Skip to main content

Substantial gains to Hong Kong

14 April 2000


With the impending accession of China to the World Trade Organisation, the likely expansion of its trade links and investment relations with the rest of the world should bring substantial gains to Hong Kong.

This was said today (Friday) by the Commissioner of Customs and Excise, Mr John Tsang Chun-wah, when attending a breakfast meeting in Melbourne to talk to the local business community about the recent development in Hong Kong's economy, control of strategic goods, fight against intellectual property rights infringement and smuggling of illegal immigrants.

"The contagion impact of the Asian financial turmoil which brought about Hong Kong's worst economic downturn ever is now history," Mr Tsang added.

He noted that Hong Kong's economy had gone through a difficult period of adjustment.

"We are seeing a rebound of economic opportunities to our part of the world, and we in Hong Kong should stand to benefit from it.

"We have totally free trade in a textbook market setting, level playing field for all, a low and simple tax regime, and unfettered flow of information," Mr Tsang said.

He told the local businessmen that Hong Kong also had an accountable, clean and business-friendly civil service, buttressed by the rule of law and an independent judiciary.

Speaking on the control of strategic goods in Hong Kong, Mr Tsang stressed that the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government, as an active and responsible player in the global economy, was fully committed to operating a law-based, transparent, stringent and internationally accepted system of controls on the trade of strategic commodities.

"Hong Kong has also maintained an excellent track record in enforcing our laws vigorously and objectively," he went on.

There had been numerous examples of success, Mr Tsang said, adding that the control system had been commended by all the key players of strategic export control regimes, including the Australian administration.

"The excellent system of control in Hong Kong is well recognised. In fact, in the Seventh Report of the Task Force on the Hong Kong Transition presented by US Congressman Doug Bereuter in February this year, it is stated that 'Hong Kong has one of the finest systems of export controls in the world and the reversion to Chinese sovereignty appears to have no major impact on the exercise of export controls'," said Mr Tsang.

The Report also stated that 'Hong Kong's record of enforcement of its export control regime is good'.

"As to the groundless allegation contained in the highly politically charged Cox Report concerning the transshipment of technology by the PLA, Bereuter reported that 'A recent visit to Hong Kong by staff members of the House International Relations Committee found that there is no evidence to suggest that the PLA is smuggling controlled items into China'," he said.

Turning to the fight against intellectual property rights infringement, Mr Tsang noted that the situation in Hong Kong was fully under control.

He said Customs officers would continue to spare no effort in combating piracy activities in Hong Kong, despite the fact that about 90 per cent of the retail outlets selling pirated products had closed.

"Now that we have broken the back of the illicit business in the piracy of intellectual property in Hong Kong, we have even greater confidence in promoting technological innovation in our economy," he added.

On smuggling of illegal immigrants issue, Mr Tsang maintained that the Hong Kong Customs had been exercising a sound mechanism in checking cargoes to prevent smuggling.

"We use a 'risk assessment' approach in selecting cargoes for examination, and the system has proved to be effective," he explained.

In response to recent discovery of illegal immigrants travelling by containers and to curb the smugglers from using Hong Kong as a transit base for human smuggling, he said the Hong Kong Customs had sought enhanced co-operation from the trade, including major shipping companies and agents, container terminal operators and the major associations.

The parties concerned recognised immediately the gravity of the issue, Mr Tsang noted, adding that they were able to reach very quickly a consensus to adopt a battery of measures, including shipping companies to report to Customs intended shipments of "soft-top" containers prior to export.

Other measures included the tightening of security measures by container terminal operators and the employment of modern technology to detect illegal immigrants hiding in containers; Shipping companies and container operators to report to Customs through a special hotline on any suspicious outbound shipments, and shipping companies to check new clients' business particulars before accepting business.

"On our part, we have enhanced our examination of outgoing "soft-top" and refrigerated containers. So far, the results are encouraging," Mr Tsang concluded.

The Commissioner of Customs and Excise, Mr John Tsang Chun-wah, has just spent five days in Australia to attend a World Customs Organisation regional conference for heads of Customs Administrations organised by the Government of Australia. He will return to Hong Kong this evening.

