Skip to main content

Meeting with French Customs in Paris, France

12 July 2000


Ladies and Gentlemen,


It is always a delight for me to be in Paris. My only regret is that I do not have more time on this occasion to soak up the sights and sounds of your beautiful city. I will have to make another trip soon without any official obligation.

The Hong Kong Customs and the French Customs have a long history of cooperation culminating in the signing of a cooperative arrangement in July 1996. The cooperative arrangement aims at improving enforcement capability through the exchange of information for the prevention, detection, investigation and repression of Customs offences. As a result of cooperation, notable achievements were made in the seizure of fake French brand named goods and counterfeit cigarettes. We aim to build on our successes so far and take full advantage of our detente.

Today I would like to share with you some of the recent developments in Hong Kong. In particular, I think you would be interested to hear about the state of our economy, how we are doing in protecting intellectual property rights, especially your prestigious brands, as well as what we have done to clamp down on the smuggling of illegal immigrants.

The Economy

First, the economy. I am pleased to inform you that, after a difficult period of economic adjustment, the recovery in Asia is gradually gathering momentum. Hong Kong will be amongst the first batch to benefit from the rebound, and the stage has been set for stunning economic gains in the year 2000. In the first quarter, Hong Kong registered a spectacular GDP growth of 14.3% and an overall growth rate of 6% is projected for the full year. As a result of this economic optimism, bilateral trade between France and Hong Kong in the first quarter of 2000 also saw a rise of 7.5 % over the same period last year. This has reversed the trend which marked a decrease in trade at an annual average rate of 5% between 1995 and 1999.


The quick recovery of Hong Kong has much to do with the solid fundamentals of our economy. We have totally free trade in a textbook market setting, level playing field for all, a low and simple tax regime, and unfettered flow of information. We also have an accountable, clean and business-friendly civil service, buttressed by the rule of law and an independent judiciary.

The pains of the economic malady are now history. The Hong Kong business sector is now busily diversifying into the new economy as demonstrated by the massive rush recently of dot coms setting up in Hong Kong. One of the most significant developments in reshaping our economy in the new century would be the power of innovation and technology, and high profile projects, such as the Cyberport, will certainly add fuel to our future economic growth.

We are also expecting a boom of business opportunities with China's imminent accession to the World Trade Organization. The likely expansion of China's trade links and investment relations with the rest of the world would no doubt bring substantial economic gains to Hong Kong. All these recent developments suggest clearly that our economy is getting ready to take the next quantum jump.

Intellectual Property Rights Protection

Moving onto the next subject, intellectual property infringement has once attracted considerable international attention, and this is perceived to be an important domestic issue and a constant irritant with our major trading partners. As the leading law enforcement agency in Hong Kong in intellectual property rights protection, we have since dedicated a large amount of resources to the fight against counterfeiting.

With the help of the trademark industry, we have been successful in our fight against counterfeiters. In the first half of this year, we have seized over 350,000 pieces of counterfeit items worth tens of millions of dollars, and we have arrested over 200 persons. Of these cases, we have seized a total of 25,000 pieces of counterfeits of popular French brand named products worth over millions of dollars.


For the protection of trademark, our law provides for criminal sanctions against counterfeiting activities. Possession of counterfeiting products for business purpose incurs a maximum penalty of a fine of HK$500,000 and imprisonment for five years.

You will be pleased to learn that the Court of Appeal in Hong Kong has recently handed down an immediate custodial sentence of six months for a merchant of counterfeit goods, replacing the original punishment of a suspended sentence. This is the first time the Court of Appeal has imposed such a heavy jail sentence on a counterfeiting offence. Customs is encouraged by the Court's decision, and hopes that this case will set a strong precedent and powerful deterrence against prospective offenders. We welcome penalties which are relevant to and in line with the damages done to the trademark industry, as well as the reputation of Hong Kong.

We are very serious about our obligation, and our success against copyright piracy in the past year speaks clearly of our whole-hearted commitment. A year ago, there were over 1,000 retail outlets of pirated compact discs (CDs), each carrying an average of 5,000 CDs and operating over 12 hours a day. This translates into a market circulation of some five million CDs at the retail level at any one time. With our vigorous enforcement, the retail piracy market is now reduced to fewer than 100 shop outlets, each carrying fewer than 1,000 CDs and operating fewer than three hours each day. The total market circulation has reduced drastically to some 100,000 pirated CDs. The reduction rate is a stunning 98%. The extent of piracy in Hong Kong is now well under control, and our effort has been recognized by prominent intellectual property related trade associations, such as the MPA, the IFPI and the BSA.

Smuggling of Illegal Immigrants

As we enter into the new millennium, we face also a new problem of smuggling of illegal immigrants, a problem which has featured in bold headlines in the past month. This is a large international issue, and for our part, we have always taken vigorous actions to prevent Hong Kong from being used by human smugglers as a staging point for transit to other countries.


Given the geographic location and heavy marine traffic in the Hong Kong waters, vigilant enforcement action to combat the smuggling of illegal immigrants has always been a priority for us. We have adopted an inter-departmental approach to deal with the problem.

