Skip to main content

Luncheon with the New America Foundation in Washington DC, USA

29 September 2000


Hong Kong - A Separate Customs Territory: A Myth or Reality?

Ladies and Gentlemen

    Good afternoon.

    I am pleased to have the opportunity to speak on a subject which, from the sound of it, seems to fall squarely on my plate. I am even more delighted that this luncheon is co-organized by The New America Foundation, an institution which carries the mission to develop forward looking solutions to overcome existing policy gridlocks. The solutions that have been employed to deal with Hong Kong's reunification with the People's Republic of China is, indeed, forward looking, and it is most fitting that this subject is being discussed here in this forum.

    It has been three years since the Royal Yacht Britannia sailed away from Victoria Harbour in the small hours of the rainy evening on 1 July 1997, and I can tell you, without a doubt, that Hong Kong is operating well as a Special Administrative Region of China according to the blue prints set out in our constitution, the Basic Law.

Basic Law

    The Basic Law of Hong Kong was promulgated by the National People's Congress on 4 April 1990 and put into effect on 1 July 1997. It is stated clearly in the preamble that the socialist system and policies will not be practised in Hong Kong. We will continue with the previous capitalist system, and the way of life will remain for the next 50 years.

    The people of Hong Kong will operationalize the concept of "one country, two systems" under which we will exercise a high degree of autonomy and enjoy independent executive, legislative and judicial powers, including that of final adjudication. In fact, we are able to manage everything for ourselves except for matters concerning foreign affairs and national defence which are the responsibilities of the Central People's Government.

    Under Article 116 of the Basic Law, it is prescribed that "The Hong Kong Special Administrative region shall be a separate customs territory." We will continue to maintain a distinct physical boundary with the Mainland policed by our own enforcement agencies; we will continue to employ a set of well established laws couched in the common law tradition; we will continue to work with our enforcement counterparts in different countries in controlling illicit trade; and we will continue to take part in relevant international organizations such as the World Trade Organization, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation and the World Customs Organization.

Myth and Reality


    From all indications, it is an absolute reality that Hong Kong has continued to operate effectively and efficiently as a separate customs territory. This view is supported by many international opinion formers, including Congressman Doug Bereuter who reported earlier this year that the picture of Hong Kong after reversion to Chinese sovereignty is largely positive and it remains a bastion of free market capitalism. He goes on to say that Hong Kong continues to operate independently in economic decision making.

    Despite these facts, there have still been wild stories flying around in the international media that Hong Kong's economic autonomy has been greatly eroded, that the Beijing Government is interfering in Hong Kong's administration, that Hong Kong is the base of diversion for the People's Liberation Army to smuggle controlled items into China and that Chinese owned firms in Hong Kong escape prosecution for gross criminal acts. These are myths, absolutely ridiculous fabrications, created out of ignorance of the reality and misconception of the actual situation in Hong Kong.

    There is no better reality check than a brief visit to Hong Kong to see for yourselves how we are faring. Like others, who have spent some time with us, you will find in Hong Kong a vibrant society, full of life, full of hope and full of prosperity. I will leave you to make your own judgement but I think you would be interested to know at least from my limited customs perspective how we have managed to maintain Hong Kong's well being. I will briefly set out for you how Customs have played our role in maintaining Hong Kong's status as a separate customs territory in three areas, namely boundary enforcement, control of strategic commodities and participation in international organizations.

Boundary Enforcement

Hong Kong is well known for its free port, but that is often misunderstood. The term does not mean free of control. It simply describes our tariff free position. We have a renowned import/export regulatory regime with good control over passengers and cargoes entering and leaving Hong Kong. We are doing a great deal of work now to facilitate the movement of people and goods, but we will not be doing that at the expense of enforcement. We are employing a risk management approach to make it easy for the flow of all the legitimate trade, and focus instead our resources on the very small proportion of illicit business.

    We are an active and responsible player in the global economy. We will continue to operate a law-based, transparent and stringent control system over all our trade. Our licensing requirement for the controlled items are comprehensive and we follow the highest international standard. All cargoes, mail and parcels, passengers and carriers entering or leaving Hong Kong by air, sea or land routes are subject to Customs inspection and clearance. All companies or individuals, regardless of their background, ownership or affiliation, must abide by our laws and are subject to the same treatment under these laws.

    Our enforcement system is best described as "legally colour blind and politically tone deaf". Customs is a professional law enforcement agency which carries out independently its responsibility, such as interception, inspection, investigation, prosecution and confiscation. To do our job properly we maintain close cooperation with our overseas counterparts and other law enforcement agencies, and I will be taking the opportunity of my visit to reacquaint myself with my friends in the various enforcement agencies here in Washington.