Back to Significant Speeches Index Page

Significant Speeches by the Commissioner

跳至主要内容

中國加入世貿有助香港發展

2000年4月14日


海關關長曾俊華今日(四月十四日)指出,中國可能不久便加入世界貿易組織,預料將會擴展與其他國 家的貿易聯繫及投資關係,屆時香港當可受惠。

海關關長曾俊華在墨爾本出席一個早餐會議時談及香港近期的發展,對戰略物品的管制、打擊侵犯知識 產權的工作,以如何杜絕偷運非法入境者的活動等事項作專演講時作上述表示。

他說:「亞洲金融風暴使香港經濟進入前所未有的困境,但這已成過去。」

他表示,香港經濟已經歷了一段艱辛的調整期;但現時再湧現經濟機會,相信香港亦能從中獲益。

曾俊華說:「我們在一個符合規範的市場環境下,推行完全自由貿易制度、促進公平競爭、實施低稅率 及簡單的稅制,而且資訊自由流通。」

他又指出,香港的公務員隊伍具問責性、廉潔守正及利便營商,而政府更奉行法治,而且司法獨立。

在談及管制戰略物品方面,他表示,作為全球經濟中一個積極和負責的參與者,香港特區政府全力推行 一套以法律為本、具透明度、嚴謹及國際接受的戰略貿易管制制度。

他續說,香港一直積極及客觀地執行法律,一直記錄優異。

他說:「我們在這方面屢創佳績,所有實施戰略物品出口管制的主要國家及地區,包括澳洲在內,都稱 許我們的管制制度。」

曾俊華表示:「香港的管制制度公認極為有效。事實上,美國國會議員Doug Bereuter於本年二月提交 的香港過渡專責小組第七份報告中指出,“香港擁有世界上其中一個最完善的出口管制制度,而回歸中國對 所實施的出口管制看來並無重大影響。」

報告亦指“香港執行出口管制制度的紀錄良好”。 他說:「至於充滿政治色彩的考克斯報告,無理指控解放軍轉運科技,Bereuter在報告中表示“最近到訪 香港的眾議院國際關係委員會人員發現,並無證據顯示解放軍偷運受管制物品往中國”。」

在談及打擊侵犯知識產權活動方面,曾俊華表示香港的侵權情況已完全受到控制。

他說,香港的盜版活動已大為收歛,約百分之九十的盜版貨品零售店舖已結束營業。不過,我們仍會繼 續全力打擊盜版活動。

他續說,香港的盜版活動既受嚴重打擊,我們推廣科技創新的信心自然倍增。 在談及偷運非法入境者問題,曾俊華表示,香港海關的機制穩健周全。

他說:「我們在抽查貨物時,採用“風險評估”的手法,而事實證明這個機制十分有效。

鑑於最近發現非法入境者利用貨櫃偷渡,並為防止走私者利用香港作為偷運人蛇的中轉站,香港海關致 力加強與業界的合作,其中包括主要的船務公司及代理、貨櫃碼頭經營人及有關商會。

他說,業界也十分明白這個問題非常嚴重,並迅速與部門達成共識,採取一系列措施,包括船務公司在 打算利用“軟頂”貨櫃出口貨物前報知海關。

其他措施包括船務公司及貨櫃碼頭經營人加強保安措施,以及研究使用先進科技以偵測藏匿於貨櫃的非 法入境者,並由船務公司及貨櫃碼頭經營人透過一條特別熱線向海關舉報任何可疑的出口貨運,以及船務 公司在接生意前查核新顧客的資料等。

曾俊華說:「我們亦已加強檢查運載出口貨物的“軟頂”貨櫃及“凍櫃”,並在檢查貨櫃時使用二氧化碳探 測器。我們這方面的成績一直令人鼓舞。」

海關關長曾俊華剛於澳洲完成一項為期五天由澳洲政府主辦的世界海關組織亞太區海關主管會議;並將 於今日傍晚返回香港。

完 二○○○年四月十四日(星期五)

 

我們亦已加強檢查運載出口貨物的“軟頂”貨櫃及“凍櫃”,並在檢查貨櫃時使用二氧化碳探測器,這方 面的成績一直令人鼓舞,並未有進一步收到有關離港船隻偷運人蛇的報告。在本年首五個月內,我們在例 行搜查行動中,拘捕106名企圖偷渡的人士,並透過加強執法行動,進一步遏止這類活動。我們會繼續努 力不懈,與有關的本地及海外執法機構及業界緊密合作,確保不法之徒不能利用香港作為走私人蛇的中轉 站。希望我們在這方面可盡一分力,與各地合力根除這類惹人反感的不道德活動。

總結

各位,剛才我已簡介了一些我們現正面對的問題,希望你們會同意,香港是一個充滿朝氣的先進城 市,商貿活動處於領先地位,勇於面對困難,並正創造有利創新發展的環境,昂然邁進新世紀。希望各位 與我們一起把握機會,百尺竿頭,再闖高。

多謝各位。

返回主要演辭目錄

關長主要演辭