The Hong Kong Customs exercises a sound mechanism in checking cargoes to prevent smuggling. We use a risk assessment approach in selecting cargoes for examination, and the system has proved to be effective. Together with the Marine Police, we patrol the Hong Kong waters to intercept vessels suspected to be involved in smuggling operations. The Hong Kong Police Force also has a special team under the Organized Crime and Triad Bureau to collect intelligence and investigate suspect organizers of human smuggling. In addition, our Immigration Department maintains a Ship Search Unit to conduct searches on ships inside the Hong Kong harbour.

Apart from these enforcement actions, the Hong Kong law enforcement departments enjoy excellent cooperation with our overseas counterparts. We regularly exchange intelligence on these activities through designated local liaison officers and established channels. In fact, the detection of the illegal immigrants in Seattle and Vancouver in early January this year was the result of tip-offs from the Hong Kong Customs.

In response to recent discovery early this year of illegal immigrants travelling by containers and to curb the smugglers from using Hong Kong as a transit base for their human cargoes, we sought enhanced cooperation from our trade, including major shipping companies and agents, container terminal operators and the major trade associations.

The trade recognized immediately the gravity of the issue, and we were able to reach very quickly with them a consensus to adopt a battery of measures, including shipping companies to report to Customs prior to export intended shipments of soft-top and refrigerated containers; shipping companies and container terminal operators to strengthen their security measures and to explore the employment of modern technology to detect illegal immigrants hiding in their containers; shipping companies and container terminal operators to report to Customs through a special hotline any suspicious outbound shipments; shipping companies to check new clients' business particulars before accepting business; and more.

On our part, we have enhanced our examination of outgoing soft-top and refrigerated containers, and we are using carbon dioxide detectors to assist in our container examination. So far, the results are encouraging. We have not received any further report of human smuggling on vessels departing from Hong Kong. In the first five months of this year, we have arrested 106 would-be-illegal immigrants in our routine searches and foiled possibly many more in our enhanced enforcement. We will keep up our efforts by maintaining close cooperation with relevant local and overseas law enforcement authorities as well as the trade to ensure that Hong Kong will not be used as a transit base for human smuggling. Hopefully, our contribution will help to eradicate this obnoxious and immoral business worldwide.

Conclusion

Ladies and Gentlemen, I hope I have given you an informative snap shot of some of the relevant issues that we are facing. I hope you will agree that Hong Kong is a vibrant modern city that is on the leading edge of business, that is confronting difficult problems heads on and that is building a platform of innovation to launch into the new millennium. And I hope you will come join us on this platform of opportunity in scaling new economic heights in Hong Kong.

Thank you.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

在法國巴黎與法國海關會面

2000年7月12日


各位先生/女士:

每次來到巴黎,我都雀躍非常,可惜這次不能多留一點時間,悠然欣賞這個美麗都市的風土人情,稍 後我得盡快放下公務,再來這裏觀光遊覽。

長期以來,法國海關和香港海關合作無間,更於一九九六年七月簽署合作協定,旨在透過交換情報, 防止、偵查、調查和打擊違反海關法例的罪行,從而提高執法能力。有賴雙方合作,緝查冒牌法國貨品和 香煙的工作取得顯著成績,我們希望可以更上一層樓,進一步發揮友好合作的威力。

我希望在此與各位談談香港近期的發展,相信你們會特別有興趣知道香港的經濟情況、我們如何保護 知識產權(特別是法國的名牌貨品),以及我們遏止偷運非法入境者活動的工作。

香港的經濟

首先談談香港的經濟情況。亞洲經濟經過一段艱辛的調整期後,正逐漸凝聚力量,穩步復甦。經濟反 彈,香港必將先蒙其利,在二OOO年,經濟已見大幅增長。今年首季,本地生產總值顯著上升14.3%, 而全年的整體增長率預計達6%。不少預測者均表示我們所作的預計偏於保守,但我認為,由於香港的經 濟由外貿帶動,在這方面採取保守的態度,亦有其可取之處。而當有更多資料數據時,我們會因應需要予 以修訂。經濟前景樂觀,今年首季法國與香港的雙邊貿易,比較去年同期上升7.5%。在一九九五至一九九 九年期間,貿易額每年平均下降5%,現時這個趨勢已經扭轉過來。

香港經濟迅速復甦,主要有賴經濟根基穩固。我們在一個符合規範的市場環境下,推行完全自由貿易 制度、促進公平競爭、實施低稅率及簡單的稅制,而且資訊自由流通;我們擁有一支具問責性、廉潔守正 及利便營商的公務員隊伍,政府奉行法治,而且司法獨立。

經濟下調所帶來的苦楚已成過去。香港商界正忙於拓展多元化的業務,以配合新的經濟模式,最近多 間網絡公司相繼成立,便是明證。跨進新世紀後,創新科技將是其中最重要的動力,以帶動香港經濟轉 型,而數碼港等大型計劃定必有助推動我們未來的經濟發展。

中國不久便會加入世界貿易組織,預期將為我們創造大量商機。隨中國擴展與其他國家的貿易聯繫 和投資關係,香港經濟亦將受惠。從以上種種可見,香港經濟已經作好準備,可以乘時飛躍。