    Given our proximity to the Mainland, a good part of our enforcement effort is geared towards the China trade. We have excellent cooperation from our counterparts across the boundary, and in my short tenure as the head of Hong Kong Customs, we have successfully mounted a large number of covert and overt operations which have netted tremendous results for both administrations. Other than the usual seizures of dangerous drugs, duty not paid cigarettes and counterfeit handbags, we have also seized exotic items such as faked Pokemon cards, terrapins and fossilized dinosaur eggs. 

    At present, we deploy about 3,000 customs officers around the clock at different checkpoints at the land boundary, the airport and at sea. Our officers are supported by a host of hi-tech equipment, such as ion-scanners, x-ray systems and thermal image maritime surveillance systems as well as a team of dedicated canines which specialize in sniffing out different types of narcotics.

    Indeed, we are maintaining a distinctly separate physical boundary which is clearly demarcated and properly managed. We are maintaining a totally separate customs territory run by our own enforcement resources and we are doing all we can to upkeep its integrity and reputation.

Control of Strategic Commodities

Following our reunification with the Mainland, a great deal of attention is focused on the autonomy and integrity of our systems of control, particularly in relation to the control of strategic commodities. The reality is that we continue to operate a world class system of control which has been commended by all the key players of strategic export control regimes, including your own administration.

    The totality of our control system on strategic commodities focuses not just on the entry and exit points, but in fact also on the monitoring of sensitive goods in transit, the disposal of strategic commodities after importation and re-export of goods which are required to be supported by authorization from source countries. Our stringent system, coupled with our diligent boundary enforcement regime, makes Hong Kong the least desirable place for the smuggling of strategic commodities.

    We have a clear policy commitment to maintain vigilant control over trade in strategic commodities. We are conscious that only by maintaining an effective control system, can we continue to gain full access to higher technologies and technological products, particularly the so-called "dual use goods", which are essential to our economic, trade and financial developments. We have strong economic self interests to continue to do so.

    The Central People's Government of China is totally supportive of Hong Kong's special status and has stated clearly that all state organs in Hong Kong, including the People's Liberation Army garrison, must abide by the Basic Law and all Hong Kong laws. They will not be exempted from complying with our legal requirements. And so far, all of them have conducted their activities meticulously and in an exemplary manner.

    There were allegations contained in the report by Congressman Chris Cox last year concerning the transshipment of technology by the People's Liberation Army stationed in Hong Kong. This is totally groundless, and the actual situation has been accurately portrayed in the 7th Report of the US Congressional Task Force on the Hong Kong Transition earlier this year that "A recent visit to Hong Kong by staff members of the House International Relations Committee found that there is no evidence to suggest that the People's Liberation Army is smuggling controlled items into China."

    It is abundantly clear that we have been exercising our responsibility with integrity in this area of heightened sensitivity, and we are working to reinforce further Hong Kong's success as a separate customs territory.

Participation in International Organizations

Hong Kong is a founding member of the World Trade Organization serving under the name of "Hong Kong, China", having been a member of the GATT for some years. This position will not change even with the entry of China into the world body. We will continue to operate as we have always done so, autonomously and in a way that would protect our interest. It is quite possible that we will not be able to agree on every issue given the differences in our economic development, but we will not hesitate to set out these differences and attempt to find a solution which would meet our needs.

    The same applies to the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC). You will recall that China, Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong all joined at the same time in 1993, and we have been operating as individual members ever since. We take part on an equal footing in all the APEC activities from Senior Officials' Meetings to various ministerials, and even the Leaders' Meetings where we are represented by our Chief Executive.

    We are also a member of the World Customs Organization for many years, and this year we have been elected to be the Vice Chairman responsible for the coordination of activities in our region which includes China. This is another good example that we are operating as a separate customs entity, marching to our own beat and taking into consideration our own needs.

Conclusion

The principles of the "one country, two systems" concept has successfully provided Hong Kong with the high degree of autonomy that has enabled the continuation of our status as an independent customs territory. Over the past three years, this concept of has been faithfully implemented across the board. There is no evidence of any interference in our administration. 

    The concept of "one country, two systems" was developed by China, and it is clearly in the fundamental national interest of China to ensure that this concept will be successfully implemented. By preserving and enhancing the separateness of Hong Kong's status, our success can actually contribute towards the continued modernization of China. The strength lies in the diversity of our systems. 

    As the Commissioner of the Hong Kong Customs, I can assure you that we are continuing to operate as an independent customs territory. We will continue to strive to uphold Hong Kong's trading integrity and safeguard the faithful implementation of the "one country, two systems" concept.

    In short, the answer to the question posed by the title of my speech is that the status of Hong Kong as a separate customs territory is a myth that has been turned into reality. 


    Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

美國華盛頓New America Foundation午餐會

2000年9月29日


香港 ─ 單獨關稅地區:神話還是事實?

各位先生、女士:

午安。

今天的講題聽上去正好屬於我所熟悉的範疇,承邀與各位談論這個題目,我感到非常高興。New America Foundation是今次午餐會的主辦者之一,令我更感雀躍,因為New America Foundation所肩負的 使命,是針對現時政策差異所引致的問題,設法找出有遠見的解決良方;會方就香港回歸中國問題所建議 的解決方法,確是高瞻遠矚。而在今次研討會上討論這個題目,實在最為合適。

一九九七年七月一日凌晨時分,隨著大不列顛皇家遊艇在雨中駛離維多利亞港,英國對香港的管治正式 結束。轉眼間,三年已經過去,我可以百分百肯定地告訴各位,香港現正依照我們的憲法 (即基本法) 所述 的藍本,行使作為中國特別行政區所享有的管治權,而且管治得十分成功。

基本法

香港基本法由全國人民代表大會於一九九○年四月四日公布,自一九九七年七月一日起生效。基本法的 序言明確指出,香港不會實行社會主義制度和政策,並會繼續保持原有的資本主義制度和生活方式,五十 年不變。

香港人依法奉行 "一國兩制" 的概念。在這個制度下,我們得享高度自治,並有獨立的行政管理權、立 法權、司法權和終審權。事實上,除了由中央人民政府負責外交和國防外,我們可以自行管理一切事務。

基本法第一百一十六條訂明:"香港特別行政區為單獨的關稅地區"。中國內地與香港仍舊彊界分明,香 港由本身的執法機構自行守衛邊境;香港繼續使用一套建基於普通法傳統並且早已行之有效的法例;我們 繼續與其他各國的執法機關合作,聯手遏止非法的貿易;又繼續參加有關的國際組織,例如世界貿易組織 、亞太區經濟合作組織和世界海關組織。

神話與事實

從種種跡象看來,香港繼續擔當單獨關稅地區的角色,成效顯著,效率極高,這是不爭的事實。這個看 法廣獲對國際輿論有影響力人士支持,當中包括美國國會議員Doug Bereuter,他今年較早時候曾經報告香 港在回歸中國後的情況,認為大致理想,指出香港仍然是自由市場資本主義的堡壘。他更說明,香港在經 濟決策方面仍然獨立自主。

儘管以上種種都是事實,但是國際傳媒仍然流傳著一些荒誕無稽的傳聞,例如香港的經濟自主權已經大 為削弱,北京政府干預香港內政,或香港已成為中國解放軍偷運受管制物品往中國的中轉站;又或香港的 中資公司即使觸犯嚴重的刑事罪行,亦會免受檢控等等。這些傳聞是徹頭徹尾憑空杜撰的荒誕謠言,全因 對香港實況缺乏認識和存有誤解所致。

要查察真相,最好的方法莫如到香港一遊,親自見證我們的情況。像一些曾經在港稍事勾留的其他人士 一樣,你們會發覺香港生機勃勃,充滿活力和希望,並且繁榮昌盛。我留待各位自行判斷,不過我認為, 各位會有興趣起碼從我們海關的角度,了解香港如何得以保持安定繁榮,雖然未窺全豹,但仍可見一斑。 我會向各位簡述,海關如何致力保持香港作為單獨關稅地區的地位,包括三個範疇,分別是邊境執法、管 制戰略物品和參與國際組織。

邊境執法

香港素以自由港聞名遐邇,但自由港一詞常遭曲解。自由港並非意指全無管制,只是表明香港不設關 稅。我們以優良的出入境管理制度見稱,對客貨進出香港管制得宜,而且一直不遺餘力,務求利便客貨流 通,但絕不因而犧牲執法。我們採取風險管理手法,集中打擊一小撮不法商人,而讓所有合法的貿易往還 仍舊暢通無阻。

在世界經濟體系中,我們既積極參與,亦克盡己任。我們會秉承優良的傳統,繼續以法理為依歸,開誠 布公,對本港的貿易一律嚴加管制。對受管制物品,我們依據國際認可的最高標準,採取全面的牌照管 制。不論以海、陸、空途徑進出香港,一切貨物、郵件、包裹、旅客和貨物遞送人員,均須接受海關檢查 和清關。任何個人或公司,不論有任何背景或聯繫又或屬於任何人士,均須遵守香港的法例,而且法律之 前人人平等。

我們的執法制度以「一視同仁」來形容最為貼切。香港海關是專業執法機構,執行阻截、檢查、調查、 檢控和充公等職責時都獨立自主,秉公辦理。為加強工作成效,我們與外地海關組織和其他執法機構均保 持緊密合作。華盛頓此行,正好讓我跟此地執法機構的朋友重聚,再次相互交流。

