯盟,為商界草擬一個教育計劃。海關亦已將盜版及冒牌罪行 納入《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》,以便對違法者加重刑罰,並充公他們從這類違法活動所得利益。另外, 我們為求增強執法成效,積極考慮在即將開始的立法會爭取通過具爭議性的其他幾項修訂建議。

業界

當然,業界在保護知識產權方面所擔當的角色,亦不容忽視,海關執法成績斐然,有賴業界支持。作為 對付這類違法活動的主要執法機構,海關自當維護法紀,但版權擁有人亦責無旁貸,必須保障本身的權 益,對侵權者提出民事訴訟。海關部隊緊守崗位,克盡己任,但版權擁有人亦必須自行戮力保護產權,絕 不容忍侵權盜版的行為。

另外,版權擁有人亦有義務為海關的執法行動提供必需的支援。在這方面,海關與業界一向緊密合作。 得到業界贊助,海關推行《打擊盜版獎賞計劃》,向提供資料而導致檢獲盜版物品及成功檢控的人士,頒 發可觀的賞金。除了少數小型公司外,業界素來都積極協助海關,驗證檢獲光碟的真偽,並提供刑事檢控 所需證據。

海關不遺餘力,打擊盜版活動,但一些版權組織明知本港的盜版情況大為收歛,仍然撤離本港,實在極 其短視,本人對此略感失望。在這場持久戰爭中,我們必須同心協力,誓將盜版問題根除。

電腦罪行

科技發展一日千里,相信各位都同意,互聯網出現,將為大家帶來最大的挑戰。現今的數碼科技,大大 增加用戶可接觸的版權產品種類,當中包括音樂、軟件或電影,並大大縮短用戶接觸這些產品所需時間。 不過,這種技術的發展,亦為盜版活動大開方便之門。互聯網世界大大提高了資訊科技的發展,亦同時方 便了侵犯知識產權的不法行為。這些嚴重的問題並沒有既定的解決方法,但這並不等於我們需要因噎廢 食,完全放棄發展科技,以防盜版侵權。相反,我們必須以新的對策全力處理盜版問題。

由於預料網上世界的發展將令不法之徒有機可乘,香港海關去年成立一支反互聯網盜版活動特遣隊,對 付這方面的犯罪活動。為了幫助我們掌握最新科技,我們呼籲業界鼎力協助,因為他們遠較我們熟悉業內 的最新發展。業界與海關這種伙伴關係至為重要,不但能夠加深我們對盜版活動趨勢及先進科技的了解, 亦有助我們進行調查及檢控。特遣隊至今已偵破四宗網上盜版案件,包括不同的應用模式。

知道業界內部現正加強合作,我甚感欣慰。在技術方面,業界曾商討發展共同的電子安全編碼工具,藉 以防止不法活動。但是無論科技如何有助防止盜用版權,最佳辦法依然是消除公眾盜用版權的意欲。我相 信,開設認可網站,讓公眾以合理價格合法下載版權作品,便可減低購買盜版物品的意欲。業界必須嘗試 建立新的經營模式,一方面保護業界的知識產權,另一方面讓消費者在合理的範圍內,透過電腦選擇及使 用物有所值的版權作品。

同時,我也呼籲資訊科技界提高警覺,不要接受可疑的顧客,並於本身網站上發現任何可疑的盜版活動 時向海關舉報。我懇請他們與海關合作,提供資料,協助我們調查網上盜版活動,以及應我們的要求,關 閉進行盜版活動的網站。互聯網服務供應商必須扮演監守網絡世界的角色。

要對付網上盜版罪行,我們亦必須在地區及國際層面提高警覺。我知道八國集團已開始研究合作模式。 這確是積極的做法,但要收窄與發展較慢國家之間的技術水平差距,尚須付出很多時間和努力。可惜,與 其他多邊協議一樣,八國集團的協議相信只會集中研究解決最基本的問題,未必足夠。此外,在現實生活 中,我們不可奢望立即施行一套國際性罰則。我們必須與世界各國合作,同心協力,即時追查罪犯及收集 證據。

與其一直等待各國找到跨國的完善解決辦法,我呼籲業界人士倒不如採取地區性的策略,利用他們的全 球廣泛銷售網絡,協助海關調查互聯網上的盜版活動及提出檢控。網上罪犯可恣意橫行,暗中進行跨境非 法活動,在無數的網絡連結中匿藏,絲毫不留痕。他們把犯罪證據輕易隱藏在「資訊天堂」內,在那 裏,他們的行為並非當作刑事罪行。他們亦可利用沒有法例、資源或專業知識對付網上罪犯的地區,進行 違法活動。我們需要制定與時並進的互助及合作架構,由業界帶頭協助建立這樣的聯繫網絡,最是合適不 過。

總結

無可否認,要根除盜版問題,不能單靠嚴厲執法。如果市場對盜版物品的需求持續不斷,這些違法的行 業將會繼續存在,執法人員只會徒勞無功。因此,長遠的解決辦法是教育公眾,糾正他們使用盜版資料的 心態,及提倡尊重知識產權。在這方面,香港的知識產權署正全力協助,對於他們為公眾舉辦的宣傳及教 育活動,我們寄予厚望。

我們堅信,我們現正在一個盜版活動幾乎絕跡的地區中運作,因此,我們信心倍添,銳意推動發展高科 技,為從事創新及創作的人士提供良好基礎。興建數碼港是其中一項構思,快將落實;另一項構思是建設 科學園。香港海關定必致力保護知識產權。我們將會採取防患未然的策略,竭盡所能,在保護知識產權方 面發揮導航的作用。

多謝各位。

返回主要演辭目錄

關長主要演辭