Skip to main content
Q.1What should I do if I am in possession of a large quantity of currency and bearer negotiable instruments (“CBNIs”) when I arrive in Hong Kong?
A.1

Pursuant to the Cross-boundary Movement of Physical Currency and Bearer Negotiable Instruments Ordinance, Chapter 629, Laws of Hong Kong (Opens a new window) (“the Ordinance”), any person arriving in Hong Kong via a specified control point set out in Schedule 1 to the Ordinance and in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs (i.e. CBNIs of a total value more than HKD120,000), must make a written declaration to a Customs officer, using the Red Channel under the Red and Green Channel System.

Any person arriving in Hong Kong other than at a specified control point (e.g. passengers arriving on cruise ships berthing at anchorages), must upon the requirement of a Customs officer disclose whether he/she is in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs. If so, he/she must make a written declaration.

Q.2What should I do if I am in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs when I leave Hong Kong?
A.2

Any person about to leave Hong Kong must upon the requirement of a Customs officer disclose whether he/she is in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs (i.e. CBNIs of a total value of more than HKD120,000). If so, he/she must make a written declaration.

Q.3What does it mean by being “in possession of” a large quantity of CBNIs?
A.3

According to section 2 of the Ordinance (Opens a new window) , a person is in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs if such CBNIs are -

  1. on the person;
  2. in the baggage accompanying the person; or
  3. for a person arriving in or about to leave Hong Kong on a cross-boundary conveyance -
    1. part of the personal belongings of the person carried on the conveyance; or
    2. in the checked baggage of the person (whether or not carried, or to be carried, on the same conveyance).

Q.4Do I need to make any declaration or disclosure if I transit through Hong Kong after arriving at the Hong Kong International Airport from a place outside Hong Kong?
A.4

If a traveller is in transit at the Hong Kong International Airport and does not pass through immigration control at any specified control point while in Hong Kong, he/she is not required to make a declaration or disclosure of CBNIs in his/her possession.

Q.5If I bring a large quantity of CBNIs into Hong Kong on behalf of a person, do I need to make a declaration?
A.5

Yes. Any person arriving in Hong Kong at a specified control point set out in Schedule 1 to the Ordinance (Opens a new window) and in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs (i.e. CBNIs of a total value of more than HKD120,000), must make a written declaration to a Customs officer, using the Red Channel under the Red and Green Channel System. Any person arriving in Hong Kong other than at a specified control point (e.g. passengers arriving on cruise ships berthing at anchorages), must upon the requirement of a Customs officer disclose whether he/she is in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs. If so, he/she must make a written declaration.

If you are not the owner of the CBNIs concerned, you are required to provide information of the CBNIs’ owner in the declaration form.

Q.6Should I declare or disclose a large quantity of CBNIs in the possession of my accompanying family members?
A.6

Each person must declare or disclose on his/her own the large quantity of CBNIs in his/her possession. However, an adult who accompanies a young person (i.e. a person under the age of 16 years) and knows that the young person is in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs must declare or disclose for the young person.

Q.7How to determine whether I should make a declaration if I am in possession of CBNIs denominated in a currency other than Hong Kong dollars (“HKD”)?
A.7

The value of CBNIs in the possession of a traveller and denominated in a currency other than HKD (e.g. foreign currency) would be calculated in accordance with the opening indicative counter exchange selling rate (Opens a new window) published by the Hong Kong Association of Banks (“HKAB”) on the day when the traveller arrives or is about to depart. If HKAB does not publish such rate on the day, or the time when the traveller arrives or is about to depart is before the publication time of such rate, the value of the CBNIs would be calculated according to the most recent rate HKAB published before the day. For example, if a traveller arrives in Hong Kong on 29 July 2018 (which is a Sunday on which HKAB normally does not publish exchange rates), reference should be made to the rate published on 28 July 2018. Historical rates are available at HKAB’s website.

If no opening indicative counter exchange selling rate is published by HKAB for a particular currency, the value of the CBNIs would be determined by reference to the United Nations Operational Rates of Exchange (Opens a new window) (“UN rate”) being effective for the currency concerned on the day when the traveller arrives or is about to depart. The value of the CBNIs in HKD can be obtained by converting the nominal value of the CBNIs first to USD and then HKD using the UN rate.

In making a written declaration, the value of CBNIs should be stated in the currency in which the CBNIs are denominated. No conversion to HKD is necessary. For example, in declaring USD20,000, the value should be stated as “USD 20,000”.

If you are not sure about the prevailing exchange rate adopted for a currency at the time of arrival or departure, you should approach a Customs officer for assistance.

