Skip to main content

Detector Dogs are important partners of Customs officers in the battle against drug traffickers. After the "911" terrorist attacks, the Customs and Excise Department also deploys detector dogs specially trained to detect explosives. Besides, cash detector dogs are first introduced to assist the enforcement of the legislation on “Cross-boundary Movement of Physical Currency and Bearer Negotiable Instruments” commenced on 16th July 2018. There are 57 detector dogs, including 51 drug detector dogs, 2 explosive detector dogs and 4 cash detector dogs being deployed for the mission to detecting drugs, explosives and large amount of cash respectively at the airport, land boundary control points and container terminals.


Types

The Department has three types of detector dogs, including:

All of our detector dogs are passive-alert detector dogs. They respond upon detection of suspicious objects by reacting in a non-intrusive way e.g. sit quietly in front of the object. They are deployed to screen travellers, personal baggage, cargoes and cross-boundary conveyance at Customs checkpoints.

Back to top


Origins and training places

Customs Detector Dogs are mainly originated from the Mainland, the United Kingdom and Canada. They received basic detector dog training from their respective training institutes before joining the Customs and Excise Department. Besides, a few detector dogs are adopted from the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department and are successfully trained as detector dogs.

Back to top


Breeds

Customs Detector Dogs comprise 2 breeds, including 50 heads of Labrador Retriever and 7 heads of English Springer Spaniel.

Labrador Retriever

Labrador Retriever

English Springer Spaniel

English Springer Spaniel

Customs Detector Dogs

跳至主要内容

在打击走私毒品方面,香港海关的搜查犬是关员执法时的得力助手。在911恐怖袭击事件后,海关亦引入专门搜查爆炸品的搜查犬。另外,海关首次引用钞票搜查犬配合于2018年7月16日起实施的《实体货币及不记名可转让票据跨境流动条例》的执法工作。海关共有57只搜查犬,包括51只缉毒犬、2只爆炸品搜查犬及4只钞票搜查犬,调派在机场、各陆路边境管制站及货柜码头分别执行缉毒、搜查爆炸品及大量现金的工作。


类型

海关搜查犬分为三类,包括:

以上三类搜查犬均属机灵犬,牠们负责在海关检查站嗅查旅客及所携带的随身行李、货物及跨境运输工具。当嗅到可疑物品的气味时,牠们便会安静地坐在对象的前面不动。

页首


来源地及训练地点

海关的搜查犬主要来自内地、英国及加拿大。在加入海关前,牠们已于当地接受搜查犬前期训练。此外,亦有数头犬只从渔农自然护理署领养,经训练后成为搜查犬。

页首


品种

海关搜查犬主要有2个品种,包括50只拉布拉多寻回犬及7只英国史宾格跳犬。

拉布拉多寻回犬

拉布拉多寻回犬

英国史宾格跳犬

英国史宾格跳犬

海关搜查犬