保護知識產權

接轉談侵犯知識產權的問題。這個問題備受國際關注,而且被視為是一個重要的內部問題,更經常 導致我們的主要貿易夥伴提出申訴。作為香港保護知識產權的主要執法機構,我們旨在盡快根除這類侵權 活動,為確保能達致這個目標,我們已調撥大量資源,打擊冒牌活動。

在業界大力協助下,我們在打擊冒牌活動方面取得佳績。今年上半年,我們檢獲了超過35萬件共值數 千萬元的冒牌貨品,並逮捕了200多人。在檢獲的物品中,有25,000件是偽冒的法國名牌貨品,共值數百 萬元。

在保護商標方面,香港法例訂明可就冒牌活動施加刑事制裁。任何人凡管有冒牌貨品作商業用途,一 經定罪,最高可判處罰款50萬元及監禁5年。

香港上訴法庭最近將一名原判緩刑的冒牌貨品商人改判即時入獄6個月。這是上訴法庭首次重判從事 冒牌活動的不法份子入獄。香港海關對法庭的判決感到鼓舞,希望這案例能夠對企圖從事這類不法活動的 人士起阻嚇作用。我們絕對贊成根據此類活動對業界及香港聲譽所造成的損害而作出判罰。

我們克盡己任,悉力以赴,於過去一年大力打擊盜版侵權活動,成績有目共睹。一年前,香港有超過 1,000個販賣盜版光碟的零售點,每個零售點平均每日經營12小時,售賣5,000隻光碟。這表示不論何時, 市場上供應的光碟約有500萬隻。然而,經過我們大力打擊,這類市場零售點至今已減至不足100個,每日 經營不足3小時,售賣的光碟不足1,000隻。盜版光碟市場的總流通量已銳減至約10萬隻,減幅為98%。現 時香港的盜版問題已受控制,各主要的知識產權協會,例如美國電影協會、國際唱片業協會及商業軟件聯 盟,對我們的工作均予表揚。

偷運非法入境者

邁進新世紀,香港亦須面對一個新的問題,這就是偷運非法入境者。這個國際性的大問題,上月更成 為傳媒的頭條新聞。一直以來,我們都採取強有力的措施,防止不法份子利用香港作為偷運非法入境者往 其他國家的中轉站。

鑑於香港的地理位置,兼且水路交通頻繁,採取嚴密的執法行動,打擊偷運非法入境者的活動,一直 是我們的要務。我們一直與各有關部門合力對付這個問題。

在檢查貨物以打擊走私活動方面,香港海關的機制穩健周全。我們在抽查貨物時,採用“風險評估”的 手法,事實證明這個機制十分有效。香港海關與水警一同在香港水域巡邏,截查懷疑涉及走私活動的船 隻。香港警務處轄下的有組織及三合會調查科亦特別設有一隊人員,負責收集情報及向涉嫌偷運人蛇的策 劃人物進行調查。此外,香港入境事務處轄下亦設有船隻搜查小組,在海港內搜查船隻。

除以上執法行動外,香港的執法部門亦與海外的執法機關合作無間。我們透過專責的本地聯絡員及既 定渠道,就這些活動定期交換情報。其實,本年一月初在西雅圖及溫哥華發現的非法入境者,亦是根據香 港海關提供的情報而緝獲。

鑑於年初發現非法入境者利用貨櫃偷渡,並為防止走私者利用香港作為偷運人蛇的中轉站,我們致力 加強與業界合作,其中包括主要的船務公司及代理、貨櫃碼頭經營人及主要的商會。

業界立即明白這個問題非常嚴重,並迅速與我們達成共識,採取一系列措施,包括船務公司在打算利 用“軟頂”貨櫃及“凍櫃”出口貨物前報知海關、船務公司及貨櫃碼頭經營人加強保安措施,以及研究使用先進 科技以偵測藏匿於貨櫃的非法入境者,並由船務公司及貨櫃碼頭經營人透過一條特別熱線向海關舉報任何 可疑的出口貨運,以及船務公司在接辦生意前查核新顧客的資料等。

我們亦已加強檢查運載出口貨物的“軟頂”貨櫃及“凍櫃”,並在檢查貨櫃時使用二氧化碳探測器,這方 面的成績一直令人鼓舞,並未有進一步收到有關離港船隻偷運人蛇的報告。在本年首五個月內,我們在例 行搜查行動中,拘捕106名企圖偷渡的人士,並透過加強執法行動,進一步遏止這類活動。我們會繼續努 力不懈,與有關的本地及海外執法機構及業界緊密合作,確保不法之徒不能利用香港作為走私人蛇的中轉 站。希望我們在這方面可盡一分力,與各地合力根除這類惹人反感的不道德活動。

總結

各位,剛才我已簡介了一些我們現正面對的問題,希望你們會同意,香港是一個充滿朝氣的先進城 市,商貿活動處於領先地位,勇於面對困難,並正創造有利創新發展的環境,昂然邁進新世紀。希望各位 與我們一起把握機會,百尺竿頭,再闖高。

多謝各位。

返回主要演辭目錄

關長主要演辭