Q.8How to determine whether I should make a declaration if I am in possession of various kinds of currencies?
A.8

You should calculate the equivalent value in HKD for each currency. If their total equivalent value in HKD exceeds HKD120,000, you are required to make a declaration. In making a written declaration, the value of CBNIs should be stated in the currency in which the CBNIs are denominated. No conversion to HKD is required.

Q.9How to make a declaration?
A.9

A declaration should be made by using a specified declaration form. After completing the declaration form, you should hand it to a Customs officer. Declaration forms are available at the Red Channel of the Customs Arrival Hall of various control points, and can be downloaded from the website of the Customs and Excise Department (C&ED) (Opens a new window) .

Q.10How to make a declaration if I am the driver of a cross-boundary vehicle or a passenger on a cross-boundary limousine?
A.10

If the driver of the cross-boundary vehicle or the passenger on the cross-boundary limousine is in possession of a large quantity of CBNIs (i.e. CBNIs of a total value of more than HKD120,000), a declaration should be made by handing the declaration form to a Customs officer as the vehicle passes through the Customs kiosk.

Note: CBNIs in the possession of the driver of a cross-boundary vehicle exclude those imported or exported as cargo on board.

Q.11Where can I obtain the declaration form?
A.11

Declaration forms are available at the Red Channel of the Customs Arrival Hall of various control points, and can be downloaded from the website of the C&ED (Opens a new window) .

Q.12Can I make an electronic declaration via the internet?
A.12

No. According to the Ordinance (Opens a new window) , a person who makes a declaration on a large quantity of CBNIs in the possession of individuals should give a duly completed declaration form to a Customs officer.

Q.13What are the procedures after I have submitted the declaration form?
A.13

The Customs officer(s) will check if all information required has been provided and verify the information on the declaration form. If necessary, the officer(s) may also need to check or count the declared CBNIs to ascertain the accuracy of the declared value.

Q.14How long will it take to complete the declaration process?
A.14

According to the performance standard of the C&ED, the time required for passenger clearance at the Hong Kong International Airport, land boundary control points and ferry terminals is within 15 minutes, except for passengers who undergo further examination.

Q.15What is the consequence if I do not make a declaration for a large quantity of CBNIs, or if the declaration contains any information that is false in a material particular?
A.15

Any traveller who breaches the declaration/disclosure requirements for the first time may make a payment of HKD2,000 to discharge his/her legal liability, provided that he/she has not previously been convicted of any money laundering or terrorist financing offences and whose CBNIs are not reasonably suspected to be crime proceeds or terrorist property. Other cases are subject to criminal proceedings, and the maximum penalty is a fine of HKD500,000 and imprisonment for two years.

Passenger Clearance

跳至主要内容
問.1如我在抵達香港時管有大量貨幣及不記名可轉讓票據(「現金類物品」),應該怎樣做?
答.1

根據香港法例第629章《實體貨幣及不記名可轉讓票據跨境流動條例》(在新視窗開啟) (「《條例》」),經《條例》附表1所列的指明管制站抵達香港的人士,如管有大量(即總值高於12萬港元)的現金類物品,須使用紅綠通道系統下的紅通道向海關人員作出書面申報。

在指明管制站以外地方抵達香港的人士(例如乘搭客輪經船隻碇泊處抵達香港的乘客),須在海關人員的要求下,披露是否管有大量現金類物品;如有的話,須作出書面申報。

問.2如我在離開香港時管有大量現金類物品,應該怎樣做?
答.2

即將離開香港的人士,須在海關人員的要求下,披露是否管有大量(即總值高於12萬港元)的現金類物品;如有的話,須作出書面申報。

問.3何謂「管有」大量現金類物品?
答.3

根據《條例》(在新視窗開啟)第2條,某人屬管有大量現金類物品,如該等大量現金類物品 -

  1. 在該人身上;
  2. 在該人的隨身行李內;或
  3. 就乘搭跨境運輸工具抵達香港或即將離開香港的人而言 -
    1. 屬該人在運輸工具上的個人物品的一部分;或
    2. 在該人的托運行李內(不論是否由或將會由同一運輸工具運載)。