中國內地與香港只有一線之隔,所以我們亦調配相當的人手處理與中港貿易有關的執法工作。在我任內 的短短期間,內地海關與我們通力合作,展開連串秘密或公開的行動,為雙方取得豐碩的成果。除了時有 檢獲毒品、未完稅香煙和冒牌手袋外,我們也曾檢獲另類的特異物品,如「比卡超」膺咭、水龜和恐龍蛋 化石。

現時,我們派遣三千名海關人員,日以繼夜在各海、陸、空邊境控制站當值,全部配備大量先進科技儀 器,如離子毒品探測器、X-光系統和熱能顯象感應海上監測系統。我們亦有一隊嗅覺敏銳的緝毒犬,擅長 查察各類毒品。

我們一直與內地保持彊界分明,各自妥善管理。海關一直完全保持單獨關稅地區的地位,以本身的資源 執行海關法例,並且竭盡所能,維持誠信和聲譽。

管制戰略物品

回歸中國以後,香港的管制制度是否仍然運作自主、穩健可靠,備受關注,尤其是戰略物品管制制度。 事實上,我們繼續推行世界一流的管制制度,所有實施戰略物品出口管制的主要國家及地區,包括貴國在 內,均大為稱許。

我們的戰略物品管制制度,不單在出入境管制站實行,其實亦用於監察性質敏感的過境貨物;至於已輸 入的戰略物品和附有來源國授權證明的轉運貨物如何處理,亦在管制之列。

本港制度嚴謹,加上邊境執法 人員努力不懈,要經香港走私戰略物品,絕不容易。 本港的政策清楚表明嚴格管制戰略物品貿易的決心。我們深知,只有維持有效的管制制度,才可繼續全 面引進更先進的科技及科技產品,尤其是所謂 "(軍民)兩用貨品" 。這些貨品對我們的經濟、貿易及金融發 展至為重要,不可缺少。要維護本身的重大經濟利益,我們必須繼續這樣做。

中國中央政府全力支持香港維持特別地位,並清楚表明,國家所有駐港機構,包括解放軍駐港部隊,均 須遵守基本法及所有香港法例。這些機構不會獲得豁免遵守本港的法律規定。它們全都一直謹慎行事,堪 作典範。

去年,美國國會議員Chris Cox在其報告中指稱駐港解放軍轉運科技產品,實在全無根據。本年較早時候 提交的美國國會香港過渡專責小組第7份報告才是反映實際情況,其中指出 "最近到訪香港的眾議院國際關 係委員會人員發現,並無證據顯示解放軍偷運受管制物品往中國" 。

對於這個越加敏感的範疇,我們一直誠信不欺,克盡厥職,有目共睹。我們悉力以赴,務求百尺竿頭, 更進一步,鞏固香港作為單獨關稅地區的地位。

參與國際組織

多年以來,香港都是關稅及貿易總協定的會員,更以 "中國香港" 的名義,成為世界貿易組織的創始成 員。即使中國加入這個世界組織,香港的地位也不會改變。我們會秉承一貫的做法,繼續自主運作,並保 障本身的利益。或許,鑑於經濟發展的差異,我們不可能事事達到共識。但我們會設法求同全異,兩全其 美。

亞太區經濟合作組織 (亞太經合組織) 的情況也是一樣。相信各位還會記得,中國、中國台北及香港均 於1993年同時加入亞太經合組織,自此一直各自以獨立會員身分行事,以平等地位參與亞太經合組織的所 有活動。從高級官員會議至各類部長級會議,我們也有出席,香港的行政長官還代表香港出席首腦會議。

我們多年來都是世界海關組織的會員,今年更當選亞太區副主席,負責統籌本區的活動,包括中國在 內。這正好是另一個極佳例證,顯示我們是單獨的海關實體,因應本身的需要,按照本身的情況運作。

總結

根據 "一國兩制" 的概念,香港得享高度自治,亦可維持關稅獨立地區的地位。過往三年,這概念已全 面貫徹推行。沒有證據顯示香港的內政受到干預。

"一國兩制" 概念是中國的構思。確保這個概念成功落實,顯然符合中國的基本利益。只要維持和加強香 港的單獨自主地位,香港得享安定繁榮,定能為中國持續推行的現代化建設作出貢獻,雙方制度不同,而 可相輔相成,正有這個好處。

身為香港海關關長,我可向各位保證,本港定必繼續以關稅獨立地區身分行事,並繼續不遺餘力,維持 本港的貿易信譽,並確保 "一國兩制" 的概念貫徹實行。

對於我在講題所帶出的問題,答案就是香港作為單獨關稅地區這個神話已成事實。

謝謝。

返回主要演辭目錄

關長主要演辭