問.4如我從香港境外抵達香港國際機場過境,須作出申報或披露嗎?
答.4

如旅客在香港國際機場過境,而且在香港境內時,沒有在任何指明管制站經過出入境檢查,他/她無須就所管有的現金類物品作出申報或披露。

問.5如我替別人攜帶大量現金類物品入境香港,須要申報嗎?
答.5

需要。經《條例》(在新視窗開啟)附表1所列的指明管制站抵達香港的人士,如管有大量(即總值高於12萬港元)的現金類物品,須使用紅綠通道系統下的紅通道向海關人員作出書面申報。在指明管制站以外地方抵達香港的人士(例如乘搭客輪經船隻碇泊處抵達香港的乘客),須在海關人員的要求下,披露是否管有大量現金類物品;如有的話,須作出書面申報。

如你並非該現金類物品的擁有人,你須在申報表上填上現金類物品擁有人的資料。

問.6我需要為同行的家人申報或披露他們管有的大量現金類物品嗎?
答.6

每名人士須各自為他/她管有的現金類物品作出申報或披露。然而,如成人知道其陪同的幼年人(即未滿16歲的人士)管有大量現金類物品,該成人須為該幼年人作出申報或披露。

問.7如我管有以港元以外的貨幣計值的現金類物品,如何釐定是否須要申報?
答.7

由旅客管有並以港元以外貨幣計值的現金類物品(例如外幣),其價值按旅客抵港或即將離港的當日香港銀行公會公布的外匯賣出開市參考牌價 (在新視窗開啟) 計算。如香港銀行公會當日沒有公布有關牌價;或旅客抵港或即將離港的時間早於牌價的公布時間,現金類物品的價值會按香港銀行公會在該日之前最近公布的牌價計算。舉例而言,如果一名旅客在2018年7 月29日抵港(該日是星期日,香港銀行公會一般不會公布匯價),應參考2018年7月28日公布的牌價。香港銀行公會的網站載有過去公布的牌價。

如香港銀行公會並無公布某種貨幣的參考匯價,有關現金類物品的價值,按照聯合國業務匯率(在新視窗開啟)(「聯合國匯率」)在旅客抵港或即將離港的當日就有關貨幣有效的匯價計算。計算現金類物品的港元等值,應先將現金類物品的面值按聯合國匯率換算為美元,再換算為港元。

在作出書面申報時,現金類物品的價值應以有關貨幣的價值填寫,無需轉換成港元。例如申報2萬美元,有關價值應作「20,000美元」。

如你不確定在抵港或離港時某種貨幣適用的匯率,應向海關人員查詢。

問.8如我同時管有多種貨幣,如何釐定是否須要申報?
答.8

你應分別計算每種貨幣的港元等值。如它們的總值高於12萬港元,你便須作出申報。在作出書面申報時,現金類物品的價值應以有關貨幣的價值填寫,無需轉換成港元。

問.9如何作出申報?
答.9

申報必須以指明的申報表格作出。填妥申報表後,你須交給海關人員。申報表可於各管制站的海關入境大堂紅通道索取,亦可於海關網頁下載(在新視窗開啟)

問.10如我是跨境車輛的司機或跨境轎車的乘客,我應如何作出申報?
答.10

跨境車輛的司機或跨境轎車的乘客如管有大量(即總值高於12萬港元)的現金類物品,須在汽車駛過管制站清關亭時,把填妥的申報表交給海關人員以作申報。

註:跨境車輛司機管有的現金類物品不包括車輛上作貨物進口或出口的現金類物品。

問.11申報表可從何處索取?
答.11

申報表可於各管制站的海關入境大堂紅通道索取,亦可於海關網頁下載(在新視窗開啟)

問.12我可以在網上以電子方式提交申報表嗎?
答.12

不可以。根據《條例》(在新視窗開啟),任何人士如須就個人管有的大量現金類物品作申報,必須把填妥的申報表格交給海關人員。

問.13遞交申報表後將會有甚麼程序?
答.13

海關人員將會檢查旅客是否已填妥申報表要求的資料,以及核實有關資料。有需要時,海關人員可能會就旅客所申報的現金類物品作出檢查及點算,以確定申報的價值是否正確。

問.14完成整個申報程序要多久?
答.14

根據海關的服務標準,於香港國際機場、陸路邊境管制站及渡輪碼頭的旅客清關手續所需時間是15分鐘內,接受詳細檢查者除外。

問.15如沒有就大量現金類物品作出申報,或申報載有任何在要項上屬虛假的資料,後果如何?
答.15

任何旅客首次違反申報/披露規定,而從未被裁定干犯清洗黑錢或恐怖分子資金籌集的罪行,以及其現金類物品並非被合理懷疑是犯罪得益或恐怖分子財產,可透過繳付2,000港元,以解除其法律責任。其他個案會循刑事法律程序處理,最高刑罰為罰款50萬港元及監禁2年。

旅客清關